• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB flats will never go to ZERO.

land owned by gov will always have (increasing) value but not the (concrete) structure nor the (limited) lease. don’t need to wait for 99 years to find out. by 69 years rebars will corrode, concrete will spall, plumbing will deteriorate, electrical wiring will wear out. as a matter of factly the longest lasting material, concrete, does not last a lifetime in equatorial or tropical climate near the sea, especially when it’s used with rebars to build highrise structures. low level buildings up to 3 storeys are longer lasting and safer as concrete building ages. sometimes, it’s the foundation and soil it’s sitting on that poses a problem with compression, shifting, water run-off, erosion, liquefaction, especially on reclaimed land. after the surfside condo collapse near miami, condos built with concrete that are more than 36.9 years have dropped precipitously in value. in fact all condos in miami are required by law to be re-evaluated for safety and habitability by the time they reach 40. don’t know about sg laws, but don’t wait for a highrise collapse killing hundreds to find out. it’s not a matter of whether but when.
We wait for Marine Parade condos to have the same fate?

Condos built on reclaimed porous sand allowing sea water into foundations and corroding rebars. Worry only when HDB quietly SERS the blocks there.

true, concrete strength goes down after 50 yrs. because humid.
this will probably be the key. how long can the HDB blocks last physically?

let's say government has actually planned for 69 years average lifespan. then they probably have to buy back the remaining 30 year lease to tear down and rebuild.

so there will be another wave of construction boom as the first precincts of HDBs approach 69 years old.

let's say government has actually planned for 69 years average lifespan. then they probably have to buy back the remaining 30 year lease to tear down and rebuild.

so there will be another wave of construction boom as the first precincts of HDBs approach 69 years old.
69 years?

PAP plans to be in power for 100 years.

Condos built on reclaimed porous sand allowing sea water into foundations and corroding rebars. Worry only when HDB quietly SERS the blocks there.
sooner or later, entire hdb blocks there will need to be torn down. and they will auction the land for (ceca) condos. lol.

yalor, it’s all in the plan, yeast coast, west coast, anywhere with a coastal view sexcept changi runways, jurong, tuas, and some say sarimbun.

that's why the cutoff age of the hdb flat pledge for cpf basic retirement sum - brs is 30yrs. pegged at a terminal value of 88k now. the terminal value will rise with inflation of abt 3% a year. so it's not zero
It will be 0 to lessee once they figured out how to delink cpf to hdb

The lease question is pointless...as a HDB flat "owner", you are only considered as a long term lessee.

not porous sand. its much worse.The entire marine parade was built on marine clay.

Only few HDB blocks were selected for ENBLOC Resettlement with a New Lease. What about the other HDB Blocks still waiting for Enbloc Resettlement ?
To be fair to Singaporeans. All HDB Blocks MUST be allowed One time Enbloc Resettlement with a New Lease. Vote for the Party which support this policy.

it cannot go to 0. Because your CPF is underfunded liability. That's why you cannot take out all your CPF at 55. Gahmen will have to print money. No other country in the world allows you to use your pension plan to buy property.
U r so full of shit its coming out of your ears. what has flats never go to zero got anything to do with CPF? By the way, many countries allow their citizens to buy property with their pension. Look up Canada.

U r so full of shit its coming out of yours. what has flats never go to zero got anything to do with CPF? By the way, many countries allow their citizens to buy property with their pension. Look up Canada.
what a stupid fucking moron u are, to say shit. What has Cananda to do with HDB

The government own the land and than build HDB to make you pay upfront 99 years of rent. I wish I can do that to my tenant.

U r so full of shit its coming out of yours. what has flats never go to zero got anything to do with CPF? By the way, many countries allow their citizens to buy property with their pension. Look up Canada.

Canada CPP is very little. A little over $1k a month. Not enough for retirement. The CPP is a real pension. You contribute then everyone gets the amount set out depending what age you retire. Not paid as a lump sum either. You can do whatever you wish with the money. But I doubt most retiree use that to buy property when fhey are in their late 60s. Home should be already fully paid for at that age. Maybe paying rent if not own?

I do feel that CPF is more like RRSP or TFSA where you contribute money to a savings account. RRSP advantage is deferred income tax on what you contribute. TFSA is no capital gains taxes for investments through that account. There are linits set for how muxh you can contribite to RRSP and TFSA.

As far as I know you cannot use TFSA or RRSP money to buy property.