I am way past 60s in age. I smoke and partake alcohol. I enjoy this activities till today.
So much recent hoo ha on smoking. It is sickening and hypocritical.
Ridiculous letters sent to, and published by ST Forum by many anti-smoking activists.
Some writers even have the cheek to get smoking totally banned even within our PRIVATE abodes.
Those running the government have new plans to further curtail this "dirty habit" (smoking).
They want to add new places where smoking would be banned.
Let me bring you back to the past into the corridors of power within Singapore. It was filled with smell of lighted cigarettes.
Then Harry Lee was a heavy smoker and so were Messrs Eddie Barker, S Rajaratnam, Devan Nair, Toh Chin Chye and Dr Lee Siew Choh.
Favourite brand was then State Express 555.
Our good old Chief Justice Wee Chong Jin loved lighting up too and so were many famed judges and lawyers of yesteryears.
When Harry gave up, many followed the move by the Great Leader and gave up too. "I shall follow you" style.
But they continued to drink wine for it was said to "be good for the heart".
Harry Lee, I was told, loved Lowenbrau Beer "at room temperature" till these very day. You can see the redness on his face.
Slowly the prices of cigarettes, whiskies, brandies and poor Ah-Peks Ngo Kar Pee went up in the name of "good health reasons".
However the price of their favourite (wine) remained low to this day.
Deng Siow Peng came to the Istana in 1973. He was allowed to smoke. Thanks to Harry Lee for lifting that order against "No Smoking".
To me this is hypocritical. But Deng was a strongman of China. Don't play play hor...Sinkies are nothing so can "hantam to submission".
Cigarettes were given out to well-wishers attending Chinese weddings. I too did it my way. Thats history.
PAP please come clean and make public your true aim.."Either make cigarettes a "controlled drug" under the Misuse of Drugs Act, along with whiskies, brandies and Ngo Kar Pee. You are the majority in Parliament and can easily get all the "Aye, Aye, Aye".
Be brave to resist the temptation to earn more money from excise duties on cigs and hard drinks. Love Sinkies more then money for their health is important, isn't it dear leaders.
Singapore tax vehicle by engine capacities. Hard liquour is also taxed according to alcohol content - below 40% and above 40 %. That was why Ngo Kar Pee @ 47% died off.
The poor Ah-Peks are today drinking unfinished glasses left by patrons. remember the murder of the 70 year old Ah Pek in Chinatown recently. Some have resorted to "beedies" (reef cigs from India) - a dangerous substitute.
If I were the government I would impose a TOTAL BAN on cigarettes just like what the Arabians have done. Follow their style. You can do it.
Why all this suddenly
So much recent hoo ha on smoking. It is sickening and hypocritical.
Ridiculous letters sent to, and published by ST Forum by many anti-smoking activists.
Some writers even have the cheek to get smoking totally banned even within our PRIVATE abodes.
Those running the government have new plans to further curtail this "dirty habit" (smoking).
They want to add new places where smoking would be banned.
Let me bring you back to the past into the corridors of power within Singapore. It was filled with smell of lighted cigarettes.
Then Harry Lee was a heavy smoker and so were Messrs Eddie Barker, S Rajaratnam, Devan Nair, Toh Chin Chye and Dr Lee Siew Choh.
Favourite brand was then State Express 555.
Our good old Chief Justice Wee Chong Jin loved lighting up too and so were many famed judges and lawyers of yesteryears.
When Harry gave up, many followed the move by the Great Leader and gave up too. "I shall follow you" style.
But they continued to drink wine for it was said to "be good for the heart".
Harry Lee, I was told, loved Lowenbrau Beer "at room temperature" till these very day. You can see the redness on his face.
Slowly the prices of cigarettes, whiskies, brandies and poor Ah-Peks Ngo Kar Pee went up in the name of "good health reasons".
However the price of their favourite (wine) remained low to this day.
Deng Siow Peng came to the Istana in 1973. He was allowed to smoke. Thanks to Harry Lee for lifting that order against "No Smoking".
To me this is hypocritical. But Deng was a strongman of China. Don't play play hor...Sinkies are nothing so can "hantam to submission".
Cigarettes were given out to well-wishers attending Chinese weddings. I too did it my way. Thats history.
PAP please come clean and make public your true aim.."Either make cigarettes a "controlled drug" under the Misuse of Drugs Act, along with whiskies, brandies and Ngo Kar Pee. You are the majority in Parliament and can easily get all the "Aye, Aye, Aye".
Be brave to resist the temptation to earn more money from excise duties on cigs and hard drinks. Love Sinkies more then money for their health is important, isn't it dear leaders.
Singapore tax vehicle by engine capacities. Hard liquour is also taxed according to alcohol content - below 40% and above 40 %. That was why Ngo Kar Pee @ 47% died off.
The poor Ah-Peks are today drinking unfinished glasses left by patrons. remember the murder of the 70 year old Ah Pek in Chinatown recently. Some have resorted to "beedies" (reef cigs from India) - a dangerous substitute.
If I were the government I would impose a TOTAL BAN on cigarettes just like what the Arabians have done. Follow their style. You can do it.
Why all this suddenly