• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is the cost of everyday items in singapore on par with western nations?

Let's just put aside the currency exchange rate between say sg and aus or the us. Let's not talk about housing or private transportation but just talk about everyday items like food and so on.

A typical fastfood meal in sg would be around say 5 dollars upwards so if we were to say the cost of the item was similar to SG in AUS a typical fastfood meal in sg would also cost 5 and when converted to SGD would be around 5.6SGD. If the cost of the fastfood meal was cheaper in aus it would cost say maybe just 4aussie dollars and be around 4.5sgd. It's not that difficult cos the aussie and sgd are so close to each other in terms of value.

Let's say it was in jamaican dollars instead. 1 sgd = 80 jamaican dollars a fastfood meal priced over there in sg prices would be 400 dollars and upwards it would just throw your way of looking at the value of things all out of wack.

That's why i hate those countries that use currency with super low value like the dong or the rupiah.

makes you wonder why doesn't the world use a single common currency...

electronic stuff here more expensive.............that's why angmohs that used to buy here no longer do that liao..........

many things here also cost more.................

food here cost less...............

but overall since our pay less than Western countries..............you can say things cost more here..........

while car and home prices here are absurd...............the fact that people here still buy at those prices show just how pathetic S'poreans truly are.............

Taxi lower in Korea. Foodfare also on par or lower but less crowded and drinks r free.. U get free water from water dispensers in the foodcourt. Think in Food Republic in Hong Kong also cheaper. Plus MTR don't break down so often. In US supermarket items r cheaper and better quality. Car rental slightly cheaper and gas is half price than here.

LIVE WIT IT.

Anyway you look at it, sinkies been fucked and screwed and raped of their $$$$ by smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY and his gang of PAP maggots cockroaches

You been forced head down down and arseholes up high high to be raped and tiewed by those bastards of PAP laughing all the way to your arseholes and all the way to their banks

Taxi lower in Korea. Foodfare also on par or lower but less crowded and drinks r free.. U get free water from water dispensers in the foodcourt. Think in Food Republic in Hong Kong also cheaper. Plus MTR don't break down so often. In US supermarket items r cheaper and better quality. Car rental slightly cheaper and gas is half price than here.

Despite all that, the world still thinks sinkapore is heaven ...PAP spin is very good leh.

I can definitely buy cheaper in US than in Sinkieland.
Even household appliances are cheaper in Thailand than Singapore.

PAP has fucked the peasants enuff...time for a change of government! :oIo:

I can definitely buy cheaper in US than in Sinkieland.
Even household appliances are cheaper in Thailand than Singapore.

PAP has fucked the peasants enuff...time for a change of government! :oIo:

It's cheaper and less crowded and more comfortable. Only problem u can't get your favourite mee pok tah or Kueh Chiap there!!

Nope. We exceed them.

Just last week, an American friend on holiday here commented that a basic everyday milkshake costs an exorbitant SGD5 and above and in US they will never pay more than USD2 (SGD2.6) for a milkshake.

Let's just put aside the currency exchange rate between say sg and aus or the us. Let's not talk about housing or private transportation but just talk about everyday items like food and so on.

Nope. We exceed them.

Just last week, an American friend on holiday here commented that a basic everyday milkshake costs an exorbitant SGD5 and above and in US they will never pay more than USD2 (SGD2.6) for a milkshake.

Oops, a milkshake cost $5 now? Where did your friend buy from?

Nope. We exceed them.

I often shop at Amazon. Last weeks I received my Braun electric tooth brush model 5000 which costs only US$117. You can't this model in Spore. Over here you can only find the model 300 for something like almost $300. In the US the model 300 costs US$69.97. The only problem is the 120V voltage. A minor thing since I already have a step down transformer.

Something I also picked up was an internet radio which isn't even available in Spore. Other things that were cheaper: a bluetooth speaker BTX500, a HRT monitor,....

I'll be going to get another Braun electric tooth for the family. Those Braun toothbrushes work really well.

Just ask the FTs. 9 in 10 will tell you it is more expensive or on par and I mean those FTs from the first world as well. Medical expenses are the worst esp dental expenses which are not covered under company's insurance.

Prob is those FT may be on expat terms so gets 'cost of living' allowances. Even if they on local terms, they may be paid high salaries to cushion the blow!!

Expat terms have been a thing of the past some years back. Only the very top management posts get expat terms and they are not as good as before i.e. they don't get perks like maid allowance and children's education allowance now. Even if they are on expat terms, they will also tell you that things are more expensive here. Just ask those FTs who have live and worked in other countries. I know this global head of a logistic company who have lived here for 9 years and have always been complaining about the high cost of living in a 3rd world country here. He had to cut down on his wake boarding lesson because they increase the fees and he buy his shirts in London where they are cheaper. Even FTs are feeling the heat too.

Agree but they still outnumber us at the pubs and restaurants!!

men's underwear is really cheap in sg, especially made in china boxer shorts with the fei loong or jimbo brand. :D