• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

7 PAP-run town councils raising S&C charges as economic downturn approaches

affected residents should call up town council everyday and demand they do this n that asap. call everyday n use this rise as excuse. make them toolan

Won't be surprising if those maintenance contractors are kawan-kawan with the MPs.

Singapore does not have corruption and has a clean, honest, effective government? Go on and keep believing in Santa Claus. :rolleyes:

When WP took over aljunied GRC, he was shocked to learn that the GM of TownCouncil is also the director of the maintenance company, which I believed is acting as grassroot people too. Now that you read the news why grassroots were so clear about the cost of operations in Town council, it basically explains everything I have said - conflict of interest at play. Nobody knows who is running Town Council using tax money, all we know is the company cum contractor are trying to profit from the Residents in those towns by upping S & C to enrich the grassroots in those areas. Town Council? my foot, more like corporation council run by a bunch of greedy grassroot leaders.

After the Nparks incident, it is time we scrutinise the grasslooters and see how much they have profited from Town Council as members and SME. I smell conflict of interest resulted in residents having to pay more than necessary.

this conflict of interests has been going on for years. there is no political will to clamp down on it

When WP took over aljunied GRC, he was shocked to learn that the GM of TownCouncil is also the director of the maintenance company, which I believed is acting as grassroot people too. Now that you read the news why grassroots were so clear about the cost of operations in Town council, it basically explains everything I have said - conflict of interest at play. Nobody knows who is running Town Council using tax money, all we know is the company cum contractor are trying to profit from the Residents in those towns by upping S & C to enrich the grassroots in those areas. Town Council? my foot, more like corporation council run by a bunch of greedy grassroot leaders.

its all linked to temasek or a linked company. under the guise of privatization, many essential public services were converted to for-profit operations. thus taking the political sting out of price increases. this strategy however, is starting to disintegrate as the system is now being run by cronies out to line their own pockets.

21.jpg

Bishan-Toa Payoh
Chua Chu Kang
East Coast
West Coast
Tanjong Pagar
Tampines
Holland- Bukit Timah

PAP grassroots leaders claim fee hike is due to "rising costs"

They push cleaners salary up recently remember? You guys are the one demanding to help the poor. Now U are feeling the results of helping the poor

The beauty part they are making use of the grassroots leader to do the dirty job, why don't the town council announce the fee hike. PAP will never learn and will never learn wait till 2016.

lianbeng sighed a relief: "phew! my estate boh tio! heng ah!":D

1. beng kor!
2. don't "phew" so fast hoh.
3. sure kena too.
4. always remember: all sheep sing to the same tune mah.

I thought these PAP TC have a lot of reserves? Or did they lose too much in the toxic bonds?

Seven town councils to increase service and conservancy charges
By Wayne Chan | Posted: 27 July 2012 1754 hrs
[TABLE="align: right"]
<TBODY>[TR]
[TD="width: 20, align: right"][/TD]
[TD="width: 240, align: right"]
display_image.php
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD="class: update"][TABLE="width: 100%"]
<TBODY>[TR]
[TD="width: 138, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"]Photos [/TD]
[TD="width: 47, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"]1 of 1[/TD]
[TD="width: 18, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"]<INPUT id=btnPrev disabled value="<< Previous" src="/images/butt_previous.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image>[/TD]
[TD="width: 19, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"]<INPUT id=bntPlay value="Play - Stop" src="/images/butt_stop.gif" width=19 height=15 type=image>[/TD]
[TD="width: 18, bgcolor: #f6f6f6"]<INPUT id=btnNext disabled value=" Next >> " src="/images/butt_next.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image>[/TD]
[/TR]
</TBODY>[/TABLE]
dotline_240.gif

A town council conservancy worker (file photo)[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD="class: update"][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[TD][/TD]
[/TR]
</TBODY>[/TABLE]
<!-- for social media sharing functions -->

<TBODY>
[TD="colspan: 5"]
[/TD]

[TD="width: 125"] <fb:like class=" fb_edge_widget_with_comment fb_iframe_widget" ref=".UBKuAgRZBN4.like" action="recommend" layout="button_count" show_faces="false" font="arial" href="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1216105/1/.html" width="120"><IFRAME style="BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none; BORDER-LEFT: medium none; WIDTH: 130px; HEIGHT: 21px; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BORDER-RIGHT: medium none" id=f18ce3b121e39f2 class=fb_ltr title="Like this content on Facebook." src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?action=recommend&api_key=101910072318&channel_url=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter.php%3Fversion%3D9%23cb%3Df262f9fcef0e08%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%252Ff299b765eda6bc8%26domain%3Dwww.channelnewsasia.com%26relation%3Dparent.parent&extended_social_context=false&font=arial&href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1216105%2F1%2F.html&layout=button_count&locale=en_US&node_type=1&ref=.UBKuAgRZBN4.like&sdk=joey&show_faces=false&width=130" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency name=f3ea8e89bb7db1 scrolling=no></IFRAME></fb:like>

[/TD]
[TD="width: 95"] <IFRAME style="WIDTH: 115px; HEIGHT: 20px" class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-horizontal" title="Twitter Tweet Button" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.1340179658.html#_=1343401475628&count=horizontal&counturl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1216105%2F1%2F.html&id=twitter-widget-0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1216105%2F1%2F.html&size=m&text=Seven%20town%20councils%20to%20increase%20service%20and%20conservancy%20charges%20-%20Channel%20NewsAsia%3A&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1216105%2F1%2F.html%23.UBKuAhVICRc.twitter" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME>

[/TD]
[TD="width: 110"]
inShare0
[/TD]
[TD="width: 110"] [URL="http://www.sammyboy.com/#"]4 [/URL]

[/TD]

[TD="colspan: 5"]
[/TD]

</TBODY>
<!-- END social media sharing functions -->
SINGAPORE: Service and Conservancy Charges (S&CC) charges will go up in HDB estates managed by seven PAP town councils from September 2012.

The town councils are Bishan-Toa Payoh, Chua Chu Kang, East Coast, Holland-Bukit Panjang, Tanjong Pagar, Tampines and West Coast.

It is the first increase in municipal charges in these towns since 2004.

The town councils said that they are facing increased costs, especially in electricity, maintenance and cleaning.

They added that other town councils that also face cost pressures would have to decide on the increase in the future.

To help residents cope with the change, the increase will be phased over two years.

In the first phase, which takes effect from September 2012, the increase ranges from S$0.50 to S$6.50 per month depending on the type of flat.

For commercial property owners and tenants, the increase will be from S$0.10 to S$0.40 psm/month. The increase for most cooked stalls is between S$5.00 and S$14.00 per month.

In the second phase, which takes effect from September 2013, the increase will range from S$0.50 to S$5.50 per month depending on the type of flat.

Commercial property owners and tenants will see an increase ranging from S$0.10 to S$0.30 psm/month. The increase for most cooked food stalls will be between S$5.00 and S$11.00 per month.

The residents in at least one town can ask for extra help to cope with the increase.

Tampines MPs Heng Swee Keat, Masagos Zulkifli, Mah Bow Tan, Irene Ng and Baey Yam Keng have requested assistance from Northeast CDC for residents who are already on financial assistance, so as to relieve the impact of the increased S&CC charges.

These applications will be assessed on a case-by-case basis.

-CNA/ac