• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat ST Forum: Are HDB residents tenants or owners?

Actually it's more lease ownership...so one owns the lease till the lease expires or the lease gets sold to someone else. Hdb control every thing..but own private freehold property also no use..pap will take it back...

Do not use
the word "Ownership" in the same breath as lease. There is no such thing as lease ownership, its a contradiction in terms. U can be a leaseholder, a lessee, but not an "owner".

title deed?does ur hdb flat have a title deed?has anyone seen a title deed for a hdb flat?

Its a "title deed" because the 99
year tenant HDB lease is registered with the land title office. Its part of the PAP's smoke policy to camouflage the fact that HDB is really a long term rental agreement.

End of the day....the question shld be if HDB is public housing, how come the public cannot afford it, leased or owned?

That is not the real question. The real question
is "If Singapore is such an economic success as the PAP says it is, then why is over 80% of the population living in govt build low income and subsidized public housing?" In every other country in the world, govt public low income and subsidized housing is for the very poor and low rung of society who cannot afford to live anywhere else. Does this mean we are not really an economic success after all?

Tear down the hdb flats and make room for more condos? considering the prices we are paying for 4 and 5 room flats,it's more than enough to afford condos in Melbourne Australia near the cdb area.

I would think we are better off than the hongkies, where their housing prices keep going up and people are staying in way smaller homes.

Hongkies pay their top civil servants and politicians a small fraction of what we pay ours. To compare us to them is sheer stupidity. Why don't you compare a Kia to a Bentley? If you pay for a bentley, you expect certain high performances. We are not getting that, its obvious.

Agreed,it's a good thing 80 percent of the sinkie population is staying in pub housing,excluding fts,the fts can do whatever they want they die their biz.but the housing prices should be tightly controlled by the govt,like a communist country.cpf monies should not be allowed to be used to inflate and bloat hdb prices.all hdb are to be sold to sinkies at cost price excluding land cost.also u are not allowed to own more than one home if u own a hdb flat.to allow for greater free market forces,a certain portion of the hdb flats say 30 percent should be converted to upgraded "private" flats that can be traded on the free market,this comes with their own parcel of freehold land that last 199 years.

Hongkies pay their top civil servants and politicians a small fraction of what we pay ours. To compare us to them is sheer stupidity. Why don't you compare a Kia to a Bentley? If you pay for a bentley, you expect certain high performances. We are not getting that, its obvious.

Given that the vast majority of sinkie civil servants nad politicians do not take bribes, we are paying a very small total price. In most countries, politicians and civil servants are officially paid pittance. In return, they take lots of bribes. In the US, politicians are openly associated with dishonesty. So, there is no evidence to suggest that paying civil servants and politicians poorly would ensure we have a clean government.

For Hong Kong...it's harder for civil serpents to take bribes as there is the ICAC...in Singkieland there is nothing like tat..if not the Familee will not have gotten away with the Nassim Jade thingy...look at pinky abuse of power by using the PMO to send letters to his siblings or with regards to the Roy Ng case.. personal matters using state resources...n what about Patrick Tan avoiding NS?

iluvgst

hdb does not give u a title deed. if u buy a 99 year or 999 year leasehold private condo, then u get a title deed.

the hdb is under land title act, hdb owns the land your pigeon hole sits on, including the structure the pigeon hole is made of. if u daft sinkies really think u own your hdb, why dont u try going enbloc and sell to developer if u get 80percent consent among u daft pigeon holers.

on the other hand, the private leasehold condo is under strata title act. anytime u get 80percent consent, u can sell the land to developer. i.e. u own the land until end of lease.

HDB buyers are neither owners nor tenants they are simply fucked.

For Hong Kong...it's harder for civil serpents to take bribes as there is the ICAC...in Singkieland there is nothing like tat..if not the Familee will not have gotten away with the Nassim Jade thingy...look at pinky abuse of power by using the PMO to send letters to his siblings or with regards to the Roy Ng case.. personal matters using state resources...n what about Patrick Tan avoiding NS?

Singapore has the CAD and CPIB. Given the amount of money the government handles, the amount lost to graft and unpaid taxes is very very low. Try comparing to countries like India where graft is common and rich people refuse to pay income tax and get away with it. It has gotten to a point where Modi has to suddenly impose currency controls to account for all the bundles of cash hidden in people's homes.

Roy agreed that he did defame PM Lee. The defamation suit went through the legal process. In most other countries, oppies are jailed outright, shot dead or just simply vanished for years without explanation.

Patrick Tan did not avoid NS. He had a very long deferment and he ultimately served NS when his deferment was over. This matter was dealt with before KFC got elected and voters had ample time to punish him at the polls if they were not satisfied with that way Mindef handled the case.

I think you are demanding a utopian society where politicians and civil servants work selflessly in return for very low pay while people like us in the private sector get to makes lot of money in an environment where everything works seamlessly. It doesn't work that way in the real world. I have no problems with paying politicians and civil servants well and in return, they do a decent job of running the country and ensuring that the bulk of the public monies remain accounted for.

whether rent or lease or own or kena fucked deep deep in the arse by hdb, there's no doubt among pubic housing planners and organizations in the world that sinkies enjoy the best pubic housing on the planet and are lucky to have the hdb and pap creating space and highly modern habitats with parks and covered walkways all around on an island with limited land. there's a trade off, and that trade off of relatively affordable housing for new entries coupled with rising equity and enhancement in overall value (even for a 99-year prepaid rental - unheard of in this universe) after 6.9 years of move-in far offsets any non-ownership or future liability of a pubic flat. at the bottom of the balance sheet, if sinkies are happy and proud (and fooled at the same time) with their purchases, all are good and dandy. nothing like a happy clueless pig fed and groomed well for 6.9 years to die for the dinner table.

nayr69sg

Staff member
If Singapore govt tell sinkies they own HDB flats as tenants they will believe so. They will say they are tenant-owners. And sinkies will believe so.

Some sinkies will ask govt question and then accept whatever shit the govt tell them to believe. Most sinkies dun ever ask govt questions.

Then when they kena screwed they will kpkb.

Not to mention the PeeM appointing his own wife to run a multibillion dollar sovereign wealth fund for which she has no qualifications. That is corruption.