• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

History of sam's alfresco forum -- delphi to vbulletin

A few nicks i remember like injunction for eg pretty hated in the early days. Then there was wisely007, benny and many many more.

Of course there was me also but i wasn't really active in the early days.

kingrant

Thanks to TFBH for his history archives! And also for other bros adding to it. They are invaluable gems for latecomers like me.

I am def a Johnny come lately, and have met my share of trolls and disruptive elements, and ticked a few off. Overall, I have enjoyed the banter and nonsense and some serious stuff. After a while, you get to know the wheat from the chaff.

SneeringTree

JW5,

Sorry if I mistook you. Your method of probing forummers to reveal information led me, over time, to believe you were a reporter.

It was an honest mistake :eek:

I am almost certain TraceyTan866 was Sumiko Tan from the Braddell Brothel. But don't ask me for proof, it is a gut feeling. My only circumstantial evidence is that after I kept asking her if she's Sumiko Tan, she disappeared from the forum completely, quite suddenly too.

blueblobster

QXP - The Enigma

QXP has always been the Enigma of the old sammyboy forum.

Rabidly anti-PAP and anti-WP, he would keep repeating the same shit over and over again ... degenerate scum, beguiling wayang actress.

He would archive all the posting of forummers he dislikes into one special thread containing literally a few thousand posts, which was later deleted by Samleong.

QXP, also known in real life as Bin Hee Heng, was outed when he was arrested for chaining a bicycle chain to toa payoh library door. He was fined $1000.

The QXP-BHH link was established when both were found to possess deep knowledge of land strata title issues. BHH wrote regularly to straits times, and QXP wrote regularly in SBF concerning it.

After Bin Hee Heng was exposed as the bicycle chain man, he left the forum and was never to be seen or heard off again.

Thanks for this info. I've always wondered what happened to QXP. Quite a character.

Qantas

Then there is the sophisticated postings of Mr Thinkall asking samters to wear black at Centrepoint to protest the implementation of CPF Life. I do miss his educated educated postings. Hope he turns up to enlighten us further.

1. 1999 Sam launches SBF
  2. Forum becomes a hit for politics as no one believes that the Govt will associate with sister site to a Porn site
  3. Emigration folder begins to blossom as migration agents and advertisment on migration are banned
  4. Setting business and getting into business is favourite topic in emigration folder
  5. General Chit Chat, Politics and Emigration rules the day
  6. Inside info begin to emerge
  7. Local press start carrying articles that first appeared in SBF
  8. The press begins crediting SBF for the scoop
  9. SPH interviews Sam but upsets Sam with final report
  10. Eric Ellis does his article with Sam traced to a car dealership in Auckland
  11. Strong characters appear in SBF - good, bad and the ugly
  12. Sam pleads with forummers to stop posting Porn stuff as Walt gets complaints
  13. First sign of partisan politics appear
  14. Madcow becomes GMS and gets into major scuffle with a forummer over Catherine Lim over allegations of cowardice. Perspective provides supporting fire
  15. Anti WP begin to surface
  16. Lamei begins cockteasing Ramseth, Kaixin wants to feel the boobs of Bob's Perth friend
  17. F4 friendship blooms
  18. WP comes under intense attack.
  19. Time flies and we reach GE 2006. SBF becomes superheated.
  20. High brow political analysis and commentary balanced with Wayang Party taunts from SDP supporters led by the man from Iceland
Part 2
  1. GE2006 ends and new phase begins
  2. F4 acrimonious split begin with Ramseth setting fire and stoking it
  3. Bob reveals identities
  4. F4 sign up with Delphi and begin reign of terror led by the Lord, the Queen and the Knight with Blue Sotong lying low
  5. Bob goes crazy
  6. Banning begins in earnest when Kojak puts Lamei's picture up
  7. Robox enters and interracial war begins
  8. Robox begins second front on banning
  9. Robox attempts to close SBF on racial discrimination grounds
  10. Sam plans move as Walt responds to paying members (F4) by accommodating banning requests
  11. QXP identity revealed about bike incident
  12. 2nd round of banning begins
  13. Sam gets fed up with Robox 2nd attempt to close SBF by baiting.
  14. Sam moves to VBulletin
  15. F4 loses power over banning. F4 less prominent and finally disappear
  16. Bob appears with vengence after being banned by Otak and Kopitiam
  17. Bob begins trashing political folder
  18. shockshit/Aussie Prick singlehandedly destroy Emigration folder
  19. Moderation surfaces and seem to work temporarily
  20. OA appears and infractions take up space in New Postings
  21. Sam reduces power to control runaway infractions
  22. Things such as emigration, starting businesses, political commentary,discussions on social issues which were mainstays disappear
  23. Slow death begins

Kid278

history of sammyboy started with webcom...then dephi...then now vbulletin...:wink:

Ya, in the late 90s, 98 or 99 I think. I use to surf 'the geylang scene' forum as a guest and only start participating in 2001. This forum had mostly bonkers like myself.

The traffic was pretty high and Sam was having problem with Delphi host. After a while Sam was forced to close it down calling it a victim of its own success. If memory serve the date was 28.11.01.

A few days later he started the current vbulletin 'Asian values forum'. I juggled both sides, Delphi and vbulletin but still mainly in the vbulletin 'geylang scene forum' till 2004 when I have to leave for overseas, the rest was history.

I see a lot of fun and like Sam's attitude on freedom. War of words, trolls whatever, dont really bothers me very much. Sometimes I post, drop few lines when it's interesting, sometimes I kick ass and most times I just surf.

Lamei begins cockteasing Ramseth

Part 2

F4 acrimonious split begin with Ramseth setting fire and stoking it

Lamei and I were just chatting for fun. The contents of our chats harmed neither of us nor anybody else. The F4 part, I have nothing to do with it.

When there's arson, you look for the one who light the match, don't you? What has it got to do with the poor little match vendor?

Meltdown

23. Slow death begins

24. When SBF finally die of slow death and buried for good, the ultimate winner will the PAP as the platform of free speech has finally ended. :biggrin:

25. With the benefit of hindsight: Sinkies realized that they only have themselves to blame for engaging in personal attacks & unnecessary infractions against each other which finally led to the death of SBF for good. :rolleyes:

26. PAP continues to run Singapore Inc. :biggrin:

27. More and more sinkies are committing suicides as they no longer have an outlet to vent their anger & frustration. :eek: Jumping into MRT tracks and from HDB blocks have become so common that the media don't even bother to report them.

middaydog

anybody here came across or came from ICERED from early 2000

they were not so political heavy but forummers there seemed to be mature and knowledgable

None. Even Sam and Scroobal won't be able to reverse this slow death.

Every two years, the Sports Section would trailblaze with World Cup or Euro / Olympics. Every four to five years, the Coffee Shop would blow up with electoral nukes. Interim, just hope for some scandals, some VIPs to drop dead, some ships to sink or some airplanes to crash.

Perspective

None. Even Sam and Scroobal won't be able to reverse this slow death.

There's no such thing as "death" of a forum. There will always been nicks hanging around any forum. The guys here think that any spat means the forum is dead.

In reality, forums are about squabbles. There is no forum that doesn't see people spit on one another. Look around 3in1, fuckwarezone etc. There is no forum that makes up of well behaved people.

Sammyboy is the best proof that forums will never die. It has underwent the worse incidents and the only one where these spiralled to real life, but is still around. Yet ironically its members think it is dying.

You guys are taking it too seriously. I post here mainly to kill boredom. Once I get a transfer (I mean my workplace), the boredom periods are going to be less.

Kid278

Anyway to "reverse" this slow death?

Dont worry too much about slow death or even death. So long as freedom prevails, it's not going to happen unless Sam decides to call it a day. It's a forum trend, traffics goes up and down, it happens all the time, all along.

FUCK SDP

1. Lamei begins cockteasing Ramseth, Kaixin wants to feel the boobs of Bob's Perth friend
  2. F4 friendship blooms
Part 2

[*]F4 sign up with Delphi and begin reign of terror led by the Lord, the Queen and the Knight with Blue Sotong lying low

[/LIST]

Fair that the main characters were mention here, wonder why TS deliberately left them out?:rolleyes:

There's no such thing as "death" of a forum. There will always been nicks hanging around any forum. The guys here think that any spat means the forum is dead.

I have seen forums whither and die out due to low traffic. And it's never pretty. Squabbles can lead to a forum's downfall. That's why antisocial pests like Leetahbar and Tonychat must be isolated.

Tonychat has been released from the OA. Good for him too since he's been totally ignored in 3in1 nobody wants to go there and chat with him.

Who let the dogs out?

Perspective

Forums with low traffic die out. Forums with trash never die out. There's a difference between low traffic and trash.

In fact, many forums with low traffic were the most decent and courteous. Ironically it was because of its small numbers that people had no spat opponents. So I'd say it's the opposite - trashing is a sign of growth, not death.