• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A woman in Singapore was left feeling robbed after she paid S$5.50 for a plate of economy rice at a stall.

threadfin

Stupidman

两菜一肉5.5元被嫌贵 摊贩:菜难洗​

杨量而,余明飞/新明日报
发布/2025年4月1日 14:43
郑女士投诉两菜一肉收费5元5角太贵。 (受访者提供)

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/news/singapore/story20250401-6100361

A woman in Singapore was left feeling robbed after she paid S$5.50 (approx. RM18) for a plate of economy rice at a stall.

When questioned about the incident by reporters, the vendor gave a rather unexpected explanation for the price of the meal.

SG woman charged S$5.50 for economy rice​

Speaking to Shin Min Daily News, the woman surnamed Zheng (transliteration), said she bought the economy rice at a stall near her home at Block 133 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3 along with friends.

After ordering two vegetables and one meat, she proceeded to make payment, where she thought she only had to pay S$3 or S$4. To her shock, it cost her S$5.50.

RM18 economy rice at Ang Mo Kio
Photo via Shin Min Daily News

“When I asked the staff about the bill, they didn’t give me a clear explanation. I was left feeling dissatisfied and paid without arguing further.

“I think this charge is a bit unreasonable, and I will not patronise it again,” she said.

‘Veges are difficult to wash’​

Shin Min later approached the vendor Zhang, who provided a breakdown of Zheng’s meal: S$2 .per portion for spinach and red spinach, S$1 for the meatballs, and S$0.50 for the rice.

She added that the vegetables cost a bit more as they needed more resources to be washed clean.

Veges being washed
For illustration purposes only. Photo via Canva

They contain a lot of dirt and sand. They have to be soaked twice and rinsed once, which is more labour and water-intensive and time-consuming than preparing other vegetables.

“If you don’t choose these two vegetables, the price will be $3. I have been running a stall in a coffee shop for about 10 years and never calculated the price carelessly. When customers choose these vegetables, I will remind them that it is $2,” she explained.

However, Zhang admitted that her husband might have been the one who served Zheng that day and had forgotten to notify her about it.

Economy rice stall in Singapore
For illustration purposes only. Photo via The Independent Singapore

Meanwhile, a longtime customer told Shin Min that he felt paying $5 or $6 for a meal wasn’t excessive, especially given the current economic situation.

“The quality of their food is not bad, and the dishes offered are not like ordinary cai png (economy rice), so it is normal for the price to be slightly higher,” he added.

This whining bitch talked to the staff, was unhappy with the answer, but still went on to pay for it when she could have just walked away. What a dumbfuck.

杨量而,余明飞/新明日报

A woman in Singapore was left feeling robbed after she paid S$5.50 (approx. RM18) for a plate of economy rice at a stall.

When questioned about the incident by reporters, the vendor gave a rather unexpected explanation for the price of the meal.

Speaking to Shin Min Daily News, the woman surnamed Zheng (transliteration), said she bought the economy rice at a stall near her home at Block 133 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3 along with friends.

After ordering two vegetables and one meat, she proceeded to make payment, where she thought she only had to pay S$3 or S$4. To her shock, it cost her S$5.50.

“When I asked the staff about the bill, they didn’t give me a clear explanation. I was left feeling dissatisfied and paid without arguing further.

“I think this charge is a bit unreasonable, and I will not patronise it again,” she said.

Shin Min later approached the vendor Zhang, who provided a breakdown of Zheng’s meal: S$2 .per portion for spinach and red spinach, S$1 for the meatballs, and S$0.50 for the rice.

She added that the vegetables cost a bit more as they needed more resources to be washed clean.

Veges being washed

“If you don’t choose these two vegetables, the price will be $3. I have been running a stall in a coffee shop for about 10 years and never calculated the price carelessly. When customers choose these vegetables, I will remind them that it is $2,” she explained.

However, Zhang admitted that her husband might have been the one who served Zheng that day and had forgotten to notify her about it.

Meanwhile, a longtime customer told Shin Min that he felt paying $5 or $6 for a meal wasn’t excessive, especially given the current economic situation.

“The quality of their food is not bad, and the dishes offered are not like ordinary cai png (economy rice), so it is normal for the price to be slightly higher,” he added.

All these ranjiao stalls should be banned from using the word 'Economy rice' and replaced with 'Chop Carrot Rice Stall' instead, LOL.

杨量而,余明飞/新明日报

Veges being washed

Quote - S$2 .per portion for spinach and red spinach, S$1 for the meatballs, and S$0.50 for the rice.

So eating healthy eating vege is more expensive than eating meat now ah?? Then Singapore Government and HPB dont waste tax money telling sinkies to live healthy life when they cannot let their citizens afford a decent heathy meal lah! Daft Sinkies go Erect kee lan ah?

Like that Bloody Fool tell all those die father die mother sarporters to go pay $5 wanton mee pay $5.5 cai png lor. :whistling: