• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why price of coffee went up in cofee shop?

griffin

Today I had my cuppa in my regular kopi-tiam. I was charged $1.10. I asked why was I being charged 10cts more. The kopi-tiam lady sheepishly replied that since Singaporeans received government GST vouchers of $500/- all the coffee shops had raised prices. Ridiculous isn't it? As far as I know, the prices of ingredients to make beverages have not gone up. I suspect coffee shop owners are going to make thousands per month. This is plain profiteering. What about those who did not receive this voucher like PRs? http://www.singsupplies.com/images/smilies/frown.gif

$1.10 you complain. Over at Ang Mo Kio Ave 3, they are already at $1.20 since beginning of June.

one can of sprite $1.40 ....horfan $4.00 minimum >give crab stick!!! and plenty of starch and kueyteow!!!

the standard of our food has gone down to the longkang and the price keeps shooting higher and higher..

i went to an indian stall and ordered my favourite fried beehoon with ikan bilis....the plate came as fast as i turned my back...i looked at my beehoon goreng > red coloured soft beehoon with plenty of catchap - no frying. i called the waiter..." is this beehoon goreng ?" ...he said yes....i asked again...." you want to eat?".... i walked off after a mouthful!!!....nahbeh, beehoon goreng your head!!! $4.00!!!!

ah loonz gahmen has achieved another success! ...

world crass price 4 kopi n beehoon goreng! ...

ah loonz gahmen has achieved another success! ...

world crass price 4 kopi n beehoon goreng! ...

everybody simply follows just because government gives money
my usual bakchomee went up from $2.50 to $3.00

my usual teochew bakso now $3.50 to $4.50 and $5.50......

my famous bakchomee in Crawford Lane now minimum $5!!!....in fact less ingredients than the previous $4 !

....lamenting of tragedy due to PAP...

1. who did you vote for?
2. PAP?
3. then complain what?
4. next time when you order coffee, right hand hold coffee cup and drink, left hand put into your pants and squeeze your balls.

1. who did you vote for?
2. PAP?
3. then complain what?
4. next time when you order coffee, right hand hold coffee cup and drink, left hand put into your pants and squeeze your balls.

I doubt he'll do that. He has been singing the praises of PAP all day and night.

........... This is plain profiteering....

Might be so, but what's wrong with that? As long as customers pay the amount requested, it is a sale. A dollar and ten might be expensive to you at a coffee shop (and me too), but there are people who will pay more and not complain, and patronise again the following day. The best way to save money is to not patronise the shop at all, and if enough customers do that, the operator will reduce the price.

The best way to save money is to not patronise the shop at all, and if enough customers do that, the operator will reduce the price.

Agree. All about supply and demand. Luckily for me, the nearest kpt from my place charges 80 cents.

Today I had my cuppa in my regular kopi-tiam. I was charged $1.10. I asked why was I being charged 10cts more. The kopi-tiam lady sheepishly replied that since Singaporeans received government GST vouchers of $500/- all the coffee shops had raised prices. Ridiculous isn't it? As far as I know, the prices of ingredients to make beverages have not gone up. I suspect coffee shop owners are going to make thousands per month. This is plain profiteering. What about those who did not receive this voucher like PRs? http://www.singsupplies.com/images/smilies/frown.gif

if you drink plain water, you will not have such problem.

everybody simply follows just because government gives money
my usual bakchomee went up from $2.50 to $3.00

my usual teochew bakso now $3.50 to $4.50 and $5.50......

my famous bakchomee in Crawford Lane now minimum $5!!!....in fact less ingredients than the previous $4 !

if you are a vegetarian, you will not have such problem.

I suspect coffee shop owners are going to make thousands per month. This is plain profiteering.

If you believe coffee shop owners are earning a windfall, you should stop whinging and whining and buy yourself a coffee shop.:rolleyes:

Vegetarian makan is expensive too.

Our vegetarian food sold out there are extremely unhealthy, to the point that, its better you eat normal food. They ARE MOSTL flour, plenty oil, & mostly deep fried. The vegetables dishes have plenty of oil, ajinomoto etc..

It is a great illusion that you are eating healthy food...but many eat them, not because of health reasons...more of religious belief...The one thing that amuses me, is that, there have the "MOCK" thing.

Mock fish
Mock duck
Mock chicken rice
Mock curry chicken...

Mock this , mock that, might as well eat the real thing...the prices they charge for the so-called vegetarian food, is a great MOCKery.

Talking about price increases, I had recently mentioned , this was before the GST whatever the government 'donated' to the people. Prices of food eating out had increased from 50cts to $1. Ordinary coffee shops, mini food court & the biggest culprit KOPI DIAM!, which I will try to avoid.

For example, a cup of teh si, kopi si, had gone up from 1.10 to 1.20 & my less caffeine, no sugar drink..."ice kosong"... that is boiled water with ice cubes..from 30cts to 40cts to 50CTS!!..I wondered if cost of water had shot up by 100%?? Wantan mee ( noodle) from $2.50 to $3.00, Mee Pok dry/soup from $2.50 to $3.50....duck rice $2.50 to $3.00, & so was chicken rice from $2.50 to $3.00. Malay food constant at $2.50 but quantity shrunk..so you are forced to buy UP SIZE - $3 for your normal $2.50 meal...

The complaint from the food sellers are, rental had gone up, cleaning costs had gone up...& you have "members' buying coffee shop units for 20 plus millions...how do you expect prices will not increase...

Our wages are falling fast behind, rises in basic food prices...even the cost of cooking had gone up by at least 50-60%, sometime to an extend that it cost a little more, factoring you pay for your own maintaenence & cleaning at home, like electricity, gas, water...cost slight more or just the same for the plate of whatever you EAT outside...

The culprit in this multiplier effect , WHOM DID YOU VOTE FOR??:mad:

if you drink plain water, you will not have such problem.

vegetarian dishes are just as expensive, if not more. i went to a vegetarian wedding dinner and i was told each table of 8 dishes cost the couple $1000 !!!..flour and gluten mostly!!!

i don't mind paying a bit more for the food, the fact is the standard of the food is dismal and the ingredients are less and very unhealthy - look at the reused oil many hawkers are using. it's shocking!

i patronised on new curry chicken stall near by place. $4....fair enough. but i looked at the bowl of curry mee, i simply could not eat! it was flooded with thick oil..oil..oil....i took a mouthful and left!!!

i now prefer to eat at home....truly.

Need to correct ...not only PRs did not receive $500 vouchers. I did not received either.