• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

euphony

Re: Investing in Nusajaya

agree bro. sales rep in general is helpful. but still they work for developer. such tactics could be deployed as a distraction that takes your attention away from critical defects which are costly for developers to rectify. they will appear helpful and point out multiple but sometimes frivolous defects. end of the day, you have the impression they have helped you a lot in spotting and rectifying the problems. sorry for being paranoid bro...but you will be surprised how many tricks sales people have up their sleeves.

for bros with no prior knowledge what to look for, one way is to hook up with a reno contractor and get him to go through the house. he will be more keen to get the critical defects rectified so that it will make his job that much easier when the carry out reno later. example, if the kitchen tiles are hollow, he will be quick to point it out cos he has to mount the cabinets later.

cheers.

good point! I did not think of that though i did not need any renovations. an independent professional 3rd party is an insurance policy in itself. how i did it was i look up, my mum looked down sales rep covered everything in between :biggrin:

again I count myself lucky, 1 month plus moving in. the house has weathered through storms without leaks, 2nd floor water pressure is strong, mopping the floor myself, i don't feel empty tiles. Cross fingers I hope it stays in this state though...

avalon74

I think the situation is slightly different with the bukit indah houses... many of them are eager to do reno and shift in as i would say most are locals working in singapore... they want to quickly move in so that they stop staying in their current rented place...

Just worried that if i only start my reno after my immediate neighbours have moved in, i will be a nuisance to them...

thanks for the consolation cathylmg....hope luck will be with me as well...

Like what Wuqi & other forumers say, inspect during VP for cracks & water seepage..
You can visit the place after rain to check on the condition..

For me, even did the backyard extension also no problem with heavy rain..
Go ahead & renovate after key collection, besides you are already paying for the place so why not use it.. :smile:

euphony

i have reading news after news of multiple severe accidents since fri up till today. hope everybody here are safe and without incidence. touch wood.
as much as i sympathize with the victims, I think next year car insurance...

lastresort

Hi Bro Lastresort,
U mean the dinner at Marina Bay Link Mall? Jus a coincidence I joined a group of like-minded frens n met another bro (n sis-in-law) from this forum as well as Mr J Tay too!

Hi SeriAustinian, I'm sure we attended the same dinner without knowing. =) great, I think you know who I am lah.. haha. But I still don't know who you are.

GorengPisang

Hi bro, just a little extra info to make your house hunting easier....landed estates comes with corners, end lots and intermediate.

Corners: Usually comes with big garden, maybe 15 - 20 ft? (noticed most of the time have odd/triangular shaped garden for corner houses, as the word corner suggest, are at the end/beginning of the road, thus the odd shape, of course there are also huge nice squarish ones)
End lots: 2 types of end lots;

a) End lot with no garden, just windows at the side, slightly more exp than intermediate.
b) End lots with small strip of land/garden beside, and usually these garden strips varies in size

Mine is (b), i was told typically its 8-10ft, mine is slightly bigger at 11+ ft, so dimension is 11x75. However do note that the boundary wall wil take up about 2ft of your garden space, so i suppose usable garden strip is only abt 9ft...if u just want some extra space for a small garden/tea table or some plants then end lot with garden will be suitable...if u want to have space for kids to play, cycle or run around or an outdoor dining table to entertain 10 guest, then a corner might be a better choice. Hope that helps.

Bro, May I know what the dimension of land next to your house for the corner lot?

mathstub

Thanks for this great info, Bro Wuqi.

Each about 30k on average. Yes up to 26% if you are foreigner but not if you are a tax resident here. As in if you stay here at least 182 days a year, you qualify and can just pay the tax from 1-26% (depending on your income bracket) as if you are a local. Certain deductions apply to you too. :smile:

mathstub

Bro Wuqi, really a good idea to seek help from the neighbors' contractors. I wonder whether they are willing to do just the inspection but not renovation.

Yes, not a lot here but the contractors, especially those who are mainly doing your neighbours one might know best as they already went through some rounds of checks before you. Lots of firms do valuation but not all are done very accurately. Those renovation that increase your total sqft has a slightly better chance to increase the value.

mathstub

Hi Bro, thank you very much for the following detailed information. Corner lots are often quickly taken up by others after they are released. Not sure whether there is any opportunity (having sufficient money at the right time) to get the corner lots in the future.

Hi bro, just a little extra info to make your house hunting easier....landed estates comes with corners, end lots and intermediate.

Corners: Usually comes with big garden, maybe 15 - 20 ft? (noticed most of the time have odd/triangular shaped garden for corner houses, as the word corner suggest, are at the end/beginning of the road, thus the odd shape, of course there are also huge nice squarish ones)
End lots: 2 types of end lots;

a) End lot with no garden, just windows at the side, slightly more exp than intermediate.
b) End lots with small strip of land/garden beside, and usually these garden strips varies in size

Mine is (b), i was told typically its 8-10ft, mine is slightly bigger at 11+ ft, so dimension is 11x75. However do note that the boundary wall wil take up about 2ft of your garden space, so i suppose usable garden strip is only abt 9ft...if u just want some extra space for a small garden/tea table or some plants then end lot with garden will be suitable...if u want to have space for kids to play, cycle or run around or an outdoor dining table to entertain 10 guest, then a corner might be a better choice. Hope that helps.

mathstub

I have also noticed the piece of land next to the semi-D can be a lot smaller than that next to the terrace house at the corner.

I can't remember now but normally the semi-ds in The Gateway is about 35x80. Land size differs quite a bit. Those units near to the road side like No. 88 has very little land to speak of.

checkers

I have also noticed the piece of land next to the semi-D can be a lot smaller than that next to the terrace house at the corner.

Yup..that is if you are comparing terrace with a corner and a intermediate Semi Detached. But the house types are of a different class .

Puteri harbour

Wuqi, you are really an asset to the forum....

Cannot agree more With your view on leveraging for properties....

The cheapest loans is mortgage loan and mortgage loans allows term as long as 30-40 years depend on age.

The the asset(property) appreciate more than interest and inflation rate over the mid-long term. Only thing need to take care is cash reserves... The more you leverage, the more cash reserves you should have.... Reserves of 4-8 years of installments payment will almost guaranteed you a 100% positive returns on property investment......

Hope it is helpful....

crystal_tiong

Buy bonds and gold. If you have spare cash, buy real gold from UOB or if you want, go online and get Canadian Maple Gold coins.
Good way to hedge against inflation if one is certain about prospect of golf appreciating further.

Hi Bro Wuqi

Thanks for sharing .
Me no spare cash , only wan to use cpf to make some money instead of relying on Govt interest and misuse our hard earned money....

tutucake

Like what Wuqi & other forumers say, inspect during VP for cracks & water seepage..
You can visit the place after rain to check on the condition..

For me, even did the backyard extension also no problem with heavy rain..
Go ahead & renovate after key collection, besides you are already paying for the place so why not use it.. :smile:

I will definitely check for leaks on my roof after rain... But sekali Singapore heavy rain, then rush in liAo then realize Bukit indah having a sunny day.... Any way to get a daily weather report of Bukit indah? Hehe...

Hey... I'm abosutely gonna extend my living room... How much u paid for ur extension?Care to share?

aangsc

I can't remember now but normally the semi-ds in The Gateway is about 35x80. Land size differs quite a bit. Those units near to the road side like No. 88 has very little land to speak of.

Does 35x80 means 2800 sqft of builtup ? Actually I always find it confusing if that is accurate.
Can anyone give a brief lesson how to tell from the dimension of 20x70 , 26x80, 35x80 etc.
My case of 26x80 is 3000 sqft builtup, how does the calculation work ?

cleyeo

Does 35x80 means 2800 sqft of builtup ? Actually I always find it confusing if that is accurate.
Can anyone give a brief lesson how to tell from the dimension of 20x70 , 26x80, 35x80 etc.

Bro, this is what I understand.

26X80, referring to the size of your land.
As for the 3000 sqft builtup, it refers to the total area of the building/house itself (minus the garden, if any). The more floors you have, the bigger the builtup size will be.

GorengPisang

Landed properties have 2 sizes that we have to take note of:

a) Land size
b) Built up size (usually refers to internal areas+balcony upstairs+aircond ledges

20x70, 32x70, 40x80 refers to the land size, its different from built up sizes, intermediate terraces with 20x70 land might have different built-up sizes, take Nusa Duta semi-d for example, their earlier batch of 40x80 semi-d has similar built up as their clusters which are 32x70, so sometimes bigger plot size doesnt mean bigger living spaces.

In Spore developer does not reflect the dimention in eg. 20x70 etc etc, instead its just 1400 sqf land, 2000 sqf built up (in spore min plot size is smwhere 1600+ sqf, developers cant built a house on anything smaller than that.

aangsc

Landed properties have 2 sizes that we have to take note of:

a) Land size
b) Built up size (usually refers to internal areas+balcony upstairs+aircond ledges

20x70, 32x70, 40x80 refers to the land size, its different from built up sizes, intermediate terraces with 20x70 land might have different built-up sizes, take Nusa Duta semi-d for example, their earlier batch of 40x80 semi-d has similar built up as their clusters which are 32x70, so sometimes bigger plot size doesnt mean bigger living spaces.

In Spore developer does not reflect the dimention in eg. 20x70 etc etc, instead its just 1400 sqf land, 2000 sqf built up (in spore min plot size is smwhere 1600+ sqf, developers cant built a house on anything smaller than that.

I prefer SG way really straight to the point.....mine is 26x80 with built up 3000 and the land size is 3700sqft , how to explain the math here ?
Still confuse how to calculate although I know my unit size. My guess is 26x80 is the size of land that the ground floor build-up sit on and it does not indicate garden size or complete plot size.

Aisanbo

I prefer SG way really straight to the point.....mine is 26x80 with built up 3000 and the land size is 3700sqft , how to explain the math here ?
Still confuse how to calculate although I know my unit size. My guess is 26x80 is the size of land that the ground floor build-up sit on and it does not indicate garden size or complete plot size.
26x80 is the standard land plot size for the intermediate.
If yours is corner and 3700 sf land, means the corneer land is about 1600 sf. Right?

Status
Not open for further replies.