• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

5 Chaps who tried and failed to take on the Establishment.

I am sure there are people inside and outside the PAP, that will make their move when old man kicks the bucket. People are going to be surprised when they find out that old man's clan will be absentee Singaporeans when his son steps down.

Then you will find some academics and journalists from Toa Payoh Brothel growing balls and writing a tome on how the country's intellectual, philosophical and spiritual growth was stifled by one man with a god like complex.

It will also be interesting see how many people will start claiming that they have never been associated with the PAP.

Now is not the time to fight the Old Man. Singaporeans have given him so much leeway (pardon the expression) and latitude over the past 50 years to consolidate so much power in his hands that the lines between Executive, Legislative and Judiciary branches just don't exist anymore. There is so much God-like fear of his invisible hand. More powerful than God, he can move yr private life into hell without lifting a finger. His henchmen have to nod and do what has to be done. Management by expectation and fear.

Perspective

I am sure there are people inside and outside the PAP, that will make their move when old man kicks the bucket. People are going to be surprised when they find out that old man's clan will be absentee Singaporeans when his son steps down.

Then you will find some academics and journalists from Toa Payoh Brothel growing balls and writing a tome on how the country's intellectual, philosophical and spiritual growth was stifled by one man with a god like complex.

It will also be interesting see how many people will start claiming that they have never been associated with the PAP.

I wonder if the "old man" still has time to unravel/undo some of the things that will get his regime into a mess. Worse than to have his regime draw back its powers.

Too late. Remarkably he kept his distance for most part of GCT's 14 year rule but could not hold back during the SIA/Ryan Goh Affair. Its clearly evident that LHL is more withdrawn and less interested in governing this country. Clearly the old man is running the show. He only knows one way to skin a cat - playing the bogeyman politics ( fear mongering) which is primarily driven by fear. Only he could have come up with the Marxist tag for social activist.

You now tell a 25 year graduate about communism, he will laugh at you and think you are mad.

I wonder if the "old man" still has time to unravel/undo some of the things that will get his regime into a mess. Worse than to have his regime draw back its powers.

Hawkeye1819

The exceptional one mentioned below by you ... he is more savvy than I originally thought. Not only has the ability to navigate obstacles, but also around minefields other lesser beings cannot forsee.

The 5 named chaps are part of the establishment and took on the establishment and conceded defeat. The ones you named were never part of the establishment except for one and he only took on the establishment long after he left.

ChaoPappyPoodle

Scroobal, I noticed that you're spelling and grammar has takeen a steep back reecently.

Perhaps there is a good explanation for this.

Can you eelaborate on yu digggresssion?

Charlie9

Scroobal, I noticed that you're spelling and grammar has takeen a steep back reecently.

I assume that your spelling has been executed deliberately.

However, there is a difference for the following: you, your, you are.

longbow

Their being non Chinese would make them less likely to connect with the locals. The most feared ones would be the Chinese/dialect/idiom sprouting ones that can connect with the HDB heartland.

I do this when I am online, lest people who know me realise who I am online. Look for the gems if any and sorry, I know its irritating. Will try a cleaner approach.

elephanto

Then there is also Mr Simon Tay, once a prominent NUSSU president who was active against NUS Fee Hikes.

I thought he would one day be a conscientious politician - guess he concluded his calling is in arty-farty civil society. Once he enjoys his poems, writing 'STAND TALL', hug trees, rant against haze then decided better to be part of elite establishment but keep[ low profile...

Don't jump the gun bro. He recently labeled himself as an activist (his own word) and is one of the proxies expected to run in the coming GE as either an independent or with a group of like minded proxies forming a party. Old man and the PAP would not have introduced 18 seats without running all the permutation possible for the 18 seats. They did it with the first run of the presidency where both contestants were asked by the PAP.

Simon has always been part of the establishment and what he touches are soft issues.

Then there is also Mr Simon Tay, once a prominent NUSSU president who was active against NUS Fee Hikes.

I thought he would one day be a conscientious politician - guess he concluded his calling is in arty-farty civil society. Once he enjoys his poems, writing 'STAND TALL', hug trees, rant against haze then decided better to be part of elite establishment but keep[ low profile...

Charlie9

Hi [scroobal],
Please elaborate on the 18 seats. Are they going to introduce 18 single member constituencies?
Thank you.

Charlie9

A Healthy New Year

We wish [scroobal], brothers and sisters here, a Healthy and Satisfying 2010. Keep Up the Good Work.

Bro, will start a new thread on this in view of its importance and there has not been much discussion on this. Thanks for bringing this up.

And wishing your family and you a great year ahead in the wonderful and truly democratic country called Canada.

Hi [scroobal],
Please elaborate on the 18 seats. Are they going to introduce 18 single member constituencies?
Thank you.

Perspective

Don't jump the gun bro. He recently labeled himself as an activist (his own word) and is one of the proxies expected to run in the coming GE as either an independent or with a group of like minded proxies forming a party. Old man and the PAP would not have introduced 18 seats without running all the permutation possible for the 18 seats. They did it with the first run of the presidency where both contestants were asked by the PAP.

Simon has always been part of the establishment and what he touches are soft issues.

I don't think there's any way the PAP will accept a group of independents even if they are "part" of the estab, unless Simon and his cohorts run with no intention to win. Even then he will be out of the estab's favour soon enough.

The 5 named chaps are part of the establishment and took on the establishment and conceded defeat. The ones you named were never part of the establishment except for one and he only took on the establishment long after he left.

Lim Chin Siong was a founding member of PAP. Francis Seow was Solicitor-General. Tang Lang Hong held multiple directorships in the academia, I recall including NAFA and HCJC. Francis Seow did start his challenge long after he left "establishment". I think that Lim Chin Siong and Tang Liang Hong started their disagreements and questions whilst with "establishment" until they got blown up and blown away.

Charlie9

Canada - The True North Strong and Free

Bro, will start a new thread on this in view of its importance and there has not been much discussion on this. Thanks for bringing this up.

And wishing your family and you a great year ahead in the wonderful and truly democratic country called Canada.

Canada is not for those who love warm weather. It was minus 15C, but felt like minus 25C with the wind chill on Dec 29, 2009. It kills most of the bacteria when the lakes freeze, and by next summer the cool fresh water lake is clear, clean and refreshing.

Chin Siong was never part of the Establishment. Hope you know what the term establishment means. Give you an example. Prof Chua Beng Huat worked for HDB and then went over to NUS. Both Govt bodies. It can be safely surmised that being critic of the Government, he was never part of the establishment. Prof Mukul Asher and Prof Syed Mutablib are others. A Sr Civil Servant too need not be part of the establishment.

The 5 that I mentioned have never been anti-establishment but in fact had been part of it when they tried to change things within. Only Cherian George, changed tacked and moved to neutral. I hope you do not think that the famous or infamous roundtable was anti-establishment. They merely missed the call up for the tea session and found an interesting way to get requalified. That why they called conveniently called themselves "non-partisan."

Bro, you take the cake for considering that Lim Chin Siong was establishment.

As to Francis Seow - you could not have found a more anti establishment figure. While in the Civil Service, he broke every rule on conduct. He will gallantly walk past City Hall with his girlfriend in tow until the wives complained to Old man's wife. His final epsiode started with theft of his playboy magazines which was and still is prohibited.

Tang Liang Hong and Tan Kin Lian were true establishment figures, firmly entrenched. Until they fell out. They made it clear that they left the establishment. Then they sort reform. The 5 jokers attempted to reform while in the establishment.

Lim Chin Siong was a founding member of PAP. Francis Seow was Solicitor-General. Tang Lang Hong held multiple directorships in the academia, I recall including NAFA and HCJC. Francis Seow did start his challenge long after he left "establishment". I think that Lim Chin Siong and Tang Liang Hong started their disagreements and questions whilst with "establishment" until they got blown up and blown away.

kingrant

Chin Siong was never part of the Establishment. Hope you know what the term establishment means. Give you an example. Prof Chua Beng Huat worked for HDB and then went over to NUS. Both Govt bodies. It can be safely surmised that being critic of the Government, he was never part of the establishment. Prof Mukul Asher and Prof Syed Mutablib are others. A Sr Civil Servant too need not be part of the establishment.

The 5 that I mentioned have never been anti-establishment but in fact had been part of it when they tried to change things within. Only Cherian George, changed tacked and moved to neutral. I hope you do not think that the famous or infamous roundtable was anti-establishment. They merely missed the call up for the tea session and found an interesting way to get requalified. That why they called conveniently called themselves "non-partisan."

Bro, you take the cake for considering that Lim Chin Siong was establishment.

As to Francis Seow - you could not have found a more anti establishment figure. While in the Civil Service, he broke every rule on conduct. He will gallantly walk past City Hall with his girlfriend in tow until the wives complained to Old man's wife. His final epsiode started with theft of his playboy magazines which was and still is prohibited.

Tang Liang Hong and Tan Kin Lian were true establishment figures, firmly entrenched. Until they fell out. They made it clear that they left the establishment. Then they sort reform. The 5 jokers attempted to reform while in the establishment.

Pt of clarification. So by yr definition, Chan Heng Chee wld be considered not part of the estab , but has become part now ?

Lee Hsien Tau

Cherian George was ex-colleague.

I wasn't aware he was in any kind of trouble.

I remember he was a tall thin fella in Newsdesk.