• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

our common identity in past, present and future...

back in the 50s when David Marshall was fighting for self governance, we were a collective group of folks of many races. every one understood one another, campok campok, but we still get by.

then in the 60s we witnessed the birth of numerous young nations, breaking free from their colonial masters and calling the shots for themselves.

falling back on literally nothing, we depended heavily on ourselves to etch out a living, grabbing every chance that there was, utilizing every opportunity that presents itself.

then came the baby boom era and the subsequent years of struggles; the introduction of stop at two campaign prolonged itself for about a decade or so.

a generation a tad too much and a generation that didn't reproduce at a higher rate to replace themselves fast enough.

at the turn of the 80s, we saw the birth of the fast food chains and our street hawkers were driven off the streets into hawker centers.

the 90s came and gone in the flash of an eye and we got tested a second time in a decade during the financial crisis.

the turn of the millennium didn't bring much joy, the four million smiles campaign was a flop, we witnessed the second wave of exodus in the brain drain.

right now in this day and age, folks are shallow, hollow and simply follows; and plenty of obnoxious behaviors notwithstanding.

we'll go kaput if we are became arrogant and self serving. that spirit of volunteerism and service for others is no longer an attribute well preserved for good

Thick Face Black Heart

back in the 50s when David Marshall was fighting for self governance, we were a collective group of folks of many races. every one understood one another, campok campok, but we still get by.

then in the 60s we witnessed the birth of numerous young nations, breaking free from their colonial masters and calling the shots for themselves.

falling back on literally nothing, we depended heavily on ourselves to etch out a living, grabbing every chance that there was, utilizing every opportunity that presents itself.

then came the baby boom era and the subsequent years of struggles; the introduction of stop at two campaign prolonged itself for about a decade or so.

a generation a tad too much and a generation that didn't reproduce at a higher rate to replace themselves fast enough.

at the turn of the 80s, we saw the birth of the fast food chains and our street hawkers were driven off the streets into hawker centers.

the 90s came and gone in the flash of an eye and we got tested a second time in a decade during the financial crisis.

the turn of the millennium didn't bring much joy, the four million smiles campaign was a flop, we witnessed the second wave of exodus in the brain drain.

right now in this day and age, folks are shallow, hollow and simply follows; and plenty of obnoxious behaviors notwithstanding.

we'll go kaput if we are became arrogant and self serving. that spirit of volunteerism and service for others is no longer an attribute well preserved for good

Spot on.

You should write our history and national education textbooks.

The way I see it is we have this huge dark cloud hanging over us, which is the PAP and its foreigner policies. Our national identity and growth is locked into stasis by the FT policy. We either respond via xenophobia or we give up and emigrate ourselves. Either way the locals that remain are screwed as they have lesser job prospects and poorer quality of life

without the pap, sg will still look like this......lonely, old, abandoned, depressing, dirty, slummy, suicidal, etc.

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    812.7 KB · Views: 280

Absolutely Agree.

That is why we need to be considerate to others, who are not our family members or friends. :wink:

And the first thing we can do to be considerate is ..................................................................................................................................................

not to park in the handicapped lot. :biggrin:

Not true in terms of buildings. Without pap, SG could have less high rise buildings, less shopping malls, less office towers, etc................. :rolleyes:

But more ordinary folk would be happier and errrr, probably kinder and more considerate. :biggrin:

Without PAP.
SG will be maybe 5 year advance compare to Penang in Malaysia or KL.

Not true in terms of buildings. Without pap, SG could have less high rise buildings, less shopping malls, less office towers, etc................. :rolleyes:

But more ordinary folk would be happier and errrr, probably kinder and more considerate. :biggrin:

Agree. More develope doesn't mean more happy.
More rich country doesn't mean average citizen are well off. Only top 20% Sgpn are better but the rest are par with Malaysia citizen on middle class which is more happy. Or worst than Malaysian.

If we think something is right, we should just do it. Don't bother whether the government (or anyone else) says do it or don't do it and either follow them blindly or go against them just as blindly.

PAP can go and fly a flag, errrr I mean kite. :biggrin:

... right now in this day and age, folks are shallow, hollow and simply follows; and plenty of obnoxious behaviors notwithstanding ...

... that spirit of volunteerism and service for others is no longer an attribute well preserved for good
how did ze spirit of volunteerism n servis 4 others disappear n replaced by shallowness, hollowness n obnoxious behaviors? ...

Seee3

....the 90s came and gone in the flash of an eye and we got tested a second time in a decade during the financial crisis.....

To me the 90's were the years of self-destruction. Those were the years where policies implemented make Singaporeans lost their spirit and vigor. They came out with nonsense like"if it ain't broken, break it" and added the term ".com" at the end of every name. They brought in assets enhancement, making those who work hard look like fools. Finally, everyone stop working and sat under trees waiting for their property price to rise. They introduced REITS and other securitization schemes that sent rental to the sky only to be passed on to consumers with ever increasing kopi price.

The list goes on. Interestingly, few realized that GCT and LHK were the men behind them. If old man didn't put a stop to remortgaging, we might not have survived 1997.

or this in penang, where there are less kids, and they have to resort to painting them on walls? :eek:

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    393.5 KB · Views: 258

escher

Absolutely Agree.

That is why we need to be considerate to others, who are not our family members or friends. :wink:

And the first thing we can do to be considerate is ..................................................................................................................................................

Do not go and shit in the handicap toilet or stick your fucking head into the handicap toilet bowl even if it is flushed.
Get nice piano wire for PAP and not rusty dirty piano wire

They continue to laugh all the way to their banks
And all the way back from their banks

HA HA HA HA
HEE HEE HEE HE HEEEE
HOO HO HOOO HO HO

Plotzensee_nooses.jpg

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

PAP is finished.
The stinking glue and terror that hold PAP together is that old fart smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY. LKY is about to die in days or weeks.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP. Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.
None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.
Maggots and cockroaches are appointed as ministers in parliament
Kangaroos are frolicking in High Court instead of being allowed to wander and roam about in the Zoo
They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS
WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN
WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.
AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.
https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en

Pfizer

If we think something is right, we should just do it. Don't bother whether the government (or anyone else) says do it or don't do it and either follow them blindly or go against them just as blindly.

PAP can go and fly a flag, errrr I mean kite. :biggrin:

bookmarked

without the pap, sg will still look like this......lonely, old, abandoned, depressing, dirty, slummy, suicidal, etc.

Old fart sinkies tend to view the past through rose tinted glasses. The problem is they only remember the good times and forget how hard life actually was. The dirt, the disease and the squalor the sinkies used to have to put up with still haunts me till today.

The perception that everyone was happier probably stems from the fact that life was simpler and the formula for success was a more straightforward.... study hard, get into Uni and your future was secure.

Today's world is a lot more complex and old methods no longer work. However, for those who are nimble, the sky is the limit and wealth creation is easier than ever.

This is a good thread. One of the few wordy threads which don't sound pompous. :p

A little pity though that the threadstarter does not know that capital letters are not only used for names but can also be used to start sentences. :biggrin:

Before PAP came,Singapore was a island of paradise,lush green forests surrounded by crystal clear blue waters the colour of the turquiose blue shell clip in the hair of the most beautiful mermaid uv ever seen,upon the gentle waves of the rocking sea sat hundreds of chinese trading junk ships seeking the treasures of the orient and
british ships flying the colours of the union jack looking to set up shop in the new frontier.....on the shores walked the natives clothed only in loinclothes of the coolies,chest unencumbered while breasts juggled freely in the air unfettered by man made restrictions,children played outside the steps of picturesque huts.

The future couldnt look more promising,Singapore was Paradise.

[video=youtube;y1gIz0Ef-7Y]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1gIz0Ef-7Y#t=19[/video]

Until the PAP came.....within a short span of 50 years.....singapore has turned into a hellhole and slum unmatched even by the gates of hell in Manila.......millions of cockroaches,tiongs,and shitskins crawled about everywhere,the natives were fast becoming an endangered species......