• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Election coming - Dr Lili Neo whack Dr Vivian Balakrishnan

†††††

Vivian, Lily Neo in lively debate over aid schemes

NOT for the first time, Dr Lily Neo sparked a lively exchange yesterday about how best to provide for Singapore's poorest families.

The Jalan Besar GRC MP had challenged Community Development, Youth and Sports Minister Vivian Balakrishnan to set up a systematic programme to help the children of those in the bottom 5 per cent of earners.

This prompted him to reiterate firmly the Government's philosophy: that help will be provided to those most in need, but this should not erode self-reliance.

The bulk of Dr Neo's remarks during the debate on the ministry's budget focused on the need for a new safety net for the children of the neediest families.

'May I urge the minister to improve the plight of the children from the lowest income families through such a permanent and constructive safety-net?'

Dr Balakrishnan passed over her specific suggestion in his response and highlighted various existing schemes instead.

But when the time came for MPs to seek clarifications from the minister, Dr Neo was the first to stand and speak:

'Does he see that the many assistance schemes he mentioned earlier are not addressing this vulnerable group's predicaments? Does he believe in the opportunity of levelling up and the chance of social mobility?'

Dr Balakrishnan noted that he and Dr Neo actually agree that children in vulnerable families need more help. Where they differed, he said, was in the solution.

He stressed that the Government's position has been to avoid a 'permanent, unconditional, needs-based social safety net'. The Government, he added should form the last line of defence, not the first.

It should be social workers at the frontlines, not politicians, he added.

'There is now a greater appreciation of the fact that you need a coordinated consistent approach. But where I will disagree with her (Dr Neo), and perhaps I'm misreading her, is the assumption that the Government is the solution. Government cannot be the solution. Government has to be part of the solution... It is the key to how we organise ourselves as Singapore and the key to our success.'

But Dr Neo was not to be put off. Her parting remark: 'I'm very encouraged when minister said earlier that we are not short of resources. Therefore, I hope the minister will reconsider giving these resources we are not short of to these vulnerable groups that are really in need.'

To which he replied: 'I just want to reaffirm that we do allocate more resources for people who need more help.'

Dr Neo, who regularly gives voice in Parliament to the plight of the poor and most vulnerable, has previously had sharp exchanges with Dr Balakrishnan and Minister of State Yu-Foo Yee Shoon on issues including assistance to the poorest 20 per cent of households, and on increasing the allowances for those on the Public Assistance scheme.

JEREMY AU YONG

cass888

What talking you? Lily has always been consistent in her approach. Problem is that you people don't follow all the while but notice only during election time.

cooleo

>>Dr Balakrishnan noted that he and Dr Neo actually agree that children in vulnerable families need more help. Where they differed, he said, was in the solution.

He stressed that the Government's position has been to avoid a 'permanent, unconditional, needs-based social safety net'. The Government, he added should form the last line of defence, not the first.<<

Dr Halfbreed Bala really a piece of work. Last line of defence? After your body rot liao, they help bury you is it? :rolleyes:

moolightaffairs

>>Dr Balakrishnan noted that he and Dr Neo actually agree that children in vulnerable families need more help. Where they differed, he said, was in the solution.

He stressed that the Government's position has been to avoid a 'permanent, unconditional, needs-based social safety net'. The Government, he added should form the last line of defence, not the first.<<

Dr Halfbreed Bala really a piece of work. Last line of defence? After your body rot liao, they help bury you is it? :rolleyes:

i think thats what he mean... rot liao go throw in to incinerator to generate electricity. still useful.

... 'Does he see that the many assistance schemes he mentioned earlier are not addressing this vulnerable group's predicaments? Does he believe in the opportunity of levelling up and the chance of social mobility?' ...
wtf! ...

soln cannot solve prob n not doing anyting about it! ... :mad:

obviously dat burger is clueless, overpaid n incompetent ... :mad:

Lily Neo is the best!!

In my opinion, if we have more PAP MPs like her, we don't need any Opposition MPs.

Too bad there is only one Lily Neo and she is not my MP. Some more she so chio!!

:biggrin::biggrin:

cooleo

Lily Neo is the best!!

In my opinion, if we have more PAP MPs like her, we don't need any Opposition MPs.

Too bad there is only one Lily Neo and she is not my MP. Some more she so chio!!

Lily_Neo.jpg

MP Dr. Lily Neo's Message to Kagoshima Prefecture Government 2009

I would like to express our deepest appreciation to the Kagoshima Prefecture Government for the warm invitation to participate in the Kagoshima Prefecture Arts & Cultural Exchange Program. I believe that this is an excellent opportunity not only for music and performing arts but also for bridging stronger and greater cultural ties between Singapore & Japan.

As the Member of Parliament for Kim Seng Constituency of the Jalan Besar GRC, I am indeed proud to be associated with the Kim Seng Wind Symphony. Performing a vital social bonding role, the members of the band have come from very diverse backgrounds all bound together by the love of music. I found it very rewarding to have supported them all these years and I am happy to continue supporting them as they progress on.

The band started off initially with only a few people sharing a common passion for music. It has persevered over the years and has now grown to be a truly symphonic band with a rich performing history. This band has done well to keep abreast of musical development in Singapore. Its rich repertoire that stretches from orchestra transcription to jazz as well as pop is highly commendable.

Once again, I would like to say thank to the Kagoshima Prefecture Government for the warm invitation to participate in the Kagoshima Prefecture Arts & Cultural Exchange Program.

Thank you very much.

Dr. Lily Neo
MP for Jalan Besar GRC

cass888

Lily Neo is the best!!

Not true. A lot of them are quite vocal on their pet issues, more so than the oppos, just that their pet issue is not your pet issue. Casino is obviously more of a pet peeve more among PAP MPs than the oppos.

Devil Within

Persistent disinformation of the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan. Check out Hansard before you talk so much.

Hey fucking retard, we all know you have a master, but not all of us are as spastic as you.

Char_Azn

What talking you? Lily has always been consistent in her approach. Problem is that you people don't follow all the while but notice only during election time.

Most anti-PAP supporters just have selective memory and just like to blast anyone from PAP just for the sake of it not realizing that many in here including opposition supporters are acknowledges her contributions to the public especially the poorer community. All he had to do was google and know that this woman doesn't just come out once every 5 years

Lily Neo treats the elderly in her ward like her grandma

Dr Lily Neo speaks out vociferously over aid for poorest households

MP Lily Neo to donate increase in MP allowance

Dr Neo gets to grips with school bullying

cass888

Hey fucking retard, we all know you have a master, but not all of us are as spastic as you.

Hey you fuckhead, stop speaking without facts or basis, like your dog master, the dog himself the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan.

cass888

Most anti-PAP supporters just have selective memory and just like to blast anyone from PAP just for the sake of it not realizing that many in here including opposition supporters are acknowledges her contributions to the public especially the poorer community. All he had to do was google and know that this woman doesn't just come out once every 5 years

The problem with most of these fuckheads is that somehow they think that life dealt them a bad hand and refuse to make the best of it.

Devil Within

Hey you fuckhead, stop speaking without facts or basis, like your dog master, the dog himself the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan.

Hey you fucking retard, carrying your master's balls and licking your master's cunt is all you do all day long? Just because you are fucking retarded who need a master doesn't mean other's will have a master as well.

cass888

Hey you fucking retard, carrying your master's balls and licking your master's cunt is all you do all day long? Just because you are fucking retarded who need a master doesn't mean other's will have a master as well.

Well, all of your fuckheads suck up to the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan even in the face of cold hard facts presented to you. :oIo:

Devil Within

Well, all of your fuckheads suck up to the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan even in the face of cold hard facts presented to you. :oIo:

I am my own master unlike the likes of you fucking retards who want to submit yourself to suck and kiss your master's balls and cunts. LOL!....

vamjok

All for wayang lah. If not for the coming election, I'm sure she'll get the party whip.

i am one of those super anti pappies in this forum. but i disagree with you on this. if you were to look through all the things she said over the last 5 years, you would know she is not wayanging.

i remember 3 years back, the same chee bye ah neh mentioned that our current policy is more than enough to support the lower income groups (as usual same as today what's new), she du lan straight away stand up and wave her hands request to speak. straight away she demand statistic from the ah neh to prove what he said. to the extend i still remember her shooting the ah neh if the current policy was working, how come she has so many files of cases of poor family having problem paying for bills and sending their kids to school in her ward.

when i saw on paper and read what she did, i was wondering she want to quit pap already is it. that was when i start noticing her and i realised she was very consistent in her stands. when i go on and research what other stuff she did, she really gain my respect. if i am not wrong she provide free medical services to the poor in her ward. this is the kind of people we need in the parliament. but sadly most of the idiots in pappies are fucking useless and are only active during the election period

cooleo

i am one of those super anti pappies in this forum. but i disagree with you on this. if you were to look through all the things she said over the last 5 years, you would know she is not wayanging.

i remember 3 years back, the same chee bye ah neh mentioned that our current policy is more than enough to support the lower income groups (as usual same as today what's new), she du lan straight away stand up and wave her hands request to speak. straight away she demand statistic from the ah neh to prove what he said. to the extend i still remember her shooting the ah neh if the current policy was working, how come she has so many files of cases of poor family having problem paying for bills and sending their kids to school in her ward.

Dr Lily Neo: Sir, I want to check with the Minister again on the strict criteria on the entitlement for PA recipients. May I ask him what is his definition of "subsistence living"? Am I correct to say that, out of $260 per month for PA recipients, $100 goes to rental, power supply and S&C, and leaving them with only $5 a day to live on? Am I correct to say that any basic meal in any hawker centre is already $2.50 to $3.00 per meal? Therefore, is it too much to ask for just three meals a day as an entitlement for the PA recipients?

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan: How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?

Dr Lily Neo: It is cheaper to cook for one person.

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan:
It is cheaper to cook for one person. The point I was trying to make is that every family will have different needs and preferences. I am not by any stretch of the imagination claiming that what we are offering as public assistance is a generous package. I am not saying that. But what I am saying is that it is enough, by and large, for most families to get by and, for those who have needs over and beyond that, there are other means to do so. If every one was starving on this amount that we are giving and is totally devoid of any other sources of help, Pelangi Home would be overcrowded, and I would be building many, many more Pelangi Homes. So, in the end, the proof of the pudding is in the eating. Yes, any one of us, if we search hard enough, may be able to find a family or people who need additional help. But I would also say that any one of us, if we really put our minds to it, is capable of finding those additional sources of help. What I am designing is a system in which public assistance can and should be complemented by other sources of help. I think we can continue arguing this and we can continue finetuning the exact amount that is needed. But let us just bear in mind the fact that the system is set up with a certain amount of tension, and it is a healthy tension.

In fact, I cannot resist saying that I am very disappointed that in the whole debate on MCYS, the Opposition MPs have not participated in this, and I have actually faced real probing questions more from the PAP MPs and the Nominated MPs. Perhaps, they totally agree with my policies, philosophy and programmes.