Alamak, pontian wantan mee from jiuhu very up to standard. The one at old airport also not bad.
Original wanton noodle is soup based only
Dry versions maybe tossed in light soy or garlic / shallot oil.
And authentic wanton mee got no charsiew.
Sg and jiuhu versions got ketchup in the sauce even....others use charsiew sauce, oyster sauce and even xo sauce thinking got some Cantonese connection.
This one even got sambal chilli....all bastardized versions hardly can call wanton noodle.
Fei Fei one is closest to original tossed like aglio olio but then their handmade noodles is nothing like real stringy wanton mee.
wonton mee by ex crystal jade chief chef now very old man still selling at 6 ave kopitiam. $3.50 for the same crystal jade wonton mee. lol![]()
why lol at the end of your post? what's so funny?![]()
Original wanton noodle is soup based only
Dry versions maybe tossed in light soy or garlic / shallot oil.
And authentic wanton mee got no charsiew.
Sg and jiuhu versions got ketchup in the sauce even....others use charsiew sauce, oyster sauce and even xo sauce thinking got some Cantonese connection.
This one even got sambal chilli....all bastardized versions hardly can call wanton noodle.
Fei Fei one is closest to original tossed like aglio olio but then their handmade noodles is nothing like real stringy wanton mee.
U got queue for fei fei.
Btw ketchup is only in Singapore.
Jiu hu used black sauce n chilli
I'm VIP no need to queue. I've been eating since the grandfather time.
Their standards fluctuate a lot. The branch near NUS sucks very bad no QC.
Not long ago when the brother opened rival branch nearby both standards cmi maybe due to family squabble not focus on business. Now the brother shop kena absorbed so things back to normal.
My DJ pal Tim Oh is a regular queuer there.
Local wanton noodles the best among the famous ones I like is Eng kee , branch along katong.
Wah... ai seh...
U really pak si beh toh.
U got vip member card. More wantans or more soup.
[video=youtube;TFBzkRSpGJw]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TFBzkRSpGJw[/video]
Nothing to shout abt! Just normal 3 bugs one ton mee.
Need member card is not real VIP.
The staff all recognize my handsome face.
My car also very flashy and loud they can hear me from far away.
u must be vice chairman of TPX sbf club. lol![]()
when i was growing up i had no love for authentic sinkie wonton noodles. after trying pontian wanton wonton i fall in love. must be something about the stringy noodles, sauce and small lean wontons. the charsiew slices are ok, but do not define the dish.