• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Young Sinkie Couple Spent Entire Savings On HDB Home Reno! Husband Lost Job, Wife Took Pay Cut During Covid! Now Begging For Free Food!

1600499626457.png

A DIFFERENT GROUP

The jump in cases seeking aid notwithstanding, the profiles of people needing help have expanded.

In its outreach work, the team at The Food Bank has seen about 500 cases where the beneficiaries live in either five-room flats in public housing estates, condominiums, or even landed properties. This group makes up about 10 per cent of all the cases that have reached out to the non-profit for food rations.

In comparison, there were just two such cases last year that fit this profile.

Ms Nichol Ng, co-founder of The Food Bank, said: “It might be the elderly who have not worked for a few years, or maybe those running sole proprietorships,” she said.

A similar trend was observed by Food from the Heart. Ms Sim, who calls these cases the “new poor”, said that she encountered a case of a young couple in their late 20s or early 30s that had spent all their savings renovating their new Housing and Development Board (HDB) flat before the Covid-19 outbreak.

When the public health crisis intensified, the husband lost his job while the wife had her pay cut, and the couple was not able to afford their meals when their savings dried up.

“These are people who managed to get by in the past, day to day… and then now, they totally lost their income,” Ms Sim said. “These are the group of people who would not know where to go for help.”

SHORTAGE OF VOLUNTEERS

At a time when charities have been facing a drop in monetary donations, both food charities said that these and donations of non-perishables have gone up for them, and this has helped them to cope with the surge in demand for aid.

Food from the Heart said that this increase is partly because there was more awareness on social media, for example, of the plight of the needy during this period.

Retail outlets and food-and-beverage outlets also donated their excess goods, The Food Bank said.

However, the struggle is in finding volunteers to sort and distribute the items.

They could no longer depend on students or some employees from private companies, since Covid-19 restrictions prevented most people from volunteering with them.

Ms Sim said that those from the civil service and members of the public stepped in to help in the food distribution efforts in the absence of the usual community of volunteers.

With the increase in donations, Food from the Heart was also able to hire a delivery service to help in distribution efforts.

Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...younger-couples-and-private-property-dwellers

blowing all ur money just before coincidentally losing ur job is not called being "poor" its called retarded......

my god.......i do that on a regular basis......

oh oh u just brought the latest lexus 2019 and and just lost ur job and need to service ur loan?ohhhhhhhh ur the "new poor"!!!!!!!

Ms Sim, who calls these cases the “new poor”, said that she encountered a case of a young couple in their late 20s or early 30s that had spent all their savings renovating their new Housing and Development Board (HDB) flat before the Covid-19 outbreak.

Why need to renovate new HDB flat ?

Ms Sim, who calls these cases the “new poor”, said that she encountered a case of a young couple in their late 20s or early 30s that had spent all their savings renovating their new Housing and Development Board (HDB) flat before the Covid-19 outbreak.

Why need to renovate new HDB flat ?

unless HDB started showcasing their flats like million dollar penthouse in downtown cbd like PARC........im sure u renovate it too?

dont tell me u move in as is?

i remember my uncle when he bought his 5 room flat in 2000,the first person in the family to live in 5 room,he spend like a fortune having marble floors put in.....ironically......the floors cracked soon after and the hdb flat looks just like another goddam hdb flat......

She can sell her pussy with the renovated home as her prostitute den.

Retail outlets and food-and-beverage outlets also donated their excess goods, The Food Bank said.

However, the struggle is in finding volunteers to sort and distribute the items.
KNN these losers want free food still want free deleevery? KNN

blowing all ur money just before coincidentally losing ur job is not called being "poor" its called retarded......

my god.......i do that on a regular basis......

oh oh u just brought the latest lexus 2019 and and just lost ur job and need to service ur loan?ohhhhhhhh ur the "new poor"!!!!!!!
The covid has brought untold misery to many. That includes those who were prosperous before, like SIA a good exam0le.

View attachment 91331

A DIFFERENT GROUP

The jump in cases seeking aid notwithstanding, the profiles of people needing help have expanded.

In its outreach work, the team at The Food Bank has seen about 500 cases where the beneficiaries live in either five-room flats in public housing estates, condominiums, or even landed properties. This group makes up about 10 per cent of all the cases that have reached out to the non-profit for food rations.

In comparison, there were just two such cases last year that fit this profile.

Ms Nichol Ng, co-founder of The Food Bank, said: “It might be the elderly who have not worked for a few years, or maybe those running sole proprietorships,” she said.

A similar trend was observed by Food from the Heart. Ms Sim, who calls these cases the “new poor”, said that she encountered a case of a young couple in their late 20s or early 30s that had spent all their savings renovating their new Housing and Development Board (HDB) flat before the Covid-19 outbreak.

When the public health crisis intensified, the husband lost his job while the wife had her pay cut, and the couple was not able to afford their meals when their savings dried up.

“These are people who managed to get by in the past, day to day… and then now, they totally lost their income,” Ms Sim said. “These are the group of people who would not know where to go for help.”

SHORTAGE OF VOLUNTEERS

At a time when charities have been facing a drop in monetary donations, both food charities said that these and donations of non-perishables have gone up for them, and this has helped them to cope with the surge in demand for aid.

Food from the Heart said that this increase is partly because there was more awareness on social media, for example, of the plight of the needy during this period.

They could no longer depend on students or some employees from private companies, since Covid-19 restrictions prevented most people from volunteering with them.

Ms Sim said that those from the civil service and members of the public stepped in to help in the food distribution efforts in the absence of the usual community of volunteers.

With the increase in donations, Food from the Heart was also able to hire a delivery service to help in distribution efforts.

Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...younger-couples-and-private-property-dwellers
Guess the race of the couple? Spend now. Pay later

The covid has brought untold misery to many. That includes those who were prosperous before, like SIA a good exam0le.

good for sia........and i believe sia already shot themselves in the foot before the covid......

This is so stupid. There's no need to blow up all your savings just to replicate your pigeon hole into a Shangri-la suite. And at the end of the day, you still need to keep some savings for rainy days.

KNN my uncle also know people who eat until no money to eat KNN I.e spending too much on food KNN

This is so stupid. There's no need to blow up all your savings just to replicate your pigeon hole into a Shangri-la suite. And at the end of the day, you still need to keep some savings for rainy days.

MIGHT AS WELL,THE AMOUNT U ARE PAYING FOR UR HDB AKA PUBLIC HOUSING AKA SOVIET PRYPYAT CHRNOBLYAT 1980S HOUSING LOOKALIKE.......MIGHT AS WELL RENOVATE IT AND PRETEND UR LIVING IN SHANGRI LA......

FOR 500K sgd I CAN GET AN ACTUAL SHANGRI LA VILLA IN THAILAND.

Another sob story on 158th. I'm sure there will be many crowdfunders.

Whenever the 158th isn't spewing propaganda, it assumes the role of a 'GoFundMe' bulletin board. That's cute. :rolleyes: