• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

80% of sinkies happy with foreigners say Teo Ser Luck

8::::::D

9 in 10 comfortable with other races
But percentage of young people who welcome foreigners drops to 66%
By Daryl Chin

WHILE nine out of 10 young people claimed they would be comfortable with a neighbour or colleague from a different race, eight in 10 felt the same about foreigners.

The latter statistic warrants further investigation, said National Youth Council chairman Teo Ser Luck.

Mr Teo, who is also Senior Parliamentary Secretary for the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS), said: 'We have to dig a little bit further... and if we could, to look at what nationalities (are involved).'

Results of the survey were contained in the book Youth.sg: The State Of Youth In Singapore 2010, which was released at *Scape in Somerset yesterday.

The survey polled 1,268 young people aged 15 to 34 as well as 310 parents and caregivers of teens aged 15 to 19.

Mr Teo said the findings do not mean that Singaporeans are uncomfortable around foreigners, but 'nevertheless... we have to investigate a bit further to find out where their concerns lie'.

When polled on whether 'Singapore should encourage people of other nationalities to come to work or study in Singapore', the percentage of those who agreed fell from 70 per cent in 2005 to 66 per cent last year.

The non-resident population has grown from 797,900 in 2005 to 1.2 million last year.

But Professor Ho Kong Chong, vice-dean of research at the National University of Singapore and one of the co-authors of the book, said he was encouraged by these results as they were relatively stable - with the Republic becoming more diverse as new migrants came in.

He said: 'It says something good about us, that we are accepting, not just towards different ethnicities, but also towards other nationalities.'

The younger generation has also remained liberal with its attitudes towards divorce: 37 per cent of those polled in the latest survey felt that a couple should get a divorce if certain circumstances call for it or if there is no mutual love, regardless of whether they have children.

The figure was 38 per cent in 2005.

While he called such attitudes towards divorce 'an inevitable trend of a developed country and society', Mr Teo said he was heartened by attitudes towards marriage itself.

Forty-eight per cent of young people believed one should marry, up from 40 per cent five years ago. However, this latest survey included those aged between 30 and 34, whereas the previous one surveyed those aged 15 to 29.

There were other nuggets of information in the fourth chapter titled Values And Attitudes in the book. For instance, 83 per cent said they would take care of their parents in their later years, compared to 89 per cent in 2002 and 2005.

And inter-racial trust, such as being comfortable with having a neighbour of a different race, is lowest among Chinese at 91.4 per cent. The figures for Malays and Indians were higher at 94.3 per cent and 93.8 per cent respectively.

Ninety-five per cent of those polled also said they were proud to be Singaporean, up from 93 per cent in 2005.

And maintaining strong family relationships, having a successful career and acquiring new skills and knowledge take precedence over getting married and having children.

Young people today are also more vocal in expressing their opinions on matters of public concern compared to five years ago. The number doubled from 24 per cent in 2005.

Online forums, blogs and social networking sites were the most popular platforms for expression, followed by offline methods such as calling on a public official or participating in a walk for a cause.

But young people going online too often can also be worrying, said Mr Teo. Calling it a 'major concern', he said the ministry plans to look further into online and gaming addiction in the days ahead.

[email protected]

DISTURBING DIP

'The dip in the number of youths in leadership roles is disturbing because I'm quite big on youth empowerment in my role as a grassroots volunteer. We need to focus on developing leadership skills in the young so they have what it takes to take charge of organisations in the future.'

Cindy Chng, 21, Nanyang Technological University business student

CONFIDENCE BOOST

'I agree that youths today are happier. We're getting a lot more attention now than before, including facilities like *Scape, where young people can hang out, and more dialogues being organised in schools and grassroots organisations for youths to speak up. We now have more platforms to express ourselves - and it's helped to give us a boost in our confidence.'

Fong Yoong Kheong, 24, fresh graduate from National University of Singapore

QUALITY TIME

'We have to look at the quality of the time spent with our parents too, and not just quantity. My mum and I communicate a lot on Facebook too, and it's not the usual face-to-face interaction but I value the things we talk about online.'

Nadia Samdin, 20, Singapore Management University law student

FOCUSED ON SPORT

'I'm not sure if picking up new skills or knowledge as a life goal will help me, as I'm focused on being a sportsman right now. I won't risk losing focus on my sport to learn something else. Also, I think it's more important to have a fulfilling job than a successful one.'

Syarif Hidayatullah, 22, who plans to enrol in Republic Polytechnic in April

MARRIAGE IS IMPORTANT

'I think marriage is important. Marriage is about love, and when you find someone who cares about you and who you love back, you should get married. But I also agree that divorce is understandable when couples cannot fulfil their marriage vows to each other any more, especially when there is no more love between them.'

James Sua, 19, Singapore Polytechnic student

HellAngel

You believe in this? Even MM dun believe in surveys...

Lee said that despite a survey showing the contrary, he believed Singaporeans were not yet ready for a non-ethnic-Chinese prime minister.

"A poll says 90 percent of Chinese Singaporeans say they will elect a non-Chinese as PM. Yes, this is the ideal. You believe these polls? Utter rubbish. They say what is politically correct," he stated.

Balllessme

just wonder in Sydney or Toronto... How did the Ang Mo handle all the inflow of foreigners esp the Hong Konger/Tawianese/Chinese......? are they like us now complain and KPKB?
Maybe the above is more wealthy to "support" their umemployment claim monthly?

SNAblog

http://www.articlesbase.com/k-12-education-articles/biased-questions-720186.html

Biased Questions
Edit Article | Posted: Jan 12, 2009 |Comments: 0 | Views: 6,902 |

The word “bias” means “partiality”, “unfairness”, “favoritism”.

A Biased Question is a question worded in such a way that a particular answer is favored over others.

Biased questions are also referred to as “leading questions” as it leads or steers the respondents to a certain response. Biased questions influence people to answer in a way that does not just reflect their stance.

Surveys often ask biased questions. Surveys are useful for getting feedback and suggestions from a group of people. It is important that the questions asked in a survey are NOT biased. Question should not be asked in such a way as to insist on a certain response. Because, biased questions affect the outcome of a survey.

Biased questions yield biased data. The survey questions should be as neutral as possible to provide fair results.

Let’s discuss biased questions more in detail with examples.

* Biased questions often reflect the questioners’ opinion of the situation.

Example 1

Bob asked David “You don’t like this pair of jeans, Do you?” It’s clear that “NO” is the response expected from David.

Instead, Bob could revise his question as follows:

“Do you like this pair of jeans?”

Example 2

Sally asked Sarah “Don’t you agree that the new rule is a problem?”

Sally’s question is biased. The question leads Sarah to agree with Sally’s view.

Sally has in fact phrased her opinion in the form of a question. Instead Sally could ask the following question:

“Do you agree or disagree that the new rule is a problem?”

* In a survey, the questions should NOT be designed to favor certain outcomes.

For example:

The question “Do you want to eat a hamburger or the usual vegetable sandwich?” is unfair, because it favors hamburger over vegetable sandwich.

* Usually companies use biased questions in their advertisements or marketing surveys to make people favor their products over others.

Example 1

The following is a biased question posed by XYZ Beauty Company.

More people in the City are using our beauty products than any other brand. Do you use our beauty products?

A. Yes
B. No

Clearly the question indicates that the respondent should be using XYZ beauty products.

Example 2

A company manufactures product A. The company conducts a survey about the product. The following is one of the questions in the questionnaire.

How would you rate our product?

A. Excellent
B. Good
C. Satisfactory

The question is biased, because, NO negative option is provided.

* A biased question makes assumptions that may or may not be true.

For example:

The question “Is green your favorite color?” is asked based on an assumption.

The person to whom this question is asked may or may not like green color.

Ash007

just wonder in Sydney or Toronto... How did the Ang Mo handle all the inflow of foreigners esp the Hong Konger/Tawianese/Chinese......? are they like us now complain and KPKB?
Maybe the above is more wealthy to "support" their umemployment claim monthly?

Racial tension do happen in Sydney. The last big racial riot was the Cronulla riot, which happen in 2005. The ang mohs have no problem with the Hong konger/Taiwanese/Chinese etc. But I think they have a big problem with the Islamic factions. Like LKY said recently, they should try to relax their rules more.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cronulla_riots

Balllessme

Racial tension do happen in Sydney. The last big racial riot was the Cronulla riot, which happen in 2005. The ang mohs have no problem with the Hong konger/Taiwanese/Chinese etc. But I think they have a big problem with the Islamic factions. Like LKY said recently, they should try to relax their rules more.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cronulla_riots

Always thought that Malay already very relax liao... ROC = Relax one corner...:biggrin: esp with the grass....:biggrin:

patrickv

why teo ser luck never do this survey at pap youth meeting or what. sure can get 100% sporeans happy with FTs.

Equalisation

Puki Tiang .... this whole report is a fucking sham !!!:eek:

By saying these, it is actually an insult to the citizens'intelligence !!!

Old Man read also can cry !!!:o

The hard truth is, PAP surveys are a pack of lies. I can have 10 grassroot leaders to fill in the survey form and 10 out of 10 will say they support PAP, but to make it realistic, there will be some fixing here and there to make it look realistic - may be 10% discount and than claimed that 90% out of 100% population believed PAP is good.

Another form of survey is to get all the silver serpents to write their peronal particulars on the form and than assess their boss. Thus under threat of losing their rice bowl, they have to conform to write positive feedback.

Alternatively, get a small pro-pap survey company, a newly start up or close affiliate to them to come out with "analytical" report that look good on the LEEgime, get it printed on front page and give the company free advertisment - image building or brand building. It is conditional pact between the shit times and the survey company.

Last but not least, play with the data, no accountabilty no tranparency and than published it without any supporting evidence and because it was read by the ministers it has to be trustworthy - no one should question.

It is because of Leong Sze Hian presence, all the above view him as a bane and nobody have ever successfully counter his argument and analysis. The ministers all gone into hiding, no reply, no sight, and eventually making a fool of themselves by lying.

Dreamer1

The hard truth is, PAP surveys are a pack of lies. I can have 10 grassroot leaders to fill in the survey form and 10 out of 10 will say they support PAP, but to make it realistic, there will be some fixing here and there to make it look realistic - may be 10% discount and than claimed that 90% out of 100% population believed PAP is good.

Another form of survey is to get all the silver serpents to write their peronal particulars on the form and than assess their boss. Thus under threat of losing their rice bowl, they have to conform to write positive feedback.

Alternatively, get a small pro-pap survey company, a newly start up or close affiliate to them to come out with "analytical" report that look good on the LEEgime, get it printed on front page and give the company free advertisment - image building or brand building. It is conditional pact between the shit times and the survey company.

Last but not least, play with the data, no accountabilty no tranparency and than published it without any supporting evidence and because it was read by the ministers it has to be trustworthy - no one should question.

It is because of Leong Sze Hian presence, all the above view him as a bane and nobody have ever successfully counter his argument and analysis. The ministers all gone into hiding, no reply, no sight, and eventually making a fool of themselves by lying.
"You believe these polls? Utter rubbish. They say what is politically correct," MM LKY stated. "

Teo Ser luck is not a good learner,& he picked on such a poor topic to PLP,Teo Ser Luck must enrol himself immediatelty into School of PLP-location-Taipei,Taiwan