• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

5 room flat is almost 1 million!

display_image.php

SINGAPORE: More five-room resale flats have been sold above the S$900,000-mark, especially in estates like Redhill, Queenstown, Toa Payoh and Marine Parade.

A 10-year-old flat measuring 1,184 square feet at Block 23 Jalan Membina, near Tiong Bahru MRT station, was sold for S$945,000.

This means that its price of S$800 per square foot is similar to suburban executive condominiums but half the price of private condominiums in the area.

According to the HDB, just in the first two months of this year alone, 10 resale flats were sold for more than S$900,000 each.

And, the Singapore Real Estate Exchange said prices have risen by 5 per cent in the past year.

Senior manager for training, research and consultancy at DWG, Lee Sze Teck, attributed the high prices of these resale flats to them being in "mature estates (where) the BTO supply is limited. Also, because of the high private property prices in these areas."

"We expect the resale market to remain stable, because the government is going to build a lot more BTO flats. We only expect resale flat supply to increase in the second half of 2013," he said.

Bigfuck

Masturbation maths by traitors of the country. At 5% yield you need to have rental income of 4.1K/mth. At 2.5% it is around 2K/mth. You think every foreigner willing to pay you 1K for a room with common toilet/bath and one kitcheN? Siao. EP even at 4.5K, you think he can rent one whole unit? Now studio apartment unserviced at Bukit Timah is around 3.8K/mth for 65sqm.

Microsoft

HDB TownFlat TypeLease CommencementResale PriceResale Approval Date
Bendemeer RdExecutive
1994​
$918,000.00​
Jan-13​
Bishan St 13Executive
1987​
$940,000.00​
Jan-13​
Bishan St 13Executive
1987​
$1,010,000.00​
Jan-13​
Bishan St 22Executive
1992​
$901,888.00​
Feb-13​
Bishan St 22Executive
1992​
$938,000.00​
Jan-13​
Bishan St 23Executive
1992​
$902,000.00​
Jan-13​
Geylang East Ave 1Executive
1987​
$900,000.00​
Jan-13​
Holland Dr5 Room
1975​
$920,000.00​
Jan-13​
Jln Membina5 Room
2008​
$925,000.00​
Feb-13​
Jln Membina5 Room
2003​
$930,000.00​
Jan-13​
Marine Cres5 Room
1975​
$935,000.00​
Jan-13​
Marine Dr5 Room
1977​
$910,000.00​
Jan-13​
Marine Ter5 Room
1975​
$905,000.00​
Jan-13​
Queen'S Cl5 Room
1996​
$900,000.00​
Jan-13​
Strathmore Ave5 Room
2006​
$901,888.00​
Feb-13​
Tg Pagar Plaza5 Room
1977​
$965,000.00​
Jan-13​
Hougang Ave 2HUDC
1990​
$1,065,000.00​
Jan-13​
Hougang Ave 2HUDC
1988​
$960,000.00​
Jan-13​
Hougang Ave 7HUDC
1986​
$1,040,000.00​
Jan-13​
Shunfu RdHUDC
1986​
$1,250,000.00​
Jan-13​

<tbody>
</tbody>
Source: HDB Resale Flat Prices

http://www.tomatobubble.com/id39.html

The "business cycle" is very simple. When the rate of growth in money supply (debt supply) exceeds the rate of growth in the general economy (GDP), the excess "money" has to go somewhere. It creates an illusion of prosperity. Artificial bubbles will form either in housing, stocks, currency, etc. Eventually the market always corrects for these phony excesses and the bubbles burst. (just like the poker game.)

Microsoft

walaneh, ini macham pun boleh ah ?:confused::mad:

Datok...many yrs ago...moi got a classmate staying in old Bishan graveyard...when de govt take bk de land...heard dey set strange rules like...if got no cement floor no count...no fence no count...heard in de end dey oni get a 3 rm AMK flat at discounted price...

Equalisation

Datok...many yrs ago...moi got a classmate staying in old Bishan graveyard...when de govt take bk de land...heard dey set strange rules like...if got no cement floor no count...no fence no count...heard in de end dey oni get a 3 rm AMK flat at discounted price...

Rajah Tua,

Then what happen to bollywood vege patch ?:confused::eek:

Paid so much, in the end, the flat still not own by the sinkie...

why sinkie so stupid , pay for something that he cannot own...

B Man

Someone should investigate if all these outlier sales are the result of the property agents doing purchases to pump the prices.

As you know.. higher prices -> higher commissions.

And what more, there are so many property agents these days since most of the local grads and non-grads found this as a job when there are none others.
Bound to be creative ways to make money fast..

greedy and cunning

huat ah !!!!!!!!!

scum set a minimum salary to 'enable' sinkie to buy.
but these scums conveniently 'forgot' to set a max limit in salary.
this allow millionaire to buy a 5 room hole even though he can afford a private property ,
and caused the price to increase.

if they are genuinely concerned about the welfare of the working class,
they should set a max value too.

let's weep for the buyers......................little do they know...........the massive losses that's to come.................

longbow

I fail to see why this is bad. All Singaporeans can buy direct from HDB and need not buy from resale market. So the people affected are non Singaporeans.

The person selling the $1M flat is likely a Singaporeans selling to foreigner. What is wrong with that. With more available new flats and a new grant scheme, problem will be solved.

Currently, 90% of Singaporeans own their houses, flats. Most have appreciated in value. Any wholesale change in the game plan could great panic and cause price to drop. So it is much better to have grants to make flats affordable.

As is a 4 rm at Compassvale Cape can be had for $270K after grant. Why not offer another $70K grant for families in need and that will bring monthly payments down to $800 a month. If that is too much then perhaps go for 3 rm flat which goes for $159K. Gov can kick in another 50K and bring the selling price to $109K which brings the payment down to $400 a month. For a family making $1500 a month, that $400 should be ok.

If Gov is willing adjust grants such than families need not pay more than 30% of they income a month on housing that, to me = affordability. Hey if they can later sell it in the open market to foreigners for $500K that is wealth enhancement to them.

I do not see any need to tinker with anything else. Just make sure that waiting periods for flats are shorter, financing for 1st home buyer is there and that the poorer Singaporeans get greater grant such than a person making $1K a month can still afford a place of their own (maybe a 2 room flat but it is still theirs).

Of course these heavily subsidized units will not be in prime locations and will be in low floors and poor facing. Those that want new flat in prime location (Queenstown) will have to pay market price (which is fair).

There really is not need to come out with 60 year flats. Let me ask you, who in the world would want a 60 year flat knowing that with increase life span (you buy at 25 + 60 years = 85) you could easily outlive the lease on flat.

A home is not industrial property. Businesses have short life cycles. It is either they make in and quickly outgrow their premises or go kapu in 5 years. So a 30 year cycle is more then enough.

With a 99 year flat, if you bought at 25, at 80 year old, you still have 40 plus years left on lease. If you cockup and blew your cpf on KTV, you can still reverse mortgage and fund the last 10 to 20 years of your life - assuming you live to 100. With a 60 year lease you would be out on the street at 85 years old! HDBs can be your last firewall for a decent retirement.

In short HDB should offer more grants for needy family, build more flats, build ahead of demand and leave the rest alone