• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP MPs in Disarray - Quite unprecedented

See below 3 PAP MPs and 3 different versions. I can't recall a time when the PAP has become disjointed to this end.

"Constructive politics means putting Singaporeans first": MP Jessica Tan

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...ans-putting-singaporeans-first-mp-jessica-tan

A manpower policy that advocates hiring "Singaporeans first" will not benefit the economy in the long term, said Senior Minister of State for Manpower Amy Khor in Parliament on Tuesday

http://www.straitstimes.com/the-big...licy-will-not-benefit-ec#sthash.abNbegut.dpuf

“If someonewere to ask me honestly whether the lives of all Singaporeans have become better in these last few years, I would not be able to do that.” Inderjit Singh

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/pap-mp-in...-in-wide-ranging-facebook-post-090404111.html

PAP MP Inderjit Singh confronts Singapore’s hard truths in wide-ranging Facebook post
By Michelle Kwara | Yahoo Newsroom – 17 hours ago

Yahoo Newsroom 26 May 2014.

People’s Action Party Member of Parliament Inderjit Singh has written a lengthy – if surprisingly critical – commentary on the performance of the government under the ruling party in the past three years.
The disconnect between Singapore’s wealth and citizens’ well-being, the importing of talent, the complacency and elitism in the top ranks of civil servants, and the national identity for Singapore’s young people – these were the issues the former deputy government whip raised in a Facebook post Monday night titled “Response to the President Address At the Re-Opening of 2nd Session of Parliament May 2014”.
Known to be vocal about political issues – he spoke against the population White Paper that projected as many as 6.9 million people in the city-state by 2030 and eventually abstained from voting on it – Singh explained that he was sharing his thoughts on the social media platform since he was currently overseas and could not participate in the parliamentary debates on President Tony Tan Keng Yam’s address.
An MP for the Ang Mo Kio group representation constituency, along with Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Singh noted that after the general election in 2011, the government got a very clear signal from Singaporeans about the issues that affected them most and the government spent considerable time fixing these problems.
The problems themselves were “created as a result of a decade long series of policy misjudgment linked to its ‘growth at all cost’ economic strategy” but he added that since then the government has done well in many areas, particularly in sorting out issues in housing, healthcare and even transport to some extent. He then elaborated on the areas that he believed had yet to be sufficiently tackled.
Disconnect between Singapore’s wealth and citizens’ well-being
Singh said that while the country has become richer, not all Singaporeans are reaping the benefits of that growth as some citizens face even tougher times coping with the rising cost of living than before. Even though Singapore has emerged relatively unscathed from the 2008 global economic crisis, Singh questioned if the lives of average Singaporeans had improved.
He commended the Pioneer Package, but said that beyond it, “If someone were to ask me honestly whether the lives of all Singaporeans have become better in these last few years, I would not be able to do that.”
Singh also disagreed with the government’s approach of linking asset appreciation to homes. He cautioned against “overly emphasizing the role of the home in providing for retirement adequacy” as this asset appreciation would instead create stress on the younger generation who would have to deal with rising house prices.
He called it “an inter-generational transfer of wealth”, where young working Singaporeans pay elderly retirees inflated prices for their homes.
The MP also criticized the promotion of medical tourism done by government restructured hospitals amid the crunch in hospital beds. He said, “Shouldn't the services in our government restructured be for Singaporeans and residents first?”
Importing talent and creating wealth for citizens
According to a recent wealth report by Barclays bank, Singapore has the fifth-highest concentration of millionaires in the world and was the fastest place for one to accumulate wealth, but Singh doubted that the rise in wealth had been equitable. Instead, he believed that a large number of the wealthy resident millionaires are new citizens or PRs who had “transplanted their wealth” into Singapore.
He also suggested that the reported increase in Singaporeans’ median income was highly correlated to the increase in the number of new citizens and PRs.
Singh wrote, “Today we are willing to achieve growth by transplanting what others, including foreigners can do into Singapore – an 'instant tree' mentality of sorts -- what pride do Singaporeans have in such a prosperity?” He added that “the ends have too often been used to justify the means.”
While he praised the government for heading in the right direction with its “inclusive growth strategy”, he identified low wages as the root cause of the problem in creating wealth for citizens. Singh said, “I urge this government to further develop the [progressive wage] model”. He said, “Why not instead give everyone a decent salary so that they do not need to depend on government handouts to live comfortably?”
Is Singapore a home — or a hotel?
Singh also expressed his concerns about how members of the younger generation envision their future in Singapore.
He shared his friend’s thoughts about the country. A 30-year-old man was quoted saying, “At times, I do not feel like Singapore is my home. Yes Singapore is a brilliant place to make money but not to live anymore.” He also lamented that Singapore “seems more and more like a 6 star hotel - emphasized by the huge amount of imported wealth and labour - where everything is perfect if you can pay the high room rates.”
Singh believed that the influx of foreigners has “destabilized” Singapore a little and has “reversed our gains on building a national identity”. He admitted that “the government made a mistake of bringing in too many foreigners [too] fast”, as he had indicated in his speech on the White Paper in 2013.
While it is not possible to ask new citizens and residents to return to their countries, Singh encouraged the government and Singaporeans to focus on making things work with “those who are committed to Singapore and treat Singapore as their own home" and not "bend backwards" to give privileges to those who see Singapore as a stepping stone.
Singh also emphasized the need to keep in touch with talented Singaporeans students studying overseas, to “make them feel more wanted and welcome to come back” instead of having to bring in foreign talent.
Complacency and elitism in top ranks of civil service
Singh also spoke out against the complacency and elitism he “detected” in the top ranks of civil servants. He said, "today’s policy makers live in a different society from the average Singaporean”.
The MP said that during his Meet-the-People sessions, he had encountered a number of residents who questioned the rationale of government policies.
He urged the government to consider reorganizing the policy making process, to “reverse it to make it more bottom-up and driven by the man in the street” instead of the top-down approach of policies crafted by those seated in “an ideal clean and sterile policy lab or an ivory tower”.
Singh had observed that the civil service’s top ranks are populated by scholars chosen for their academic achievements. He expressed concern that these scholars, who are “parachuted” to high positions at a young age, may not have the experience or understanding to craft policies for the rest of the population.
Singh supported a different approach to talent management in the public service, saying that “we need the best people for the respective jobs not necessarily the best academically qualified for all the jobs.”
Since it was published on Monday evening, Singh’s post has been shared over 400 times on Facebook, garnering over 400 likes. Comments thus far have been positive, applauding Singh for his insights and thanking him for speaking out. The CEO of a Singapore home appliances and electronics company, Singh has been an MP for 18 years.

No disjointment.

1. "Singaporeans first" when it comes to constructive politics, whatever that means to them.

2. No "Singaporeans first" when it comes to employment.

3. 1 and 2 are not related to "Singaporeans First" party.

http://mothership.sg/2013/10/10-sayings-ex-top-civil-servant-ngiam-tong-dow-lays-smack/

You thought only Lee Kuan Yew could provide you with quotable quotes? Try Ngiam Tong Dow.

By Belmont Lay

Calling the former top civil servant Ngiam Tong Dow “outspoken” is like saying a nuclear holocaust is “regrettable”.

Because that would be an understatement.

You might have to hear it to believe it. But the quotes this man gives makes him a living legend.

Ngiam has served as Permanent Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office under Lee Kuan Yew, as well as in various other ministries. He has earned his reputation as a no-nonsense kind of guy. Someone with clout. Someone who can speak his mind without fear or favour.

At 73, he could be trimming bonsai, shooting the breeze and smoking a pipe.

But no, he is still out laying the smack down on everyone.

So, here are 10 Ngiam Tong Dow sayings from his recent wide-ranging interview in the September edition of the Singapore Medical Association newsletter that will make him go down in history for giving it like a manly man.

1. “I think a lot of these pseudo-economists and pseudo-politicians say Singaporeans should be employed first, but are Singaporeans fit or willing to do some of these job?”

gilbert-goh
Source

Ngiam shows what he thinks of today’s naysayers who regard foreigners as stealing Singaporeans’ jobs.

2. “My favourite topic — I’m on public record — is Formula 1 (F1). We’re paying the Englishmen to stage the F1 night race here. Why should we use taxpayers’ money to pay for these races? I have asked this question publicly, but the MOF has never addressed it.”

ministry-of-finance-sg
Source

Ngiam thinks the Ministry of Finance is dodgy.

3. “I was born in a generation where every cent counts, so I believe we should spend our money wisely, and not on frivolities. Sometimes, I think our present Cabinet spends money on frivolities, and staging the F1 is my “favourite” example.”

singapore-cabinet
Source

Ngiam tells the present Cabinet ministers to shove it with their frivolities.

4. “A Hong Kong delegation asked me what I consider frivolities. In Hong Kong, they have fireworks displays every year. One of the delegates asked me whether I thought it was a waste of public money. If everyone in Hong Kong can see the fireworks, then there is no waste; if only a restricted number of people can see it, then the money spent is wasted.”

ndp-fireworks
Source

Ngiam tells why a public good paid for by taxpayers should be non-rivalrous.

5. “For example, one of my favourite topics to show the stark difference in priorities during my younger days and today is work-life balance. During my younger days, we never thought of work-life balance. For me, my first plane ride was for a work conference in Bangkok!”

singapore-passport
Source

Ngiam thinks work-life balance is making our present generation chumps.

6. “In the early days, Lim Kim San and Goh Keng Swee worked night and day, and they were truly dedicated. I don’t know whether Lee Kuan Yew will agree but it started going downhill when we started to raise ministers’ salaries, not even pegging them to the national salary but aligning them with the top 10.”

parliament-singapore
Source

Ngiam thinks Singapore’s leaders are overpaid and it’s not working out.

7. “When you raise ministers’ salaries to the point that they’re earning millions of dollar, every minister — no matter how much he wants to turn up and tell Hsien Loong off or whatever — will hesitate when he thinks of his million-dollar salary. Even if he wants to do it, his wife will stop him.”

lee-hsien-loong-casual
Source

Ngiam calls the Prime Minister “Hsien Loong” casually. And he labels ministers’ wives as gold diggers.

8. “The Civil Service has definitely become tamer, which is not good because we need a contest of ideas. The difference is that no one wants to make a sacrifice any more. The first generation of PAP was purely grassroots, but the problem today is that PAP is a bit too elitist.”

pap-supporter
Source: Terence Lee

Ngiam tells the Civil Service and PAP to shove it.

9. “We shouldn’t buy trophies. The best thing is to train our own people and give them the experience. I wrote an article some time ago on how we were spending over $6 billion trying to raise productivity. I found out that we have 30,000 trained workers each year, if we took into account the graduates from all our universities, polytechnics and Institutes of Technical Education! Yet, our employers refuse to take them on because they say that while the graduates may have the theories, they may not be able to do the job!”

nus-graduation
Source

Ngiam wants to nurture our own local talents to unlock their own achievements.

10. “For example, the delivery of medical care falls squarely on the shoulders of our nurses, so I was very upset to read that our Population White Paper classified nursing as a “low-skilled” job. Whoever passed that document should have his pay revoked. (laughs)”

nurses-singapore
Source

Ngiam wants to revoke the salaries of some people who worked on the unpopular Population White Paper.

Somebody, give this man a beer.

Read Ngiam’s full interview here.

Find Mothership.SG on Facebook and Twitter.

Tags: Ngiam Tong Dow

Indranee Rajah who is known to be gutsy yet rational appeared out of sorts when she launched into a m&d-racking session over the WP's idea of "constructive politics". Her speech was essentially one about WP town council and the often repeated slur about friends of WP running the town council.

I wonder if PAP MPs realise that Singaporeans are more incensed than ever before about the state of affairs. They are seeking answers which are not forthcoming.

Here are main grips of Singaporeans about the PAP

1) PAP does not care about its people, just the growth of the economy

2) Foreigners are treated better by the PAP and this message driven down daily in one form or another

3) Perceived abuse of the CPF and the repeated failure to answer questions about the it or being evasive and disingenuous with their answers

4) Repeatedly making changes and enacting new rules and regulations to stifle or curtail free speech and open dialogue on national issues

5) Perceived abuse of the legal system - law suits, Woffles Wu, perceived differences in sentencing based on nationality,

6) Complete failure in recent policies as well as failure to engage Singaporeans at the policy drafting stage. List of policy failures

hahaha....classic post..
3 papee MPs so called spinning 3 versions...is nothing lah..
my master, scroobal, 1 person can easily spin 3 versions of the same issue....he has proven this many times.

Well, all I can say is this Inderjit Singh is one of the few PAP MPs with empathy for the man on the street. Really refreshing to see a PAP MP openly criticising the government's shortcomings, instead of the typical shirking of responsiibility and shooting their mouth off making comments that are contrary to reality.

The guy walked out of Parliament when the white paper was voted on as the party whip was not lifted. Prior to that he spoke his mind on the white paper. Bloody gutsy. He was one of their most loyal and active MPs yet this last term he must have realised the writing on the wall.

All this proves is that words mean nothing and actions are all that counts.

Ever notice he was pulling quite a few punches when he should have hit harder? He tried hard to mitigate his harsh words with complimentary bandaids here and there. Like saying altho the govt tries hard to fill the glass half full, it is still half empty..etc..

Well, all I can say is this Inderjit Singh is one of the few PAP MPs with empathy for the man on the street. Really refreshing to see a PAP MP openly criticising the government's shortcomings, instead of the typical shirking of responsiibility and shooting their mouth off making comments that are contrary to reality.

Ever notice he was pulling quite a few punches when he should have hit harder?

obviously...hes not a brash dickhead like roy...in politics one needs to choose ones words carefully.....the true meaning is not lost on those who can read between the lines.

The guy walked out of Parliament when the white paper was voted on as the party whip was not lifted. Prior to that he spoke his mind on the white paper. Bloody gutsy. He was one of their most loyal and active MPs yet this last term he must have realised the writing on the wall.

Of course, you can say this Indian is stupid. But i don't believe he is stupid. I should say he is a brave man with lots of heart for the common people on the street. When other MPs keep their head low, he spoke up. But i know he is going to leave the Parliament real soon.

This Singh got the balls to tell his own party the harm done to the people and the country with their dumb policies. He would make a good oppo party member if ever he walked out on pappies.

Ngiam calls the Prime Minister “Hsien Loong” casually.

People who are really casual with gay Loong call him "Ah loong". Only i call him gay loong.

Bayi suddenly see the lights after rendering decades of loyal services to the pap? I won't buy it. Why only voice out at last term?

No disjointment.

1. "Singaporeans first" when it comes to constructive politics, whatever that means to them.

2. No "Singaporeans first" when it comes to employment.

3. 1 and 2 are not related to "Singaporeans First" party.

WHAT THE FUCK

JUST MAKE ALL THEM PAPs DANCE UNDER THE LAMP POSTS WITH THEIR COLLABORATORS

DRAG THAT SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE FROM HIS FUCKING BED TO MAKE HIM DANCE INSTEAD OF ALLOWING HIM TO DIE IN BED

MAKE IT VERY CLEAR THAT THE FUCKING PAPs ARE SCREWING AND SUEING THE SINGAPOREANS
AND NOT JUST ROY

PAPs ARE ATTACKING SINGAPOREANS BY THIS ATTACK ON ROY
PAPs ARE FIXING THEIR PIANO WIRES AROUND THE NECKS OF SINGAPOREANS
PAPs ARE FIXING THE NECKLACE OF BURNING CAR TYRES ON THE NECKS OF SINGAPOREANS
WILL SINGAPOREANS REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH FOR PAPs TO FUCK
AND TO TIEW AND TO TIE PIANO WIRES?

TURN UP AT THE RALLY AT HONG LIM TO SUPPORT ROY AND SHOW PAPs WE FIGHT THIS TIME
ENOUGH IS ENOUGH

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.
Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

GET RID OF THE POISON IN SINGAPORE
HANG ALL THOSE FUCKING PAPs AND THEIR COLLABORATORS
BBQ THE BASTARD PAPs

AND SINGAPORE CAN BE AS GOOD IF NOT BETTER THAN SWITZERLAND

OR REMAIN HEAD DOWN DOWN AND ARSEHOLES UP HIGH HIGH TO BE FUCKED TO BE TIEWED TO BE KANNED BY THE PAP MAGGOTS COCKROACHES

Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.

They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP.

Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.

Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
Despite their being hung as a fucking millstones around the necks of Singaporeans and the idiocy and corrupt manipulations of PAP and LKY, Singapore still not dead yet.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN

WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.

AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.

https://www.torproject.org/about/overview.html.en