• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fuck the ruling party for overcrowding this tiny island!

a country's natural population does not explode over 10 years. singaporeans were not making love fast enough to make enough babies to cause traffic jams.

if you want to have a bigger family at home, you would try to move to a bigger house or build an extra room before squeezing more people in. unless you're still living in the 60s and 70s and you think 6-8 to a room is equitable for a post-developing country.

oh, so now we're comparing to 1st world city again? sure. give me the freedoms and safety nets of chicago and then you can compare to chicago. if not, please stick to 3rd world countries.

why must always compare? why can't singapore set its own pace? our leaders only know how to photostat?

of course must compare mah
if you think Singapore is crowded, maybe try hong kong or Mumbai or dakka or even Bangkok
I think we are manageable
we have different reasons for doing what we are doing
importing foreigners is one of the fastest ways to increase one's population
the Nordic countries are doing it....the americans and the Australians are also doing that
in fact most first world countries are doing that....even in the Middle East , you see plenty of foreign workers
unfortunately, we do not have the natural resources, the space and the land
but I must say we are doing well...doing reasonably well despite all the constraints....
if crowded, cannot find a car park, leave your car at home or just take public transport....
Singapore is still a livable city
it is still a wonderful city - clean, green, safe and affordable....
as long as our economy is progressing and as long as we have peace, harmony and confidence....

Now learn to live with new shitizens.
Now see more new shitizens feeding kopi to uncles at neighbourhood hawker centres.

you can see foreign maids doing all the menial chores - taking care of our old and feeble and feeding them

without them , I think Singapore will be in some trouble.....singaporeans are getting more pampered
and the elderly are being left alone, abandoned and uncared for....

even those old folks homes are serviced by mainly foreigners..
so we do need these people...

our situation is unique and we cannot simply be like other more fortunate countries
we are severely handicapped in many areas
we should count our blessings instead of finding faults and kpkb
do some thing,contribute some thing, invent something instead of condemning Singapore....cheers!!!

wendychan

At 6.15 this evening, queued 30 minutes to find a parking lot at Plaza S'pura, but failed to find one so drove off to Thomson Plaza. Car park was also full and left for home after waiting for 20 mins.

Tiu nia seng! How are we gonna live when the population hits 7m?

you should have gone and park outside a church or temple . sure confirmed no fine one....
not something i would do, but i see it so common

peppertail

At 6.15 this evening, queued 30 minutes to find a parking lot at Plaza S'pura, but failed to find one so drove off to Thomson Plaza. Car park was also full and left for home after waiting for 20 mins.

Driving a car in Singapore is stupid. Blame yourself for not using alternative modes of transport.

streetcry

New citizens have to shoulder responsibilities of being a Singaporean: ESM Goh

Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said new citizens have to shoulder the obligations and responsibilities of being a Singaporean even as they enjoy the benefits and privileges.

singapore-street-scene.jpg
Pedestrians walk along the street of Orchard Road in Singapore's upmarket shopping belt. (AFP/ROSLAN RAHMAN)

SINGAPORE: Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong said new citizens have to shoulder the obligations and responsibilities of being a Singaporean even as they enjoy the benefits and privileges.

Speaking to 132 new Singaporeans at the national citizenship ceremony on Saturday morning, Mr Goh said they now share a common future with other fellow Singaporeans.

He encouraged them to consider how they can as part of the Singapore family build a better home by caring for and strengthening the relationships between the people living in the home.

He urged the new citizens to reach out to fellow Singaporeans as they are also likely to appreciate and reciprocate.

At the same time, Mr Goh called on other Singaporeans to help new citizens integrate and adjust to their new home.

He said new Singaporeans should take the initiative to involve themselves in community events and activities.
They can play a part by volunteering with grassroots and civil society organisations.

About 3,600 other new citizens would also be affirming their commitment to Singapore at ceremonies across the island this weekend.

- CNA/fa

peppertail

Driving a car in Singapore is stupid. Blame yourself for not using alternative modes of transport.

Come to think of it, it's even more stupid to queue 30 minutes for a lot. Park some distance away and walk...

Singaporeans and their cars make me want to vomit sometimes.

bryanlim1972

no need to lecture us on 3rd or 1st world countries. singaporeans are a well traveled bunch. look at natas fair annual turnover for starters.

want to copy, must also copy with brains right? if your daihatsu charade can only seat 4 adults, and you want to squeeze in 6 adults + 2 kids, then its going to be bloody uncomfortable for all except the driver and the one riding shot gun.

if you think Singapore is crowded, maybe try hong kong or Mumbai or dakka or even Bangkok
the Nordic countries are doing it....the americans and the Australians are also doing that
in fact most first world countries are doing that....even in the Middle East , you see plenty of foreign workers
but I must say we are doing well...doing reasonably well despite all the constraints....
if crowded, cannot find a car park, leave your car at home or just take public transport....
as long as our economy is progressing and as long as we have peace, harmony and confidence....

pocoyo

In sg, you pay thousands for a damn car but you can't find a parking lot or get stuck in traffic jam.

You also get to pay fine for illegal parking or parking without a valid cupon...the list goes on.

In the end, who is happy?

Of course the great PAP that boon be be....

peppertail

In sg, you pay thousands for a damn car but you can't find a parking lot or get stuck in traffic jam.

You also get to pay fine for illegal parking or parking without a valid cupon...the list goes on.

Why buy a car in the first place?

escher

Fucking the PAP party no point at all.

Pray pray pray for that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY to go meet his ghouls and demons all waiting waiting to rape and screw him
in all his orifices and not even giving him time out to eat joss sticks and candle wax.

His collection of greedy selfish vicious bags of excrement he put into the PAP and prepared to work for him in PAP will all go
hooting his son, gecko family and all that stand between them and the billions

Hoot ah! Hoot hoot hooot ah! Hoot ah! Hoot hoot ah!

We all of course be doing our yum sengs and dancing on table tops and strees while they all go hooting hooting each other ah!

Satyr

O

I was thinking the same thing last night. 8.30 pm at a public carpark in the suburbs and no empty slots. Worse still LTA mobile wardens handing out parking summons like no tomorrow to cars parked on side streets because drivers have no other choice. Way to go PAP. You are losing votes every weekend.

Satyr

Population target is 8 million. If we kick them out in 2016, we can bring population back to 4 million.

Sorry dear, the target is whatever it takes to fill the coffers. 7 million (oops 6.9 million) in 2030, 8 million in 2035 and 10 million in 2037, who knows. Notice no mention was made of projections post 2030 ? Policy makers do not have to compete for limited resources. They live above the clouds. You guys are so screwed.

Satyr

Hi Uncle, if you throw yourself off a tower you can keep saying " so far so good" all the way till the precise second you hit the ground. I would say don't be an idiot but you are just one of millions in this place and it would make no difference.

ray_of_hope

Strangley enough this is nothing new to me. I last tried to park at Plaza S'pura some 4 years back but without success.
I then decided to use the carpark at Park Mall, opposite Istana Park. (I got a lot but at a high level.) I rarely venture into Orchard Road these days. :o

you should have gone and park outside a church or temple . sure confirmed no fine one....
not something i would do, but i see it so common

another great observation!
the church and temple near my house
all the illegal parking
no traffic summons at all...very safe
even the traffic wardens scared of GOD and spirits

Strangley enough this is nothing new to me. I last tried to park at Plaza S'pura some 4 years back but without success.
I then decided to use the carpark at Park Mall, opposite Istana Park. (I got a lot but at a high level.) I rarely venture into Orchard Road these days. :o
many shopping malls best to avoid lah....
or just take the nearest mrt will do

Mr Goh said they now share a common future with other fellow Singaporeans.

No they won't you twit. They'll make their money and they'll then give up their citizenships and go home with their windfalls. :rolleyes:

the government and tax men will be very happy
be very precise...not the pap hor