• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Simi Si SixkChui??

Just now went to Serangoon Central to buy Crabs cos my woman's mummy asked her to get meaty crabs for her side family..

Nabei... The place machiam a mess bo carpark lot one...limpei end up parking far away... Huai Oppo district so messy huan hor...nabei...vote PAP Ho lah...:biggrin:

Aniwae.....back to Crabs...so limpei went to choose the crabs ... Of course I want the "kor" lots lots huan lah...so I choose the female huans :biggrin:

Then the old uncle say I "SickChui"...

I say huh? He say bo bo ... Weigh the damn Crabs and say 150 bucks ... Limpei pay and go off...

Then wondering in my ranjiao brain what is " sickchui"…

any idea?:confused:

Just now went to Serangoon Central to buy Crabs cos my woman's mummy asked her to get meaty crabs for her side family..

Nabei... The place machiam a mess bo carpark lot one...limpei end up parking far away... Huai Oppo district so messy huan hor...nabei...vote PAP Ho lah...:biggrin:

Aniwae.....back to Crabs...so limpei went to choose the crabs ... Of course I want the "kor" lots lots huan lah...so I choose the female huans :biggrin:

I say huh? He say bo bo ... Weigh the damn Crabs and say 150 bucks ... Limpei pay and go off...

He said sake huay lah means know goods lor.

Oh knn then the uncle said u haolian liao aka sake chui
You must be acting like a boss outside orfit

Nabei...limpei toray dressed like a big ah beng.. Where got act like boss huan...

Tsibye crab seller maybe scolding me with some antique hokkien wei... Nabei :oIo:

Nabei...so much tcss from everyone but no one knows what the fug is Sickchui! :oIo:

prancku

Nabei...so much tcss from everyone but no one knows what the fug is Sickchui! :oIo:

Hi ah monki, you sound so frustrated over inability of sammies to explain to you 'sickchui'. Here is an explanation for you. Here goes,...

'Sickchui' must had been spoken in teochew. It should actually be 'sek chui' if properly pronounced, only in monkey talk it came out as 'sickchui' Literally translation from Teochew to English is 'sek = understand or know', 'chui=water'. That is, you 'understand/know' water. Actual meaning is that you understand the market, know how to choose good product over a variety or variation of choices, that is, out of so many types of crabs, big/ small crabs, big/small claws, big/small eyes, flower/no flower, etc, those chosen by you were considered, by him, to be good specimens of crabs to be eaten. Meaning something like 'wah lao, you are really expert in choosing good crabs to eat'.

So hope you now fully understand 'sek chui'.

Just in case your head swollen now, knowing the above meaning, kindly be aware the above word 'sek chui' was said to you because he wanted to:
1 porlumpar you, to make you happy that you are considered by him, an expert in selling crabs to be an expert in choosing crabs and an expert in eating crabs;
2 to make you happy to reduce your resistance to the exorbitant price he was going to propose to you because you have been praised to high heavens to be an expert in crabs;
3 It is very standard practice for market sellers to use such words on customers to close the deal, which in many cases, the prices are higher than normal'.

A really 'sek chui' will ask (and already know) what were really reasonable market price for the chosen items. For example, did you ask him what was his price per kilo quoted, then check he did not overcharge you or calculate wrongly, instead of just accepting the final price at $150? Do you know the prices of the same type of crabs being sold in same market or else where?

My guess is that seller is a prc or Malaysian who always uses the same method on young roberts or middle age uncles. The last time when I bought whole salmon from same location, prc fish cutter also said I 'sek huo' to chose the right salmon, out of the so many on display! :biggrin:. Well, I did ask him to go ahead to fillet the salmon, but my decision was based on how big I wanted the salmon to be. Price already I know as it is standard price on offer, same as those in Giant or Cold Storage supermarkets.

Okaydoooo, many many exchanged words over one small little Teochew word.

I hope now you 'sekchui', hor!! given efforts made for you.:biggrin:

steveaustin316

Just now went to Serangoon Central to buy Crabs cos my woman's mummy asked her to get meaty crabs for her side family.

No offence Bro, if Cantonese, sounds like Eat Banana, really.

Hi ah monki, you sound so frustrated over inability of sammies to explain to you 'sickchui'. Here is an explanation for you. Here goes,...

'Sickchui' must had been spoken in teochew. It should actually be 'sek chui' if properly pronounced, only in monkey talk it came out as 'sickchui' Literally translation from Teochew to English is 'sek = understand or know', 'chui=water'. That is, you 'understand/know' water. Actual meaning is that you understand the market, know how to choose good product over a variety or variation of choices, that is, out of so many types of crabs, big/ small crabs, big/small claws, big/small eyes, flower/no flower, etc, those chosen by you were considered, by him, to be good specimens of crabs to be eaten. Meaning something like 'wah lao, you are really expert in choosing good crabs to eat'.

So hope you now fully understand 'sek chui'.

Just in case your head swollen now, knowing the above meaning, kindly be aware the above word 'sek chui' was said to you because he wanted to:
1 porlumpar you, to make you happy that you are considered by him, an expert in selling crabs to be an expert in choosing crabs and an expert in eating crabs;
2 to make you happy to reduce your resistance to the exorbitant price he was going to propose to you because you have been praised to high heavens to be an expert in crabs;
3 It is very standard practice for market sellers to use such words on customers to close the deal, which in many cases, the prices are higher than normal'.

A really 'sek chui' will ask (and already know) what were really reasonable market price for the chosen items. For example, did you ask him what was his price per kilo quoted, then check he did not overcharge you or calculate wrongly, instead of just accepting the final price at $150? Do you know the prices of the same type of crabs being sold in same market or else where?

My guess is that seller is a prc or Malaysian who always uses the same method on young roberts or middle age uncles. The last time when I bought whole salmon from same location, prc fish cutter also said I 'sek huo' to chose the right salmon, out of the so many on display! :biggrin:. Well, I did ask him to go ahead to fillet the salmon, but my decision was based on how big I wanted the salmon to be. Price already I know as it is standard price on offer, same as those in Giant or Cold Storage supermarkets.

Okaydoooo, many many exchanged words over one small little Teochew word.

I hope now you 'sekchui', hor!! given efforts made for you.:biggrin:

So Des me....now it makes sense when u say teochew!
Come to think of it.. They are teochew seafood wholesaler...

Kumsia kumsia for your precise explanation...si bei hor...I respect deep.deep your knowledge :biggrin:

Whether I kena Kutok or not..I oso dunno lah...choose 4 big meaty crabs ...the price he put there is $35per kg...so limpei no crab price expert...so bo pianzzz...this one my woman mother want huan...so cannot lao gwee...so must buy big and good ones mah...

Or else later her mummy ask why she hang out with poor man....then how..:biggrin:

Some more not yet Gao Yin...later the mummy object if we wanna Gao Yin how :biggrin:

steveaustin316

Lidat u damn jialat liow. Another thread about Sinkie wanting $68K for her virginity. Sekali her mother said daughter virgin, want $68K also, how?

Ralders

So Des me....now it makes sense when u say teochew!
Come to think of it.. They are teochew seafood wholesaler...

Kumsia kumsia for your precise explanation...si bei hor...I respect deep.deep your knowledge :biggrin:

Whether I kena Kutok or not..I oso dunno lah...choose 4 big meaty crabs ...the price he put there is $35per kg...so limpei no crab price expert...so bo pianzzz...this one my woman mother want huan...so cannot lao gwee...so must buy big and good ones mah...

Or else later her mummy ask why she hang out with poor man....then how..:biggrin:

Some more not yet Gao Yin...later the mummy object if we wanna Gao Yin how :biggrin:

Gan ni na.hor gao gan.
U understand