• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

5 reasons why eating at food courts in Singapore makes you broke!!!

Blxxdy hell, my dry mee pok hit me for $6 (notwithstanding good taste) at Shaw Centre's basement food court. Saw some small sign it's now Food Republic?

And the new nasi padang tapao costs me a princely $8.60 (only white fried rice + egg + veg + fish bits).

The Food Republic at Vivo City is terribly expensive :eek:

Can't be helped for those who lived in remote town like Pungol or Sengkang and have to travel at least a mile to find the only food court available. These youngsters don't cook, too lazy to cook, no time to cook. The PAP cronies run Kopitiam Food Court will then exploit these group of young couples. I am glad they continue to vote for PAP in Sengkang and Pungol GRC and get screwed deeper to their delight.

the bastards fill ice to the brim too, effectively only quarter or half the actual content :frown:

The Seah Im uncle's sugar cane juice seems concentrated, doesn't have a lot of ice, and it's a big glass mug.

I always patronize his stall when I'm there.

img-2650.jpg

No money to eat food court, go coffee shop.
No money to eat coffee shop, go hawker centre.
No money to eat hawker centre, cook at home.
No money to cook at home, go and look for free meals. :biggrin:

No money to eat food court, go coffee shop.
No money to eat coffee shop, go hawker centre.
No money to eat hawker centre, cook at home.
No money to cook at home, go and look for free meals. :biggrin:

Cooking at home is actually more expensive. Unless you're cooking Maggi mee.

This kind of article is written by a typical Sublime idiot. Who told him to go foodcourt?

Can’t eat at home?
Can’t cook?
Can’t eat at hawker?

The Seah Im uncle's sugar cane juice seems concentrated, doesn't have a lot of ice, and it's a big glass mug.

I always patronize his stall when I'm there.

img-2650.jpg
no thanks, i'd rather not patronise his stall - looking at him gives me the creeps and he might just add sugar from his cane :eek:

Can be cheaper if you don't use ingredients like lobsters or caviar. :wink:
by the time lunch is served and dishes washed at home, total bill cums out to over $6.9 as you need to pay for gas, electricity and water. plus soap, time, and unaccounted cost of waste and trash disposal. very mafan to makan at home. may as well pay $4 for halal bak kut teh at a stall and be done with it. or $1.69 for nasi lemak or $3.69 for nasi bryani.

Plus your very own labour cost = own salary,
Its more costly.

Plus your very own labour cost = own salary,
Its more costly.
not to forget raw food and groceries in sg are now no longer cheap from both dry and wet markets. if cook meals for 6.9 persons can at least have economies of scale but if cook meals just for yourself how to buy 16.9th of an onion or 1.69th of a cabbage for curry chap chai? cook one pot of curry chap chai for 6.9 days of meals?