• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why would anyone join USD

Royal Canin Feline 32

Why would anyone want to join the United Singapore Democrats (USD)?

And I say this with all the love in my heart, for a friend of mine who express interest in USD.

He say USD is a breath of fresh air, unlike Chee Soon Juan too confrontational, USD is made up of young and sincere people, he want to join USD to make his mark there.

I was like ... *SLAP FOREHEAD*

I told him, you want to join USD, you may as well join SDP, if u are agreeable to SDP political views and philosophy including civil disobedience.

He said USD is made up of different people, Monica Kumar, Jaslyn Go, Chong kai xiong, he say these are new people, better than CSJ, he can help to groom these people for election.

I told him ... dun dream, my dear friend, USD is not what you think. USD is just a shell party for SDP members to stand for election in case SDP is wound up due to bankruptcy.

And I told him, with all the love in my heart, I respect and love u as a friend, but u are politically naive, u still don't know many things.

I told him, don't waste time building sandcastle in air, go join NSP SDA WP etc.

He say all of them old people (like him), won't listen to him anymore. He says USD all young people, will listen to him.

I told him, my friend, u are a political dreamer.

*SIGhz*

And that is the latest news from Royal Canin Feline 32, the complete and balanced nutrition for your cat.

Royal Canin Feline 32

THE STRAITS TIMES
Apr 1, 2010
New political party formed
By Sue-Ann Chia

A NEW political party – the United Singapore Democrats (USD) – has just been registered last week.
At least four of its leaders have links to the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP), with one of them contesting the 2006 General Election as part of the SDP’s six-man team in Sembawang GRC.
The Straits Times understands that Ms Narayanasamy Gogelavany, who stood as an SDP candidate, is the president of the new USD.
The party’s secretary is Ms Jaslyn Go, who regularly attends SDP events and represented it at an overseas conference last November.
The other two USD party members with SDP ties are: Mr Muhd Shamin, who is a member of SDP’s youth wing and began a three-month internship in the European Parliament in January; and Mr Chong Kai Xiong, who was involved in SDP-led events such as the Tak Boleh Tahan protests against rising living costs two years ago.
The formation of the new political party was published in the Government Gazette yesterday.
The party’s date of registration was March 25. Its business address is a condominium in Telok Kurau.
There were no other details available, but sources say the authorities approved the registration for the new party three months after its application was sent in January.
The application came with 10 names. These belong to the founding leaders and members of the new party, as the law requires at least 10 people to form a society or political party.
Some other names, sources say, include Sophia Tan, Palay Kulandaivelu and Zeng Rui Qing.
When contacted last night, Ms Go declined comment, requesting more time for the party to craft a reply. Hence, it is still unclear what the political party stands for, its links with the SDP, and whether party members intend to contest the next general election due by February 2012.
But some political observers were not surprised by the setting up of the USD.
The SDP faces the prospect of being wound up if it does not pay the legal damages from a defamation suit brought against it in 2006 by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew.
They sued following articles in the party’s newsletter comparing the Government with the National Kidney Foundation led by Mr T. T. Durai.
If it happens, observers note SDP members can switch to the USD as a vehicle to contest the polls. – ST

Thick Face Black Heart

Just out of curiosity: Who is your friend, if you may please share? Your description of him makes him sound like someone who has been involved in politics previously.

Why would anyone want to join the United Singapore Democrats (USD)?

And I say this with all the love in my heart, for a friend of mine who express interest in USD..

fivestars

Team work is not mean all the old uncle and aunt shall listen to young people who train by Human Right School. If we do that, it is no different from KY who tell you he know better than you.

Team work will look at the voters interest. Some act ugly face, some act nice man face, some act friendly face and some act leadership face. If voters reject us, we must reconsider the steps. Politician jobs is please the voters and educated them not to harm the country. Provide a good service to them.

Different view is not a problem. The problem is a trouble maker are not welcome to any party. Party harmony are the key of success.

Royal Canin Feline 32

Just out of curiosity: Who is your friend, if you may please share? Your description of him makes him sound like someone who has been involved in politics previously.

I can't reveal his name.

I juz want to share his case quite sad, he is a senior man, supposed to have seen a lot, yet quite naive in a lot of thing.

Politics is dirty, if he get involve again at this age he will be makan by opportunists. I think my that dear fren of mine should enjoy his golden years in peace and leave politics to the younger generation.

Same goes for chiam see tong. And in 5 years time, maybe same goes for low thia khiang too.

Chang Jiang Hou Lang Tui Qian Lang, mah!

Thick Face Black Heart

I can't reveal his name.

Then maybe you shouldn't have written about this friend of yours. Your post makes him look quite bad.

USD as you have said is a proxy party for SDP members in case the latter gets wound up. But I hope you know that is not the whole story.

Your friend must be very gullible and if I may add, not well read at all, if he thinks that USD is a bona fide political party in the true sense of the word. People who follow politics in Singapore I'm sure are aware that USD does not just serve one purpose.

fivestars

fivestars,

What if the trouble maker is the party chief himself?

What then??

It is too bad to hear that.

I am not in any party position to approve any new recruit. I can proposed a new party member but the approval is from party CEC.

SDP or USD members should join SJP and RP because they had similarity and common agenda but not WP and NSP. I believe many SDP members can join back SPP too.

Perspective

I can't reveal his name.

I juz want to share his case quite sad, he is a senior man, supposed to have seen a lot, yet quite naive in a lot of thing.

Politics is dirty, if he get involve again at this age he will be makan by opportunists. I think my that dear fren of mine should enjoy his golden years in peace and leave politics to the younger generation.

Same goes for chiam see tong. And in 5 years time, maybe same goes for low thia khiang too.

Chang Jiang Hou Lang Tui Qian Lang, mah!

Sorry but my guess is Tan Kin Lian. I may be wrong.

Royal Canin Feline 32

Your friend must be very gullible and if I may add, not well read at all, if he thinks that USD is a bona fide political party in the true sense of the word. People who follow politics in Singapore I'm sure are aware that USD does not just serve one purpose.

Sorry but I think there is a lot of unwarranted speculation about USD that is a total waste of time IMO. I not even sure why pple so fascinated by it. New party so? ROS is very lenient about forming new party, so long as got 10 names can.

Just leave them alone, as long as they contribute to opposition society, we shld be grateful to them. A lot of harassment of new politician by all these speculators frankly speaking is quite unwarranted. Let pple do their thing and just support them, that is enough from us.

Agree with you that the friend appears naive and gullible.

Then maybe you shouldn't have written about this friend of yours. Your post makes him look quite bad.

USD as you have said is a proxy party for SDP members in case the latter gets wound up. But I hope you know that is not the whole story.

I doubt it. He will run as an independent if he chooses to run. His network is good if he runs as an independent but that network is unlikely to come forward if he does it under USD.

By the way, not all the USD people participating in GE are doing so for the same reason. I just feel sorry for Monica.

Sorry but my guess is Tan Kin Lian. I may be wrong.

It makes sense to run a proxy because of the bankruptcy issue. Everyone appears to know that. Nothing to speculate. Except maybe your friend and you.

Sorry but I think there is a lot of unwarranted speculation about USD that is a total waste of time IMO. I not even sure why pple so fascinated by it. New party so? ROS is very lenient about forming new party, so long as got 10 names can.

why don't they call themselves democratic union of momma babies of singapore instead of naming after the united states dollar? :rolleyes:

Perspective

I doubt it. He will run as an independent if he chooses to run. His network is good if he runs as an independent but that network is unlikely to come forward if he does it under USD.

In one interview in the Chinese papers, TKL said that if he were ever to run for GE, independent is out. Anyway what I heard is inside news. Apparently, he and another doctor chap is trying to "snatch" the "turfs" of the party which had people/leaders helping him at SC during the Lehman saga. At that point, some USD presence was detected. So you're right about this person where his integrity is concern. The doctor chap ironically stood under that party once.

Remember what "cleareyes" mentioned?

By the way, not all the USD people participating in GE are doing so for the same reason. I just feel sorry for Monica.

Why sorry for Monica? What makes her different from the other USD chaps?

Anyway what is still unknown is the relation between SDP and USD. That would determine a lot of things.

his friend isn't gullible maybe a tad too horny n curious. the chief in USD is a troublemaker pantyless who always partyless in SDP. so what's the need of another new party when she could have been a full fledge SDP member?

if that's not hidden motive enough, then what is?