• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

10,000 graves to be exhumed

metalslug

So what are PAP going to build in their place? Another shopping mall, condos?

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_352223.html

10,000 graves to be exhumed

ln-sg-10000.jpg

Exhumation of the graves will commence after registration of claims. All unclaimed graves will be exhumed in June next year. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSO CHAN

SOME 10,000 graves at Choa Chu Kang Chinese cemetery will be exhumed.
These graves, which date back to between 1958 and 1978, are affected under phase 3 of the National Environment Agency's (NEA) exhumation programme.

They will involve lots in blocks 4, 5, and 6.

Those who wish to claim the remains of their next-of-kin buried in this section are encouraged by the NEA to do so early.

Notices to alert the next-of-kin of those buried in the affected section will be published in The Straits Times and Lianhe Zaobao on March 21.

Next-of-kin can use either the notices to make their claims, or do so via the NEA website.

Exhumation of the graves will commence after registration of claims. All unclaimed graves will be exhumed in June next year.

The NEA has begun exhuming graves in phases at the Choa Chu Kang (CCK) cemetery since December 2004.

This is in line with the government's policy of limiting the burial period of all graves to a 15-year period.

For more details on the exhumation programme, the public can call the CCK exhumation hotline at: (65) 679-555-11 or visit www.nea.gov.sg/cckexhumation.

TeeKee

talk about respect for the dead..

sgp got so much undeveloped lands, if you google map, why must they always pick on graves?

what the hell are they doing?

Frankiestine

talk about respect for the dead..

sgp got so much undeveloped lands, if you google map, why must they always pick on graves?

what the hell are they doing?
what can you expect when they don't even respect holy grounds and desecrate places like St Joseph and CHIJ...

masgnoeL

The government is ridiculous!!!!! There must be respect to the dead and their family.
My friend had spent $30,000 on the coffin and another $5,000 on the plot back in 1978. Now, the government wants to desecrate the cemetery.

Why can't the government leave the dead alone? It is not even 50 years. The law is that after 15 years, the government can dig up the grave.

This is so disrespectful of the dead. My friend's mum is buried in the Christian cemetary at CCK in 2000. So, in 2015, the government is going to dig up his mother's grave.

Most of these cemetaries, after the graves are dug out, are still left vacant.

WTF is this freaking government doing????

Leave the dead alone please!!!!!

Frankiestine

It will be interesting to see when that old fart dies, are they going to choose burial over cremation? So in the hope of fulfilling his legacy of rising from the dead to right any wrong if it so happens...

Airlib

I believe there is a plot of land designated to bury all these elites... No need cremate lah.
Not that much of them are as steady as Wee Kim Wee lor... Cremated and placed together with the common people.

I notice that the chrisitan & muslim cemetry at Serangoon/Mt Vernon which was vacated is still empty. I'm surprise because there's already an mrt station already built.

Gov't must be preparing for the new FTs thats going to bring the population to 6+ million. With the recession why do they need to empty those CCK graves :confused:

masgnoeL

I notice that the chrisitan & muslim cemetry at Serangoon/Mt Vernon which was vacated is still empty. I'm surprise because there's already an mrt station already built.

Gov't must be preparing for the new FTs thats going to bring the population to 6+ million. With the recession why do they need to empty those CCK graves :confused:

Most probably, the NEA contractor who won the tender to dig up the graves are ka-ki-lang. I think we should investigate NEA. There is a high chance someone is getting kick-backs.

In recession, it is costly to spend such money to dig up the graves which only the NEA contracter stands to gain.

More importantly, it could be to fill up those Buddhist and Christian collaborium or whatever that are built all over the place here.

From the religious stand-point, one choose burial over cremation for religious and feng-shui reasons. Ancestral graves are not meant to be dug up.

WTF!!!

metalslug

10033.jpg

"Fight for us... and regain your honor. What say you? What say you? I am Isildur's heir. Fight for me. And I will hold your oaths fulfilled. What say you?"​

The government is ridiculous!!!!! There must be respect to the dead and their family.
My friend had spent $30,000 on the coffin and another $5,000 on the plot back in 1978. Now, the government wants to desecrate the cemetery.

Why can't the government leave the dead alone? It is not even 50 years. The law is that after 15 years, the government can dig up the grave.

This is so disrespectful of the dead. My friend's mum is buried in the Christian cemetary at CCK in 2000. So, in 2015, the government is going to dig up his mother's grave.

Leave the dead alone please!!!!!

I have several relative buried there too. I am not happy about this, espcially since they already have dugged up my other relatives at bidadri. Don't worry, I am waiting for this piece of shit Lee Cunt You to die, than I will desecrare his tomb too.

So sad. This could be the last Ching Ming at a proper tombstone for a lot of people.

The last burial site will be Kopi Hill at Khean Hock Road. I just went there last week to pray for my grandfather, buried in 1950.

Privpho

Most probably, the NEA contractor who won the tender to dig up the graves are ka-ki-lang. I think we should investigate NEA. There is a high chance someone is getting kick-backs.

In recession, it is costly to spend such money to dig up the graves which only the NEA contracter stands to gain.

More importantly, it could be to fill up those Buddhist and Christian collaborium or whatever that are built all over the place here.

From the religious stand-point, one choose burial over cremation for religious and feng-shui reasons. Ancestral graves are not meant to be dug up.

WTF!!!
Perhaps this is just another of the Old Dog's plans to ensure no one else will be able to challenge the Familee's mastery of Singapore by digging up ancestral graves after 15 years... all the benefits garnered from a good grave location would be transient at best.

Would be interesting to see if they will dig up Old Dog's grave after 15 years. Most likely not!

angry_one

I am bloody upset at reading this. In life the PAP meddles with us, and in death we can't even escape their clutches??

What the hell is to important that they must move all the graves??? A new shopping mall? Army camp? Why can't they build it elsewhere, like one of the many golf courses??

In a 1st world country there'd be massive protests by the family members, blocking the bulldozers and attacking the police!! To desecrate graves, that's gross disrespect!! :oIo:

masgnoeL

Exactly. Build golf courses to replace the dug-up cemeteries. That is gross disrespect to desecrate ancestral graves.

Giving the excuse that Sinkiepore does not have enough land just does not stick. Once buried, should not touch the ancestral graves. It is a curse, like the Egyptian tombs. In fact, all ancestral graves all over the world carries the same curse for those who dig them up.

Privpho

The ones who get cursed are the poor gravediggers. You think the multi-billion dollar leaders are affected by this? They probably have their ancestors located at permanent grave sites overseas with good fengshui to boot.