• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Huat Ah – PAP will help “asset-rich, cash poor” sinkies

Head line say PAP take care of you, read fine prints they want to squeeze you more. HUAT AH sinkies! And do you believe PAP dare touch the rich to pay more?

Govt 'will look out for asset-rich, cash-poor'
Fairer tax regime, help schemes for sandwiched elderly: Lawrence Wong

Published on Nov 18, 2013, 6:57 AM

The Government's move towards a more progressive tax system will help address the concerns of asset-rich, cash-poor older Singaporeans, Acting Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Lawrence Wong said yesterday.

In designing its tax system, the Government is "very mindful of this particular group of sandwiched Singaporeans", he said in response to concerns raised by residents of Joo Chiat in a dialogue.

For instance, it has moved away from using Housing Board flat type as the qualifying criteria for Budget surplus sharing schemes, he said.

These schemes now use the annual value of property, which Mr Wong said is a "fairer system" because owners of lower-end private property can also benefit.

<style> <!-- /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:Times; panose-1:2 0 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0; mso-font-charset:0; mso-generic-font-family:auto; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:3 0 0 0 1 0;} @font-face {font-family:"MS 明朝"; panose-1:0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0; mso-font-charset:128; mso-generic-font-family:roman; mso-font-format:other; mso-font-pitch:fixed; mso-font-signature:1 134676480 16 0 131072 0;} @font-face {font-family:"Cambria Math"; panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:1; mso-generic-font-family:roman; mso-font-format:other; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:0 0 0 0 0 0;} @font-face {font-family:Cambria; panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:0; mso-generic-font-family:auto; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:3 0 0 0 1 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-unhide:no; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:"MS 明朝"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;} p {mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-margin-top-alt:auto; margin-right:0in; mso-margin-bottom-alt:auto; margin-left:0in; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:Times; mso-fareast-font-family:"MS 明朝"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman";} .MsoChpDefault {mso-style-type:export-only; mso-default-props:yes; font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:"MS 明朝"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;} @page WordSection1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.WordSection1 {page:WordSection1;} --> </style> Many of the Joo Chiat residents at yesterday's dialogue, which was held at the end of Mr Wong's visit to the single-member constituency, were retirees living in private property.

Three of them were unhappy that although they had little or no income, they or family members could not qualify for the Community Health Assist Scheme (Chas), which subsidises care at private general practitioner clinics.

Others were worried about large hospital bills.

Opera Estate Neighbourhood Committee chairman Chris Chen, 70, said he had to pay a hefty property tax for his home, which he bought when it cost "less than the cost of buying a car today".

Mr Wong said the Government's challenge is how to design a progressive tax system that is fair and just, even while looking after people like Mr Chen.

"We do need to find ways in which we can continue to generate more resources in a sustainable fashion, in a fair and just way that will allow us to redistribute these resources to those in need."

Elaborating on the Government's thinking, Mr Wong said it is fair for "those with means" to pay more taxes, defining "means" in two ways: income and wealth.

"Those with more income ought to pay more, I think that's fair. Those with more wealth, wealth in terms of assets, ought to pay a bit more than those with less," he said.

The Government is already committed to spending more in areas like health care. It also draws on the Net Investment Returns of the reserves to fund its spending, he added.

But it also wants to avoid the plight of some European countries, where future generations will have to foot the bill for current debts.

On residents' health-care concerns, Mr Wong said those who do not qualify for Chas can appeal to the Health Ministry or look to other social assistance measures like ComCare, which comes with "very flexible" criteria.

On whether Singaporeans, especially those from the higher-income group, can expect to pay more taxes in future, Mr Wong told reporters no immediate tax increases are expected. The Government is "trying to do the best we can" with what it has today.

But, he added: "Eventually, if we continue to spend more, then we must find ways in which we can cover this future spending with additional revenues."

Reiterating a point he made in the dialogue, which had "A Caring Community" as its theme, Mr Wong called on citizens to also think of how they can help one another - in true kampung spirit.

"Then we will have more balanced responsibilities between the Government and community, all doing our part to help the vulnerable segments of society.

PAP regime would implement 10% gst because according to PM Lee HSIEN LOONG, SON OF LEE KUAN YEW AND FATHER OF LEE YI PENG (bei bei albino idiot), GST is meant to help the poor

And with 20% gst, that will help the poor even more
What wonderful spin words can be used for

And you bet your life all the doggies and hosanna sayers will say kudos to PAP for such wise words

But sinkies voted and voted for that

Sinkies should get what they voted for
No more
No less

I wonder how many of their relatives are in that category?

Oh... it for their own people "Opera Estate Neighbourhood Committee chairman Chris Chen, 70, said he had to pay a hefty property tax for his home, which he bought when it cost "less than the cost of buying a car today"."

How can he help the poor if he doesn't define the definition of poverty?

Isn't that like handing a shotgun to a hunter and tell him to shoot anything that moves?

You wonder how they ever passed Economics 101. Don't they know that the poor pay more proportionally with consumption taxes?

Asset rich sinkies should simply cash in some of their assets. Are the peasants so stupid that they can't even work things out for themselves or are they so used to being spoonfed that they have to rely on others to make every single decision for them. :rolleyes:

they shall sell their assets below market price to the government?

these are the typical selfish bastards who want everything for free. they want a big house, welfare, free medical benefits, pension, etc but are lazy unemployed and usually claim too old to work. usuaully lives in large landed houses and refused to cash out partly because of face and also afraid to lose out(kiasu). . these are the bastards that deserved to die and I would not help these assholes out even when they fall down by the road side. No wonder the young ones are asking what the point of doing NS??? for what ?? to protect these selfish bastards and their properties??? No you have the MIW helping these bastards because of votes and also because I suspect alot of them are thier own relatives!!!! real slefush bastards alll of them. simple logic is if got no money sell your house and downgrade to flats. If no money to buy car downgrade to MRT. Bastards!!!!Bastards!!!!Bastards!!!!

Sinkies: Asset Rich Cash Poor

PAP regime: Asset Poor Cash Rich

Why?

Answer:
PAP regime illegally taking Sinkie CPF (CASH) into their own custody.

sinkies basically are hardworking and prudent but they were forced to work like slave because their cash are snatched by PAP in the form of CPF.

PAP wasn't talking about "asset-rich, cash-poor" when Singaporeans were asset-rich, cash-poor. In fact the term was coined from the ground.

They are now talking about "asset-rich, cash-poor" when Singaporeans are no longer asset-rich, cash-poor. Today, Singaporeans are neither asset-rich nor cash-rich.

This is how slow they are to recognize circumstances.

Please ask those who are really asset-rich, cash-poor to sell their assets so that they will have more cash. Or can also ask those who are cash-rich but who did nothing useful to earn that cash, to give some of it away. :rolleyes:

these are the typical selfish bastards who want everything for free. they want a big house, welfare, free medical benefits, pension, etc but are lazy unemployed and usually claim too old to work. usuaully lives in large landed houses and refused to cash out partly because of face and also afraid to lose out(kiasu). . these are the bastards that deserved to die and I would not help these assholes out even when they fall down by the road side. No wonder the young ones are asking what the point of doing NS??? for what ?? to protect these selfish bastards and their properties??? No you have the MIW helping these bastards because of votes and also because I suspect alot of them are thier own relatives!!!! real slefush bastards alll of them. simple logic is if got no money sell your house and downgrade to flats. If no money to buy car downgrade to MRT. Bastards!!!!Bastards!!!!Bastards!!!!

Sour venom spewed by a pigoen hole dweller............... yucks!

Please ask those who are really asset-rich, cash-poor to sell their assets so that they will have more cash. Or can also ask those who are cash-rich but who did nothing useful to earn that cash, to give some of it away. :rolleyes:

and pay dearly for a pigeon hole??? dun forget they had the foresight to invest in landed prop before Mah BT fucked it up.............. you were not smart enuf then so why begrudge them?

How can he help the poor if he doesn't define the definition of poverty?

Isn't that like handing a shotgun to a hunter and tell him to shoot anything that moves?

Yeah ....like wtf is this cheebye pap govt saying?

If i am retired and jobless and lives ina huge bungalow that i can still expect the govt to hand out money to me? What kind of stupid "taking it to the extremes" kinda fucked up shit is it? Or is it one of those specially planned bullshit cheebye pap campaigns that forces people to take polarised views of the situation so that we can wholly reject any notion of helping the disadvantaged....

By the way ....anyone living in a multi million dollarroperty cannot expect the fucking government for handout..... Its just like me buying a fucking bentley and saying that i got no fucking money to top up the gas so can the public monies be given to me so that i can continue driving.... If you live in a huge home that is worth a lot of fucking money, too fucking bad....sell that shit and move into a smaller condo and enjoy that cash for your "retirement"....

These pap fuckers have really run dry of any fucking ideas to ingratiate themselves with their joo chiat dissidents..... Talk about blatant vote buying and pork barrel politics.....

No wonder these fucking bastards weer talking about their fucking kueh lapis.....so there is a someing for everyone including the rich who are on top of the heap right? In fact last i recalled the champion kueh lapis with the prunes had the layer of prunes only for the top layer...so thats where the beat of the so called govt goodies are gonna go right ccb!!??

Fucking pap has putlived its usefullness.....kick these treacherous and traitorous fuckers out already!!