• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

StanChart's CEO gives up UK citizenship, gets Sinkie one. What an idiot!

I think its time to short the shares of this company. This CEO is mentally unstable. Must be nice, collect big fat paycheck, no need to do NS or reservist, everyone treat u like a VIP, maybe I will swap my citizenship too. An its really nice of shit times to highlight all these angmos who give up their citizenships. i dun see them highlight prominent sinkies who have given up their citizenhips. i am sure there are many more of them. By the way, why couldn't this CEO have just taken PR?

BRITISH bank Standard Chartered's top man in Singapore, Mr Ray Ferguson, is now a Singapore citizen.

The 47-year-old, who is the lender's regional chief executive officer (CEO) for Singapore and South-east Asia, took up Singaporean citizenship late last month along with his wife Clare.

Giving up his British passport was not the easiest decision, but as Mr Ferguson said on Sunday: Singapore is now his home.

'My decision to become a citizen is a commitment to Singapore, which has been home for a long time for me and my family,' he said in an e-mail reply to queries from The Straits Times.

Mr Ferguson has lived in Asia for more than 15 years, six of which were spent in Singapore.

He now lives in Singapore with his wife and their four sons.

I think better let go of any banking stocks I have. Looks like banking execs are more retarded than I assumed.

Anything to do with Temasek Holdings holding the biggest chunk of Standard Chartered shares now? Converting to Singapore citizenship may come with privileges.

So u are saying this Brit CEO is a better Por lumpar than even the apunehs out there like Iswaran and what not? Quite possible. How else better than to impress and carry Whore Jinx's balls.

Given all his options available, S'pore must have offered him THE best deal in becoming a citizen here. This chap could have gone all over the world welcomed by all governments with open arms and he chose S'pore. Absolutely no doubt he will be a 'protected' breed here.

I suspect that Mr Ray Ferguson has very low I.Q.,even he may have some fancy degrees fr E U Universities.

Funny thing is that he does not appear to have a fairly attractive,sexy Spore wife.

So,either
(1)It is political
(2)He is very stupid
(3)He hides a sexy Chinese,Malay,Indian,thai or Pinas G.F in Singapore
(4)He is of very high standard for an ordinary guy like me to understand,he is fr another planet.

I suspect that Mr Ray Ferguson hass very low I.Q.,even he may have some fancy degrees fr E U Universities.

Funny thing is that he does not appaer to have a fairly attractive,sexy Spoer wife.

So,either
(1)It is political
(2)He is very stupid

Bro, he can't be a chap with low IQ to arrive at where he is today. He's with Stanchart not any of our govt departments or ministries whereby less intelligent chaps have progressed to high office. Private sector survival is REAL survival compared to 'reel' survival in govt.

He may not have a fairly attractive and sexy spouse now. But after he chiong our nightclubs, he may well end up with a chio bu - from China not S'pore.

They made him an offer, he could not refuse. Four sons, future 'members' ?...will they do National Service???;)

OK,agree,low IQ is out,so if he is not a fucker,he is doing it for political reason.

An Ang Moh who has NO soul!

God bless him

Thank you.

'Why I became a Singaporean'
Standard Chartered regional chief Ray Ferguson recently gave up his British passport - here's why
by Paul Gilfeather 05:55 AM Nov 08, 2010Standard Chartered Bank boss Ray Ferguson is sitting in his office overlooking Boat Quay, flicking rather excitedly through the blank pages of his brand new Singapore passport.

You would have thought having been a Singapore citizen for just two weeks, he would still be a little unfamiliar with his new nationality.

I recognise his accent and ask him if he's a Scot, expecting him to confirm. "I certainly used to be," he replies. There are no flies on this former Brit, Standard Chartered's chief executive for South-east Asia and in Singapore.

If anyone deserves a permanent base it is Mr Ferguson and his family. His work developing the British-based bank's business has taken him literally all over the world.

He has been a nomad in a pin-striped suit, revelling in the amazing experiences banking life has thrown at him.

But sometime during that 25-year "adventure", which included six different postings around the world, Singapore captured his heart.

It certainly wasn't during his first three-year stint here in the mid-'90s. And, interestingly, his decision to put down roots in Singapore was hatched before he moved his family here for the second time in 2007.

His love of the Republic seems to be born out of huge admiration for what Singapore has achieved in recent times, both as an economic powerhouse and as the near-perfect family environment.

Two of his four sons were born here and over the years, he has watched in amazement as many of the people he admires both personally and professionally have, one by one, gravitated to the area.

Speaking about his decision to surrender his British passport once and for all, Mr Ferguson told Today: "Five years ago I said, 'I will never work in the UK again. I will never live there again'.

"When you have been away for so long and disconnected from the place of your birth to such an extent, you just want to live somewhere you know you are going to be happy.

"My experience and the things I know, as well as their relative value, are all here in Singapore now."

TALENT MAGNET

It is refreshing to hear the 47-year-old high-flyer set out his reasons for severing ties with the country of his birth. He has clearly given the matter some thought, as you would expect.

Like many others, he hails the city's open, green spaces, low crime rate and world-class schools. But he is quick to stress that it is about much more than that.

Reaching hard to explain his thinking, he continued: "I've been moving around with no real roots since I began this adventure with Standard Chartered.

"My friends are all people who are on the international circuit and what is interesting is because Singapore has become such a talent magnet and international headquarters for senior people, a lot of my friends have ended up here.

"It's rather glib to just call it globalisation because there are so many more layers to it than that."

It soon becomes apparent why Singapore is the perfect environment for Mr Ferguson. "If you go back to 1994, when I was last here, I would not have thought that this is where I would end up.

"But Singapore has come on such a long, long way. It's the easiest place in the world to do business and it is the most popular place in the world for foreigners to settle in Asia.

"In addition to that, the economic outlook for the Asian economies looks very promising and Singapore has shown a very good ability to shape and adapt to forces in the world and succeed."

Mr Ferguson talks fondly about his time working for the bank in Taiwan, where he learned Mandarin, Indonesia and the Philippines. These experiences all helped him and his Manchester-born wife Clare arrive at the decision to become citizens of Singapore.

"You start to shape your thoughts around the question, 'where is it going to be'. If you are looking at the world today, it's all happening in Asia. And we have spent the last 25 years getting experience living and working in Asia.

"I have lived in many cities in the UK and around Asia, and Singapore is the best."

With so many expats reluctant to take full citizenship because of the Republic's immovable position on not allowing dual nationality, Mr Ferguson is still something of a rarity.

But the fact that he has lived and worked in so many different countries is a testament to Singapore's growing status as one of the best places on the planet to live and work.

Heading up the regional operations for one of the world's leading banks clearly has Mr Ferguson moving in some pretty impressive circles.

There are photographs in his office of him shaking hands with former United States President Bill Clinton. Mr Ferguson also previously headed the bank's operations in New York and Dubai.

FAMILY'S TIES HERE

It was when his bosses told him he would be returning to Singapore as chief executive for South-east Asia, that his long-term plans began to come together.

"I was very comfortable with coming back to Singapore, so within the first days of getting off the plane I became a permanent resident. And as soon as the minimum waiting period for PR was out of the way I went for citizenship."

He added: "It took about seven months to get to the point where I was heading up to the British High Commission, taking a queue number and then walking up to the counter and saying, 'I want to renounce my nationality please'."

Mr Ferguson admits his family's close ties with Singapore made the decision easier.

His youngest son Blair, eight, was born here, as was 14-year-old Ewan. His eldest sons Alisdair, 17, and Calum, 16, were both born in the UK but moved to Singapore within a matter of months.

The three oldest boys are all members of the Singapore Cricket Club and travel extensively with the team.

Getting down to the more practical reasons for adopting Singapore as his home, Mr Ferguson went on: "One of the great things you get about Singapore is the weather. When you contrast it to Scotland today, for instance, it's a pretty fair trade-off that most people would make.

"We do a lot of outdoor stuff with the family, we do a lot sailing. I love being by the water. I have a small sailing boat and that's all year round."

Finally, Mr Ferguson has been moved by the reaction of his Singaporean friends to the move.

"My diary is packed with celebratory meals with Singaporean friends who want to mark the event. People are very patriotic about it. I have been sent lots of gifts and cards and I had not bargained for that.

"I thought people would quietly say 'well done' but clearly it means a lot to people and I am very pleased about that."

Wait until his 4 sons have to do NS followed by decades of reservists, than u see whether he wants to swap passports again.

I dun know where are these open green spaces he talks about. All I see are high rise buildings, and HDB flats everywhere. Unless u consider an occasional football field an open space. i would think there are much more green and open spaces in the country of his birth, in particular, Scotland. Anyway, all these Scots are a little wierd.

Wait until his 4 sons have to do NS followed by decades of reservists, than u see whether he wants to swap passports again.

All his scots ancestors must turning in their graves..& all the Scots that had worked for Standard Chartered Bank before him...:p

"where he learned Mandarin, Indonesia and the Philippines"

"Only 47 and already 4 sons"

Now,I am more inclined to think that he hides three sexy girls,one Chinese,one Malay(Sammy bothers call brown)& pinas.

One or more could be from his bank,some of his staff should notice or suspect.

LUCKY MAN,Sammy shouild embrace him by an honbourable invitation.

They made him an offer, he could not refuse. Four sons, future 'members' ?...will they do National Service???;)

U wait until the 4 sons do NS, the wife will be screaming at him for throwing away his UK passport. For him, posting to singapore, he is treated like and lives like a king here. In the UK, he is a nobody. No surprise he wants to remain here permanently.

OK,agree,low IQ is out,so if he is not a fucker,he is doing it for political reason.

An Ang Moh who has NO soul!

God bless him

Thank you.

If he lives in an ang mo society, he does not get that level of attention compared to his position in S'pore. In most ang mo societies, they don't give you a damn even if you are rich. In S'pore, we are different. He will be wined and dined by our elites all the time. In a capsule, he gets the attention he wants that he won't get elsewhere. Maybe we should put him in Ang MO kio under PM's Teck Ghee.

here he has luxury company housing, chaffeur driven car, $4 million a year salary and bonus, maids, large expense accounts, membership to exclusive country clubs, everyone kowtow to him, etc. In the UK, he is a nobody. He is just a propaganda stooge for the PAP.

:D
All his scots ancestors must turning in their graves..& all the Scots that had worked for Standard Chartered Bank before him...:p

Yeah, they have a phrase for that. Its known as "going local":D