• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why would anyone join USD

It makes sense to run a proxy because of the bankruptcy issue. Everyone appears to know that. Nothing to speculate. Except maybe your friend and you.

chee anticipates the dire situation of a SDP wound up. then u ask again: what's the purpose of chee usurp SDP fr chiam just to lead it to be wound up? and what's this about another standby proxy opp party USD created by a partyless pantyless who's active in SDP's activity but never admit herself into SDP as a member?

this is all very scheming and cunning behaviour. and these are the people we are suppose to trust and vote them into parleement?

Thick Face Black Heart

Actually I have always thought that is the whole story. But what is the real whole story?

Everyone and his dog, horse, cat and rabbit knows that USD serves as a backup for SDP in case the dictatorial Lee family winds the latter up.

But do you seriously think SDP leadership will go to the trouble of forming a new party and then leave it lying around idle?

Look at the ST article posted by the other forummer, and see who are the prominent members of the USD party. What are their political histories and backgrounds? That should give you a clue as to the other purposes of USD.

Thick Face Black Heart

Sorry but I think there is a lot of unwarranted speculation about USD that is a total waste of time IMO. I not even sure why pple so fascinated by it. New party so? ROS is very lenient about forming new party, so long as got 10 names can.

Just leave them alone, as long as they contribute to opposition society, we shld be grateful to them. A lot of harassment of new politician by all these speculators frankly speaking is quite unwarranted. Let pple do their thing and just support them, that is enough from us.

Royal Canine Feline,

You sounds like you are even more clueless than your senior friend!

When a party gets registered and the members refuse to give any press release, can you blame the man on the street for speculation? You'd think the party kept silent precisely in order to let speculation run rampant, so as to avoid addressing the real truth!

Anyway, all that is beside the point.

As I told forummer pespective, look at the names of the most prominent members in USD and look at their political background. Do a google search if you have to. I can teach you how, in case you don't know. Tell me what you notice and what you deduce.

Come on it isn't rocket science.

Then I suspect that he will not run at all. TKL is an intelligent person and it makes no sense to be associated with USD. There is no common cause, purpose, philosophy etc . He freely associates with all those who oppose the PAP in this phase of his life and SDP/USD are less proscribed in their internal politics than other parties. Its no different to Uncle Yap despite not being a party member is seen often with SDP.

As to Monica, there are 2 broad interest groups in SDP and I suspect its the same with most parties. The idealist and those who calculate every move against their own personal agenda.The fact that she is now the nominal head of USD is telling. Those who have been in local politics can tell what camp she is from.

In life, one has to take stock every few years and rationalise their associations in any outfit.

In one interview in the Chinese papers, TKL said that if he were ever to run for GE, independent is out. Anyway what I heard is inside news. Apparently, he and another doctor chap is trying to "snatch" the "turfs" of the party which had people/leaders helping him at SC during the Lehman saga. At that point, some USD presence was detected. So you're right about this person where his integrity is concern. The doctor chap ironically stood under that party once.

Remember what "cleareyes" mentioned?

Why sorry for Monica? What makes her different from the other USD chaps?

Anyway what is still unknown is the relation between SDP and USD. That would determine a lot of things.

Perspective

Everyone and his dog, horse, cat and rabbit knows that USD serves as a backup for SDP in case the dictatorial Lee family winds the latter up.

That, yes, unfortunately PAP has no habit of winding up political parties and I think it will be the same in near future. If it happens to SDP, it will be the first.

But do you seriously think SDP leadership will go to the trouble of forming a new party and then leave it lying around idle?

Of course not. USD serves as a bargaining chip to "chope" seats and wards at the opposition meeting as well as to showcase "opposition unity" - ie that there are at least 2 parties working with each other.

Look at the ST article posted by the other forummer, and see who are the prominent members of the USD party. What are their political histories and backgrounds? That should give you a clue as to the other purposes of USD.

Nothing different from SDP people.

Perspective

Then I suspect that he will not run at all. TKL is an intelligent person and it makes no sense to be associated with USD. There is no common cause, purpose, philosophy etc . He freely associates with all those who oppose the PAP in this phase of his life and SDP/USD are less proscribed in their internal politics than other parties. Its no different to Uncle Yap despite not being a party member is seen often with SDP.

The intention of USD might have been to be a proxy of SDP, but there are people in the circle who are against what they see as the non confrontational approaches and dominance of the parliamentary parties yet are against CSJ's approach and association in public, but do not mind hanging around him in private, who now find USD serving their purpose.

There is a chance that having too many of them on board might cause USD to "split" from SDP. As USD is an engineered split of SDP (which PAP said they wanted to do before), the demarcations are permanently drawn.

Royal Canin Feline 32

I regretted starting this thread now.

All this silly speculation will lead to nowhere. Why can't pple in this thread like yourself or perspective leave USD in peace and just support all opposition?

Frankly pple will reveal more when the time is ripe. There is no need to brag how much u know. Very stupid and pointless actually.

And some people here talk like they know insider info.

Is there a need to do this? What purpose does it serve.

Now I regret starting a thread that is hijack by these people.

Perspective

I regretted starting this thread now.
All this silly speculation will lead to nowhere. Why can't pple in this thread like yourself or perspective leave USD in peace and just support all opposition?

Yes think before you <s>talk</s> write next time.

You certainly didn't when you told your friend not to join SDP USD but NSP SDA WP etc.

Thick Face Black Heart

Of course not. USD serves as a bargaining chip to "chope" seats and wards at the opposition meeting as well as to showcase "opposition unity" - ie that there are at least 2 parties working with each other.

If SDP wants to chope seats they can haul their candidates to the bargaining table themselves. Why should they do it under the auspices of a separate political entity?

Besides, I think the attitude amongst opposition groups should not be about who gets to chope which GRC/SMC, or who is invading whose territory. The party with more numbers should naturally get a greater say in things, since politics ultimately is a numbers game.

Furthermore, opposition groups should take a larger perspective and view the bargaining table as a chance to trash out their differences in a mature manner.

Thick Face Black Heart

Frankly pple will reveal more when the time is ripe. There is no need to brag how much u know. Very stupid and pointless actually.

Royal Canine Feline,

You start a new thread out of the blue about USD, throw a general cloud, invite people to respond, and then claim others are hijacking your thread? That seems the ultimate in silliness to me. Are you new to the internet or something???

Since you are obviously as clueless as your senior friend, I'll do you a favour and point you in the direction to look at.

Tell me what is the lifeblood of SDP. Is it:

(a) Contesting elections?
(b) Developing an international presence through organizations like CALD, LI, TI, etc?

Answer this and you get a bone :smile:

Thick Face Black Heart

Then I suspect that he will not run at all. TKL is an intelligent person and it makes no sense to be associated with USD. There is no common cause, purpose, philosophy etc .

Tan Kin Lian's political positioning is in fact excellent. He has struck the right chord. The minibond saga was perfectly executed, though a bit of a pity there was no follow through at the end.

Standing under an SDP or USD banner would only hurt that positioning. If he does that, I would be gravely disappointed with him.

cleareyes

He say all of them old people (like him), won't listen to him anymore. He says USD all young people, will listen to him.

I told him, my friend, u are a political dreamer.

*SIGhz*

I dont think your friend is a dreamer, more like someone who is too full about themselvs and think he know better when the situation is not within his control.

Seriously advice your friend or else, more misery coming his way.

He is a smart cookie and certainly not naive. He was cadre for 30 odd years and was in the thick of things in Marine Parade and in NTUC.

My guess is that he won't run. I also think that he is more keen to consumer champion in the financial investment scheme similar to the old CASE.

Standing under an SDP or USD banner would only hurt that positioning. If he does that, I would be gravely disappointed with him.

Perspective

He is a smart cookie and certainly not naive. He was cadre for 30 odd years and was in the thick of things in Marine Parade and in NTUC.

My guess is that he won't run. I also think that he is more keen to consumer champion in the financial investment scheme similar to the old CASE.

I thought that he won't run despite all the ruckus. Until he appeared inviting opposition party leaders recently.

methink

This Tan Kin Lian will surely run in the coming elections. If he were to contest together with likes of Kenneth Jeyaratnam, James Gomes, Mohd Jufrie, etc in the same GRC team, it will be a real winner.

Dun forget he is also qualified to run in next year's Presidential Election. He is the hot favourite to beat any puppet put up by the pappies.

My money is on him to run.

His case is unique. He benefited immensely from the PAP and he was part of the PAP cadre system for his entire life until his retirement. He has nothing at stake compared to many singaporeans. His personal career, salary and bonus came from an unfair system.

Here are some examples
- NTUC insurance agents were freely selling policies in army camps and many were civil servants.
- NTUC cabs and unions had only one place to go for insurance
- CPF schemes assured NTUC a place in the sun.

Its not that he walked away from it. He sat there for practically a free lunch, cleaned the plate to a polish and left complimenting the chef. So is he now telling people that he will ensure that no exploits free lunch like he did. How about returning all his bonuses or revealing the how the cadre system works. He has not revealed anything to anyone. I bet you no one can tell what he has revealed which has value.

I can assure you all that he has raised are issues that are not political in nature. I know that the PAP will bring all guns to bear if he stands for elections.

Most people can't tell the difference between minibond/dbs and politics.

This Tan Kin Lian will surely run in the coming elections. If he were to contest together with likes of Kenneth Jeyaratnam, James Gomes, Mohd Jufrie, etc in the same GRC team, it will be a real winner.

Dun forget he is also qualified to run in next year's Presidential Election. He is the hot favourite to beat any puppet put up by the pappies.

My money is on him to run.

Royal Canin Feline 32

Tell me what is the lifeblood of SDP. Is it:

(a) Contesting elections?
(b) Developing an international presence through organizations like CALD, LI, TI, etc?

Am not sure what u r trying to get at, since it appears u belong to those category of pple who think they know a lot of stuff behind d scenes.

anyway SDP is political party, of course is about elections. what is ur point anyway?