• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

151st: This model S'porean welcomes PRs

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - 151st: This model S'porean welcomes PRs</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Mar-5 8:29 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 6) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>29634.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Mar 5, 2010

NEWCOMERS: MAKING S'PORE HOME
Gradual build-up of warmth

<!-- by line -->By Nur Dianah Suhaimi
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
h1.jpg
Singaporeans Alan Lim and his wife Junia flanked by their neighbours from China (from left) four-year-old Jia Xin, mum Liu Ai Qin, 35, dad Xue Bo and six-year-old Jia Rui. What started out as a simple dinner invitation has blossomed into a lasting friendship. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN

<!-- story content : start -->
http://www.straitstimes.com/Singapore/Story/STIStory_498121.html
WHEN Dr Xue Bo got a new neighbour in 2007, the permanent resident, who lives in an HDB block in Jurong West, also received a surprise.
The newcomers invited the 36-year-old and his family to dinner. It was the first time a Singaporean had invited them to a meal since his family of four moved here from China in 2005, he told The Straits Times yesterday.
Their host, retiree Alan Lim, 75, explained: 'I make it a point to treat foreigners warmly so that they don't feel lonely.'
The Xues and Lims were praised by Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng in Parliament yesterday for their efforts at integration.
Mr Wong said the one-year-old National Integration Council will intensify its efforts to integrate PRs and new citizens into Singapore society. However, integration takes a long time, he added.
'It cannot be rushed. It needs the direct and active involvement of both Singaporeans and new immigrants.'
This is personified by the Xues and Lims, who live in executive flats in Block 629. Dr Xue was initially hesitant to accept the dinner invitation. 'My family was very shy then, but we decided to accept it to make friends,' said the research fellow, who is a father of two young girls.
His acceptance gave birth to a warm relationship.
He said: 'With the Lims around, we feel like we have family in Singapore and we don't feel so lonely any more.'
For Mr Lim and his family of five, bonding with neighbours is second nature. The retired logistics manager and his wife live with their son, his wife and child.
The two families now go to church and have lunch together on Sundays. When the Xues return to China for a holiday, the Lims will keep an eye on their home.
DPM Wong noted that such thoughtful gestures are not only deeply appreciated by newcomers to Singapore, but they also 'go a long way towards making us more cohesive and harmonious even as we become more diverse'.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtablealt cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>PAPalBull <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Mar-5 1:20 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(4 of 6) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>29634.4 in reply to 29634.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Looks like the bastard 151st is still pumping out PAP propaganda full blast. For every one of those happy-clappy, lovey-dovey, butter-won't-melt-in-their-mouths FTs, there are a thousand complete and utter foreign shitheads who will take the greatest pleasure in pumping 6 rounds into your ass to take over your place on the ladder.

LKY and the PAP are traitors to the Singapore nation and the Singapore people. They have betrayed you and me. They're like a farking cancer growing in our body. Kick the bastards out before we all die. Singapore for Singaporeans FIRST!

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Mar-5 6:17 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>PAPalBull <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (5 of 6) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>29634.5 in reply to 29634.4 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>> Looks like the bastard 151st is still pumping out PAP propaganda full blast. For every one of those happy-clappy, lovey-dovey, butter-won't-melt-in-their-mouths FTs
Elections cumming lah... I'm completely disgusted by 151st trying to paint a very rosy picture of PRs and Sinkies here in Singapore. This is false.
While I do not deny that there will be good PRs or new citizens here who are committed to Singapore, but we all know from our own exprience, many tens of thousands more are trash.
Talking about PRCs, according to my property agent friend, a lot of them are giving problems and that's why he doesn't like to deal with PRC tenants. Many of them sublet out to more people causing a nuisance to the neighbour. Some are KTV girls. When they come home drunk ad 2-3am, they will make hell of a lot of noise. Also, some PRC couples, esp from Dongbei, they tend to fight and argue loudly (dongbei people more hot headed), again causing nuisance to the SG neighbours...
How come 151st don't highlight these kind of problems?

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

"The two families now go to church and have lunch together on Sundays."

You guys have missed this vital statement.

The churches, especially the charismatic mega churches have made a concerted effort to mobilise its members to evangelize to new immigrants.

In the church course "Power to Change" there is a big emphasise to befriend your neighbours to bring them to Chris. The new immigrant neighbours form a easy target group because there is a sense of loneliness and friendship is the best way to fill that void. In the "Power to Change" course, it teaches that the quickest way to create the beach head is to invite them for dinner or lunch. That's what this old couple did.

Later through friendship, they will invite them to church functions specially designed for new immigrants...like they pastor would speak more on the need to know more "good" local Singaporeans and Christians are generally good as the new immigrants can see lots of professionals like doctors, dentist, lawyers in the church.

Then in these funtions targeting new immigrants, they are other Christians who are also new immigrants from the same part of China or India to "connect" with those invited. The church can pre-match them because the host families who invited them already give the "outreach to immigrants grop committee" a detail "profile" of their invited new immigrant friends...age, marital status, gender, fmaily size, occupation, which province of China they come from, occupation etc. So once they come to these function they will sense a deep welcome with people who are good and some even have the same culture. They can feel the "love and presence of God" and all those bull shits. Well you get my point by now.

Now put yourself in the shoe of a new immigrant. After living your apartment for about 1 year (the Christian families usually are told NOT to approach new families immediately as this will scare them for bring too rush) a neigbour who usually smile and talk (warm up first) to you invites you and your family for dinner. The friendship grew deeper (beach head). They might then bring you some home cook food or extra fresh food or toys and clothings for your kids (saying these are my childrens old clothing and even it has been used but looks new and have lots of "sendimental" value and I want their clothings to be on your kids as they behave so well!...wow that really classic and sure way to touch parents' hearts...though their kids).

Can you then turn down their invitation to a church function?

In less than 5 years, you will see the Christians number would more than doubled. When I left Singapore in 1991 there was about 7 to 11% Christians in Singapore. Now there should be about at least 20% Christians. The true-blue Singaporeans are very difficult to reach out to them for Christ as for so many years they have been evangelize so many times that they turned hardcore and turn a deaf ear to Christianity. Whoever wants to be Christians will have already decided to do so. Christians are like Singaporea government, they look at the "productivity" side. It is more productive to evangelize to new immigrants than the local Singaporeans because there is the "lonely void" need to be filled by the former.

Many of those new immigrant converts will be highly qualified professionals from China and India. By 10 years time, some of them will step into politics and turn Singapore into a Christian nation of more than 50% Christians!

Now you know why Pastor Ronny Tan dare to poke fun at Buddish and the PAP government dared not to arrest him. The Christians are growing all too powerfull. Could it be that Pastor Roony Tan just make a calculated move to "test the water" ...after all the testmonies are all pre-planned and there is no reason a senior pastor does not know the sensitivity of his surmon in the Singapore context.

Well this is ony my conspiracy theory and I do not wish to stir up any religious sentiments but to caution PAP that they can be losing their "power base" to a huge group of Christians who fear God more than PAP. Ad there is NO law against them for "loving" people...eventually their God's love will win over more converts.

LKY rules Singapore by "fear" but Singapore Christians win souls by "love"...slwo but steady. So watch out PAP!