• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Indon Mat in my company

Most Bros close to me here knows that I have been in the Marine Industry for some time now.. And I have this thing to share with you guys..

My one time mentor a local Malay Uncle was sidelined for a promotion many times.. He's now in his mid 50s.. He's a very experienced man, a diligent hardworking chap who knows the regional waters like the back of his hand.. I owed it to him that I managed to eke out a good living being in the Marine Industry.. I learnt a lot from his kind guidance when I first joined the Marine Industry..

Unfortunately my Mentor have quite a poor command of English and this put him at a disadvantage.. My company then promoted this Indon Mat in his early 40s as our vessel's Bosun..For Bros who don't know what a Bosun is.. Bosun is like a ship's Supervisor in charge with delegating crews to their respective duties when onboard the vessel..

This Yaya Indon Mat used to be just an ordinary crew but his advantage was that, he knew how to carry balls with the top chaps in my office..To his credit, he's also a capable chap.. His command of English is quite good even though he obtained just a miserly secondary education back in his native Batam.. I'm really pissed off that my Mentor was overlooked and this fucktard Indon Mat got the nod for promotion..

This Indon chap who is on Work Permit then obtained an approval from MOM to marry a local Sinkie Minah.. They have been married for 2 years now..I'm just wondering if one day the MOM would revoke his work permit since I heard there have been many cases in the past where WP holders who married Sinkie females but later on failed to have their work permit renewed.. Latest news that I heard from the office was that, the PR application of this Indon Mat was rejected and MOM gave him the reason that his application was unsuccessful due to his low education..

tough luck, indon bosun got screwed but that will not mean your local mat mentor can get promotion. your company can easily hire a keling or filipino for the job.

Raiders

It always pay to carry balls. The reason why I left my job and started out on my own is because the manager was more fucked up than Tonychat, Scroobal, IHP, KNNBCCB, RonRon, LTB, Leongsam added up together. But he knew how to carry balls and even when he was slacking so much until the company's performance was at its lowest for the 6 years, the bosses sided with him. Really champion.

In life you will find that there are basically 2 types of people - one manages the boss and the other manages his work. There is very little that you can do except do your boss and hold your head high.

I am actually quite surprised as the marine industry relies heavily on people with experience and good instinct. Paper qualification in this high risk industry does not help much. In fact I understand that more than any other industry, legends are quite well known and people in the industry know these legends for their exceptional nautical qualities.

In life you will find that there are basically 2 types of people - one manages the boss and the other manages his work. There is very little that you can do except do your boss and hold your head high.

I am actually quite surprised as the marine industry relies heavily on people with experience and good instinct. Paper qualification in this high risk industry does not help much. In fact I understand that more than any other industry, legends are quite well known and people in the industry know these legends for their exceptional nautical qualities.

I have worked with these people before in my brief step into the marine industry...people like "TUCK YEW" no match..honest!

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
how come you still talking about me ah? Am i that bad?

It always pay to carry balls. The reason why I left my job and started out on my own is because the manager was more fucked up than Tonychat, Scroobal, IHP, KNNBCCB, RonRon, LTB, Leongsam added up together. But he knew how to carry balls and even when he was slacking so much until the company's performance was at its lowest for the 6 years, the bosses sided with him. Really champion.

KNNBCCB

Nin na beh i got so bad meh...

how come you still talking about me ah? Am i that bad?

at least i am better than u. lousy manager... puik..

I suspect that my company is saving money by promoting the Indon chap instead of the local Malay uncle..

From what I understand, this Indon chap only earns 1.6 to 1.8k even though he was promoted.. He's not eligible for any overtime pay.. The same goes to the rest of the Indon crew in our company who earns less than 1k a month.. In fact an any newbie local crew who joins my company earns 3x more than the Indon chaps..But too bad young S'poreans are not interested in joining this industry due to the tough working environment and being constantly away from family..

I really feel that my company snubbed my ex mentor for the promotion as he's now earning more than 3k a month not including our overseas allowance..Maybe they thought that they could save money this way by promoting the Indon Mat as the Bosun and paying him just 1.8 k a month..

Whatever it is, I really feel that its not fair of them to give my ex mentor the cold shoulder each time there is a promotion in our company.. The local chaps in the vessel are unhappy that they are taking orders under a foreigner that is beginning to behave big headed when he was elevated to his present post..

I have worked with these people before in my brief step into the marine industry...people like "TUCK YEW" no match..honest!

Still got a quite a number of local oldies in my company.. Most are Malays and Chinese.. Their tanned skin tells a thousand stories..

I'm lucky enough to have the opportunity to sail with them during the beginning of my career.. Most of them are in their late 50s, early 60s now.. Bloody tough lot.. Will miss them when they retire in few years time..

TS story is being played out daily across singapore at all levels in all industries. FTs replace locals. So what else is new? 60.1% say they want to stay with the familiar 'tried and tested'. Short of a coup or revolution.........its status quo. So all who kpkb just suck thumb.

I am not surprised bro. I have mostly interacted with them on the recreational side. They tell you of legends that they meet. I was told of a Marine Police vet, Malay chap, no paper qualification who will called out when someone goes overboard because he can beat any hydrographer when it comes to tide.

You are probably right. FT are cheaper and easier to get rid of. And I agree that it does not make for pleasant work environment when the someone less capable is dishing out the orders. I have seen it in local accounting industry when local accountants are replaced by cheap Indians. Nearly every Indian has got accounting qualifications. How to survive.

I suspect that my company is saving money by promoting the Indon chap instead of the local Malay uncle..

Whatever it is, I really feel that its not fair of them to give my ex mentor the cold shoulder each time there is a promotion in our company.. The local chaps in the vessel are unhappy that they are taking orders under a foreigner that is beginning to behave big headed when he was elevated to his present post..

Sadly have to agree.

It reminds me of the US many years ago when many Singaporeans went there to work on the believe that they would get citizenship after 7 years. The employers happily pay them cheap wages and one year before reaching 7 years, they are let go. Many in the F&B industry. In my reservist company had a few, old timers who had to make up for the missing years.

TS story is being played out daily across singapore at all levels in all industries. FTs replace locals. So what else is new? 60.1% say they want to stay with the familiar 'tried and tested'. Short of a coup or revolution.........its status quo. So all who kpkb just suck thumb.

Tuayapeh

You were not your bosses' pimp understand?? Thats why........

tough luck, indon bosun got screwed but that will not mean your local mat mentor can get promotion. your company can easily hire a keling or filipino for the job.

Kelings are dumped to the quayside to do heavy lifting jobs.. There used to be few Pinoy bosuns before but all left to join other Marine companies.. The remaining Pinoys are either in the diving unit or doing Store jobs..

I feel for my Mat mentor who have been in the company for 30 years.. He's not the one who is crazy for promotions.. Tough experienced chap who does his work quietly without seeking any recognition from the office..

In the end, that fucktard Indon Mat who got the credit just because he was pally with few high positioned chaps in the Office..Fucker got good networking skills.. Loves attending company's get together sessions every year and our end of the year company dinners..

kukubird58

hahaha....what you see may not be always what you get....
in shipyards, there are experienced people who refused to be prompted to higher posts like foremen....
reason is that they will get less take home pay after such promotion as foremen are not entitled to OT pay.

rambo22

Fucker got good networking skills.. Loves attending company's get together sessions every year and our end of the year

Honestly to cari makan

one need not have to be hard working

it is not HOW HARD U WORK

it is HOW U ANGKAT