• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Trump hits Singapore with 10% Tarriffs

country by country,

This point I am in agreement with you. Seems he is going for a global Plaza Accord or Bretton Woods 2.0 kind of arrangement. US needs to save the Dollar. So it could be a local currency peg to USD agreement in order to access the big US market.

This I think will be difficult. You can see from the whole world's reaction to the tariffs. US has managed to piss off every ally to convince them to quickly join the new financial world order.

But president trump won't have much time because of domestic pressure. So he will U-turn soon

Actually if you do not need a customised building, assembly lines are quite easy to set up. Of course, if senior staff had not been retrenched, within 6 months is doable as they know the ins & outs well. Just pack from their lines in other part of the world & ship. That's what trump is looking at. Back to own country. Not exactly starting from zero. Then the downstream will also go together, metal stamping, plastic injections, rubber, PCBA....even carton boxes manufacturer Everyone Huat, jobs abundance.
You're oversimplifying.

Nope. I had seen it done in assembly lines. Metal stamping lagi easy process as well as plastic injection. Car assemblies all automated. GM in China 8mins one car. Of course all materials already ready for the robots. Even there were reports China copied the same manufacturing plant within a year. Intellectual property were lost.

Plastic injection and stamping is India/Bangladesh level of manufacturing

You cannot simply compare those with higher value manufacturing. Supply chain for the thousands of components for a laptop alone is complex to set up.

Plastic injection and stamping is India/Bangladesh level of manufacturing

You cannot simply compare those with higher value manufacturing. Supply chain for the thousands of components for a laptop alone is complex to set up.
Different consumer different level of handling. We are not going I to details one by one. We all know for sure it's not going to take so long. Definitely within Trump's term if all the companies cooperate. Bring jobs back plus mass manufacturing know how are what he is trying to achieve. China will have a hard time providing jobs for their billion people. USA might have a tough time filling up the vacancies. If you have gone in the 90s working like us, there were 2 stacks of classified ads for jobs on every Wed & Sat. So easy to get many job interviews & multiple offers to select. Not now after manufacturing industry left us.

Possibility of US reindustrialisation deserves its own thread. I just don't think it's achievable to a sustainable level in 5 years.

Trump's endgame is not re-industrialisation. He's going for Bretton woods 2.0

The Chinese word for CRISIS is 危机, which means danger as well as opportunity.

Singapore's market is small, with only a population of 5million compared to USA's consumerist 300million population. Furthermore, due to our small land size & labor force, our exporters will face difficulties competing against giant manufacturers such as China or EU, & even Indonesia.

However, now that those big manufacturers are facing high tariffs & us with lower tariffs, meaning that their goods cost will be higher to be imported into USA, while it will be an opportunity for us to trade even more with USA competitively thru our lower tariffs.

Want to be the next Peter Lim?

For example, just last month, USA faced shortage in eggs, due to avian flu fears that needed culling of hens. As such, USA had to rely on shortfalls thru imports. Eggs are a DAILY necessity for Humans, & the population of USA is 300million....

While Singapore has little land space, we do have HEIGHT space - multi storey farms that had existed & proven to work...........

This point I am in agreement with you. Seems he is going for a global Plaza Accord or Bretton Woods 2.0 kind of arrangement. US needs to save the Dollar. So it could be a local currency peg to USD agreement in order to access the big US market.

This I think will be difficult. You can see from the whole world's reaction to the tariffs. US has managed to piss off every ally to convince them to quickly join the new financial world order.

But president trump won't have much time because of domestic pressure. So he will U-turn soon
Trump will not be President after 2028. He wants to be remembered as the best president in US history.

This is all about fucking China's economy up. Look up Trump's cabinet people, see what they have said about China.

Immediately after the tariff announcement, Trump also signed an order specifically targeting cheap good deliveries from China and Hong Kong. Temu (Pinduoduo) and Shein are fucked.

And Trump or his SoS has not yet visited China, nor has there been an intention to do so... this is unprecedented.

If you don't want the 10% tariff, you can always negotiate with Trump. Argentina did that. Though I struggle to know what crappy goods are manufactured here on this shitty island that are exported to the USA.

Prediction: in the not too distant future USA will establish formal diplomatic ties with Taiwan. Don't be surprised if other countries' attitude on this matter will affect the tariffs. :cool:

Explained by this 9 min video

All these "experts" coming out of the woodwork. :D

Of course the figures are based upon a formula and the formula will be unfair to some and just plain wrong in some instances. However it is a starting point for all negotiations with everyone lined up at a start line calculated using the same figures as ref points.

Trump truly is a genius and most certainly is the best President ever.

Many Tiongs outsourced their crappy goods to be manufactured in Vietnam for the sole purpose of bypassing sanctions, restrictions and tariffs.

Nothing personal against Vietnam, just closing a loophole. Decouple from China if you want less pain.
not just vietnam, ccp sneakily uses laos, cumbodia, burma and thighland as supply chain and manufacturing bases for products shipped to amerika to bypass tariffs aimed at tiongcock. and also to have products with labels “made in these cuntries” other than tiongcock. amerikan cumsumers avoid like the plague buying products that are “made in china” as they are perceived to be of inferior quality, unreliable, toxic. now when these cuntries kena high reciprocal tariffs by trump, ccp kpkb like a squealing pig. a cheater will always be buay song when kena sexposed and checkmated.

This is all about fucking China's economy up. Look up Trump's cabinet people, see what they have said about China.

Immediately after the tariff announcement, Trump also signed an order specifically targeting cheap good deliveries from China and Hong Kong. Temu (Pinduoduo) and Shein are fucked.

And Trump or his SoS has not yet visited China, nor has there been an intention to do so... this is unprecedented.

If you don't want the 10% tariff, you can always negotiate with Trump. Argentina did that. Though I struggle to know what crappy goods are manufactured here on this shitty island that are exported to the USA.

Prediction: in the not too distant future USA will establish formal diplomatic ties with Taiwan. Don't be surprised if other countries' attitude on this matter will affect the tariffs. :cool:
“Out of the top ten pharmaceutical companies globally, eight of them: AbbVie, Amgen, GlaxoSmithKline, Merck Sharp & Dohme (MSD), Novartis, Pfizer, Roche, and Sanofi have manufacturing plants in Singapore.”
https://pharmchoices.com/list-of-pharmaceutical-companies-in-singapore/

i have a 40-sumting female friend who works for j&j in sg. still virgin. you want?

“Out of the top ten pharmaceutical companies globally, eight of them: AbbVie, Amgen, GlaxoSmithKline, Merck Sharp & Dohme (MSD), Novartis, Pfizer, Roche, and Sanofi have manufacturing plants in Singapore.”
https://pharmchoices.com/list-of-pharmaceutical-companies-in-singapore/

i have a 40-sumting female friend who works for j&j in sg. still virgin. you want?

AbbVie was formerly known as Allergan.

https://www.abbvie.com/allergan.html

Allergan makes FML steroid eye drops, if you've had eye surgery, chances are the eye doctor will prescribe them for you.

FML-0.1-OPTHALMIC-SUSPEN-5ML.jpg

Gateway to what? Hell?
We are mostly Chinese, majority non Muslim, speak bilingual & not communist in this part of the world. Pretty unique right?
We should be in China's plan after (taking Taiwan) to plant themselves here to control the OBOR, don't you think?