• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Why would the PAP import this kind of stupid FT teachers from US?

U telling me the highest standard education and world renown system cannot produced our own equally stupid teachers that we have to resort to hiring these losers that flew all the way back to the US to vote for the losing candidate?

[h=1]American flies 17,000 km home from Singapore to vote in presidential election[/h]

Nicholas Yong
8 November 2016

tumblr_inline_ogcm2iO1p41ttsoi6_1280.jpg
View photos
Eric Smith outside a polling station in Jefferson County, Louisville, Kentucky, shortly before he voted. (Photo: Eric Smith)Thirty hours, 16,877 km, a minor bureaucratic snafu and a short queue later, Eric Smith finally got to vote in the 2016 United States presidential election on Tuesday (8 November) local time, having flown all the way home from Singapore specially to vote.

“I see it as my civic duty and my patriotic duty, and it’s not something that everyone gets to do. So if you have the right to vote, you should exercise it,” said the 42-year-old teacher, who has been based in the Republic for the past six years. His hometown is in Jefferson County in Louisville, Kentucky.
Smith, who is home for just a day before flying back to Singapore, was in time to cast his vote for Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton.
Smith’s odyssey started two weeks ago when he realised that he had not received his absentee ballot, despite requesting it ahead of time. This resulted in him missing the deadline to mail his ballot home. So Smith got online to research the quickest, cheapest way to get back to the States.
The result: more than a day of flying from Singapore to Tokyo to Dallas and finally Louisville, a journey that started on Monday morning and cost him US$1,054 (S$1,463).
But that was not the end of it. When Smith got to his assigned polling station in an elementary school gymnasium at 9am, he was told to go to the county voting headquarters as he was marked as an absentee voter.
He then had his case heard before a board of bipartisan election officials tasked to review anomalous cases in order to prevent voter fraud.
After a wait of 30 minutes, Smith was allowed to vote. “The election officials were so impressed. They voted unanimously to let me vote and then all thanked me for traveling,” he said.
So Smith and his family drove back to the elementary school, where he queued for another half hour and finally got to cast his vote. And even though Kentucky was ultimately won by Republican candidate Donald Trump, Smith said, “The process was reassuring. I loved the act of voting.”
Going to the ballot box
Asked why he had gone to all that trouble despite Kentucky being a traditionally Republican state, Smith told Yahoo Singapore, “Because I think this election is so scary and important, and the stakes are really high, so I wanted to make sure that I’ve done my part.”
Last year, he was also inspired by the example of Burmese people in Singapore, whom he observed queuing in the heat outside their embassy to vote in their country’s general election. “That was really impressive, because they don’t know if their vote is going to count or not, but they still did it. It really got to me, because voting is about what you want, and your hopes,” he said.
Smith, who previously taught in South Korea and China, was also energised by the thousands of messages he received via Pantsuit Nation. He had posted his travel plans on the Facebook group, which has some two million Clinton supporters. “I was going alone and felt like it was a silly adventure, but when I had Wi Fi on the plane, it really blew up. For hours, I would read messages and chat with people who were excited. It gave me energy,” he added.
But it was not just fellow Americans urging him on. Smith’s Singaporean and fellow expatriates back in the Republic, who have been “horrified” by the election campaign also encouraged him.
“I feel like I get to vote for them, because the consequences also affect everybody else,” he said.

dr.wailing

U telling me the highest standard education and world renown system cannot produced our own equally stupid teachers that we have to resort to hiring these losers that flew all the way back to the US to vote for the losing candidate?

The fact that this guy has been working in Sinkieland for the past 6 years is proof that there is demand for his services. It could be that he's employed by a private school whose parents believe that the proper way to learn English is to be taught by native English speakers.

Even Old Fart knew the importance of having learned English from native speakers. According to one of his memoirs, he had some British people go to his home to teach his 3 "exceptional" children English. Alas, despite the best efforts of the British teachers, Old Fart's children speak English like educated Malayans of the British Empire. Two of them, Chief Natural Aristocrat and the Founding Daughter, write English like sh*t.

Chinese in mainland China are demanding. In mega-cities like Beijing, Shanghai and Shenzhen, schools wishing to employ foreign teachers to teach English must insist their candidates come from only native speaking countries like the UK, USA, Canada, Australia and NZ. Only under exceptional circumstances will Chinese schools consider candidates from South Africa.

WujiBo

cannot go home and see his relatives and friends and american food?

why you all must be so critical of anything and everything?

The fact that this guy has been working in Sinkieland for the past 6 years is proof that there is demand for his services. It could be that he's employed by a private school whose parents believe that the proper way to learn English is to be taught by native English speakers.

Even Old Fart knew the importance of having learned English from native speakers. According to one of his memoirs, he had some British people go to his home to teach his 3 "exceptional" children English. Alas, despite the best efforts of the British teachers, Old Fart's children speak English like educated Malayans of the British Empire. Two of them, Chief Natural Aristocrat and the Founding Daughter, write English like sh*t.

Chinese in mainland China are demanding. In mega-cities like Beijing, Shanghai and Shenzhen, schools wishing to employ foreign teachers to teach English must insist their candidates come from only native speaking countries like the UK, USA, Canada, Australia and NZ. Only under exceptional circumstances will Chinese schools consider candidates from South Africa.

If you as a country claim to be English speaking and that english is the business and cultural language here, and that you follow the UK exam system and education system, then you have to ask the question of why the fuck are we letting in FT to teach english? If parents want their kids to learn the proper way to speak english, they should send them to the UK. One idiot teaching english here makes no difference to these kids if they are surrounded mats, indians, etc. u want to speak and learn proper english, then you should immerse your kids in a real english culture and send them overseas. Otherwise, assholes like this american is coming here to steal a singaporean job.

Justmythots

If you as a country claim to be English speaking and that english is the business and cultural language here, and that you follow the UK exam system and education system, then you have to ask the question of why the fuck are we letting in FT to teach english? If parents want their kids to learn the proper way to speak english, they should send them to the UK. One idiot teaching english here makes no difference to these kids if they are surrounded mats, indians, etc. u want to speak and learn proper english, then you should immerse your kids in a real english culture and send them overseas. Otherwise, assholes like this american is coming here to steal a singaporean job.

UK is a dead country. It's been over for them since the 70s. Maybe you need to get with the times.

Of cos most aspiring wannabe sinkies would love to send their children to XXX (fill in the blank with any western country) Fuck they themselves would rather live there than Singapore. It's just that 99.9 percent of you can't.

Justmythots

English has never been the cultural language of Singapore. Not in 1819. Not in 1919. Not today. Never been. I wonder if you are even living in Singapore to make such a dumb statement. LMAO. You must be deaf that you can't hear the sounds around you from the minute you wake up to the minute you sleep.

garlic

If anyone has been to louisville, Kentucky, you will know that this guy is looked upon as a country bumpkin in the states. That place is as ulu as can be... 99% sure he cannot find job in U.S... definitely not a talent...

UK is a dead country. It's been over for them since the 70s. Maybe you need to get with the times.

Of cos most aspiring wannabe sinkies would love to send their children to XXX (fill in the blank with any western country) Fuck they themselves would rather live there than Singapore. It's just that 99.9 percent of you can't.

Silly man you! London is very nice if you are well heeled and live in a nice suburb. So is Singapore if you want a few years in Asia under your belt. Much better than Tokyo I must say. :cool:

He is a talent that I have no problem with. If they hire Ah Nehs who speak sub-continent English, then that is an issue.

kulgai

err.. that's because sinkie teachers can't even speak proper English.

Spot on. Agreed.

Why shd we must hv American accent when local ascent is the norm.

All the bs of speaking like English or American man. Stealing jobs or give away jobs to exchanged for votes are likely.

Fuck PAP.

Justmythots

Spot on. Agreed.

Why shd we must hv American accent when local ascent is the norm.

All the bs of speaking like English or American man. Stealing jobs or give away jobs to exchanged for votes are likely.

Fuck PAP.

FYI English as the language unnaturally forced in school itself is not a natural state, not a fact that is just taken for granted as accepted fact or unassailable truth and that's how singlish was formed and how singlish organically developed. it's engineered by old British dog who loved to drink Ang moh cum. Singlish is formed using Chinese syntax and sentences and crudely replaced with English words. That's why the syntax is garbled in conventional English grammar. It happened during the Lee Cultural Revolution.

The dog later wrote those disgusting books shamelessly praising himself by repeating the propaganda that Singapore owed its success to his cultural revolution just repeating his usual tired BULLSHIT and sinkies are too stupid and gullible to question and analyze motherhood statements and claims shoved down their deep throats by their communist party PAP. English should only be the second school language of a Chinese majority country. It was that case for decades with no issue. It was just a matter of bad chance that Sg was seized by the self styled baba fake chink traitor that this happened. How come HK and TW are both more successful without going through a cultural revolution that wiped out their culture and identity?

Almost all the sinkies under 40 are repulsively dumb and parrot the state lines their English and Mandarin both sound so SHIT and they can't speak dialect. They walk around like fucking clueless zombies 人不像人 鬼不像鬼 and they have no fucking clue that they would be spat on by Ang mohs in the west for having no pride or spine just look at the example here of the retard Papsmearer who thought that Singapore's cultural language is English. Effing big time retard who clearly had never been anywhere before for long outside of his small Southeast shit hole and definitely never been to an English speaking country.

Justmythots

Silly man you! London is very nice if you are well heeled and live in a nice suburb. So is Singapore if you want a few years in Asia under your belt. Much better than Tokyo I must say. :cool:
There are nice cities all over the world from HK to Tokyo. Saying that the UK has one nice city left is hardly qualifications that the country is not a sunset empire which set since the 70s. Starting from the early 90s all the PSC scholars shifted to choosing to go to USA, in the 70s and 80s they all went to UK including the fag and his brother. You are behind the mentality of 19 year old planning where to go and you are way behind times by 26 years that you didn't receive the memo that the Britain is puny and powerless and sun had set for them extremely long ago.

Justmythots

If anyone has been to louisville, Kentucky, you will know that this guy is looked upon as a country bumpkin in the states. That place is as ulu as can be... 99% sure he cannot find job in U.S... definitely not a talent...

I have visited Louisville to go to THE Kentucky Derby. It is nicer than SG for life. SG is lun-able for short visits. I can tell you the people who live in Louisville have a lifestyle that 90 percent of sinkies can only dream of.
https://youtu.be/i_eqExBpECg

Justmythots

err.. that's because sinkie teachers can't even speak proper English.
YES and that is because English is NOT our fucking cultural, ancestral, whatever you might want to use, language. And it makes me laugh every time I see sinkies proclaiming they are English native speakers to Ang moh they are so shameless and ignorant of how bad they sound. They all sound like caricatures.,

I use it to communicate with low class specimens at an unemotional utilitarian level who don't have the intellect to master my cultural mother tongues (a few Han languages)

Wunderfool

Hillary will be touched by this story ! And of course Trump will call him unpatriotic - " If you are so good, why aren't you serving America first ? "

dr.wailing

If you as a country claim to be English speaking and that english is the business and cultural language here, and that you follow the UK exam system and education system, then you have to ask the question of why the fuck are we letting in FT to teach english?

Both the UK and the US don't recognise Sinkieland to be a native English speaking country.

Sinkies need to wake up and ask why Old Fart and Chief Natural Aristocrat have misled people into thinking that Sinkieland is a native English speaking country.

If parents want their kids to learn the proper way to speak english, they should send them to the UK. One idiot teaching english here makes no difference to these kids if they are surrounded mats, indians, etc. u want to speak and learn proper english, then you should immerse your kids in a real english culture and send them overseas.

Proficiency in a language is best acquired when the learner is young, preferably an infant.

Papsmearer: you should know Sinkie parents are very kiasu one. How can they senang senang leave their toddlers in Engrand while they themselves are working and living in your country?

Otherwise, assholes like this american is coming here to steal a singaporean job.

What job has this ang mo stolen? Sinkies aren't qualified to teach Engrish because it's not their mother tongue what....

There are nice cities all over the world from HK to Tokyo. Saying that the UK has one nice city left is hardly qualifications that the country is not a sunset empire which set since the 70s. Starting from the early 90s all the PSC scholars shifted to choosing to go to USA, in the 70s and 80s they all went to UK including the fag and his brother. You are behind the mentality of 19 year old planning where to go and you are way behind times by 26 years that you didn't receive the memo that the Britain is puny and powerless and sun had set for them extremely long ago.

Just London sir, charming little place that was. Most migrants dun wander very far from where they landed, except for vacation. Purely anecdotal, makes complete sense if pondered over.