• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

154th Only Publish Silly "Be Thankful" Letters

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>June 16, 2009
THEY CAME TO STAY FOR TWO YEARS AND STAYED ON FOR ALMOST 15
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>A love affair with Singapore
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I CAME to Singapore from New Zealand with my husband in 1994. It was my first visit.
We had planned to stay for only two years as his contract with Singapore General Hospital was for just two years. However, we decided to stay on, not really knowing how long. We returned to New Zealand last year, so we were in Singapore for almost 15 years.
Our Singapore experience was a wonderful one. Of course, it always takes time to settle after such a big move, and New Zealand is quite different from Singapore, with climate, population and cultural differences. There were also lifestyle changes and we missed family and friends at home. This was difficult at times, but family and friends came to visit and we returned to New Zealand once or twice a year.
So despite those first years of adapting to cultural differences and getting to know new friends and colleagues, we approached these challenges with a positive attitude, and began to enjoy our new home.
Singapore, to my husband and me, is a well-organised and governed country. We were impressed at how it had grown so fast in such a short time. Because my husband is in the health industry, we learnt that health was of a high standard, and much importance was attached to public health and money was spent wisely on new technology.
Second, we were impressed with the education system and how much importance was placed on a good education for the future of the country. And how people were encouraged to save for their children's tertiary education, rather than take huge student loans.
We were both sad to leave Singapore and would happily have stayed, but thought we would like to be closer to family and friends in New Zealand.
I visited my Singapore - I call it my second home - in April for eight days and felt I was home again after eight months away. It was a surreal experience and parts of it were sad also, for example driving past our old condo in Toa Payoh or visiting the Botanic Gardens where we used to walk daily. I wanted to park my car in Wheelock Place again, do some great Singapore shopping and return home to our condo, but I had to board an SIA flight back to my other home in Christchurch.
I want to say a big thank you to Singapore and its people for allowing us the privilege of living in your wonderful country for 14 years. Singapore was and always will be our second home, and I look forward to visiting as much as I can over the coming years. Sue A'Court (Mrs)
Christchurch, New Zealand

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Ms Sue A'Court , lucky you !
The typical Singaporean is not that lucky !
How many Singaporeans walk around with a smile on their faces ?
How many Singaporeans would hold the door for a fellow citizen ?
How many Singaporeans would greet the neighbours at lift landings ?
How many Singaporeans would give way on the roads even if fellow motorists give adequate signals ?
How many Singaporeans have no debts that last a life time ?
How many Singaporeans have friendly bank officers that will not hesitate to cut off their credit facilitates ?
How many Singaporeans think the future is great for their children in 20 years time ?
How many Singaporeans felt secured that they can save enough $$$ for their long retirement ?
How many Singaporeans are sure that they can afford to pay their medical bills when they are very sick ?
The list goes on and on ...........
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: kopikia22 at Wed Jun 17 02:36:41 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Dear Ms Sue A'Court,

Your admiration for Singapore's rapid rise to prosperity and emphasis on education is understandable. It is a rarity rather than the norm in the non-western world.

But if you could spend some time to stay in places like Hong Kong, Taiwan, Korea and Japan, you will come to understand that rapid prosperity and emphasis on education is not a peculiarly Singaporean trait. They are East Asian traits common to just about all East Asian nations.

If not for language differences, chances are you would feel in love too with the other East Asian nations as you have with Singapore.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: trulysingapore at Tue Jun 16 23:19:01 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>It is better to be a foreign talent in Singapore with big salaries, bonuses, big houses, no care about politics or worries about paying your bills.

Sure beats being a normal waged lower-middle class born-in-singapore citizen, who has to serve 2 years NS and listen to all the filtered news in our local media.
Such letters are true reflections of how different the gaps are between foreigners (highly paid ones) versus locals who are middle class and struggling with bills and they do not live in Condos nor have a car.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: lplp at Tue Jun 16 16:07:49 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Yes, agreed totally, if one has the means and resources to enjoy their retirement. Singapore would be a great place to retire for the available facilities and convenience to all the great places whether for medical treatment, recreation,dining and entertainment. But for those who can't be financially independent like me, even at the age of 63 had still to work to survive.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: lee_kum_wah at Tue Jun 16 08:00:39 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

besotted

Hahahahahahah Singaporeans really so CMI????

Even someone sings the praises and voices her gratitude also kena like that

Wah lau......

Eurekas

For every 1 ang moh that praise Singapore is a safe and clean city there will be 10 who complain about the bad service, traffic jams, long wait for bus, sardine packed MRT and bus, noisy foreign trash enclave etc.