• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Getai not retaining the old culture.......

csi88

Nowadays getai is not like the olden days.Men MC dress as ladies and even exposed their breast thinking is funny to thrill the audience.Not forgetting pole dancing also featured in certain getai. What culture are we talking here? Language spoken also getting vulgar. Furthermore,are singers allow to go down from the stage and sing in the crowd? Is there any rules and regulations?

I am quite disappointed too. It seems to die off. Sad to see them disappear. But the burning is getting more and more.More smoke and more haze.

Agree. It is getting ridiculous.

I will not be surprised if the next thing they will be parading maybe makcik with big melons.:o

I think the older folks are fading away. The young Singaporeans are moving away from this Hungry Ghost festival. The New Comers do not like this smoky and burning stuff that pollute the air. This getai and hungry ghost will soon disappear into history. Many New Citizens and arrivals do not really want to participate in such activities anymore. But contractors still invite their workers to dine and to drink at these hungry ghost dinners. Will be around for some time.But maybe no burning anymore.

I have watch quite a few getais this year. Some of them are shit but there some who are quite professional. Especially those from 麗星, with LED display panels, dancers, nice lightings.... looks upmarket. There were even some popular Taiwanese singers too. The MCs were also very good.

Agreed that some of the languages used are crude but no harm with a little bit of "spices". Its all for the entertainment.

It hasn't been that way for quite a while now.

Another pet peeve: the HDB estates have restricted the auctions by limiting the sound volume and time of the event.

Nowadays getai is not like the olden days.Men MC dress as ladies and even exposed their breast thinking is funny to thrill the audience.Not forgetting pole dancing also featured in certain getai. What culture are we talking here? Language spoken also getting vulgar. Furthermore,are singers allow to go down from the stage and sing in the crowd? Is there any rules and regulations?

Getai is meant for ghost to watch. All the older ghost has reincarnated, so they have to make changes to attract younger ghost.

Another pet peeve: the HDB estates have restricted the auctions by limiting the sound volume and time of the event.

That's quite truth. In the past, almost every neighbourhood has a 中元會 with residents eagerly participating. Very few estates has these now. And most of the better getais are being held at industrial estates, where the business bosses can afford.

Only silly people will pay for such things. Pollute the air a lot and dirty the place.

bro, its all the while the same restriction. its the people are getting less tolerating, thats why kena hamtam. anyway if u notice, nowadays getai mostly at industrial, office or business area. residential area 中元会 seldom got getai and dinner liao. must be the rising cost and decreasing income among the residents. this is a good barometer for the heartland residents wealth and income. a good way to measure wealth for sociology.

Yes every year will get a lot of invites to go 'jiak toh'....from kakis who bidded the previous year....this year less invite....heard some 'up6' this month because no money to settle the bids. Many also tone down celebrations due to less contributions and budget. No joke this is what is happening on the ground.....citizens of 2nd richest country?

the world is changing
singapore is changing
the demographic landscape is changing
so getais and hungry ghosts also changing
of course you still have some die-hards
those rabid dogs and aliens
still burning and bullying people
but they will die off soon
before the next 7th moon....

The older ones are tired of the same old thing.Some got no more money to continue to support and pay for the dinner. The younger ones have better things to do. Getais are getting more expensive, more elaborate, more daring and more foreign. Getais will die a natural death .....

0183c0c4.jpg

Are getai shows here - even those in the heartlands - getting raunchier?

Two Saturdays ago at Sungei Kadut, Singaporean emcee Guo Min performed in a low-cut cheongsam that exposed her cleavage.

She also gyrated in front of the audience and with her hands placed in front of her breasts, she repeatedly mimicked a milking motion.

Last Sunday, a Taiwanese getai artiste, Lin Yu (above), performed a pole dance at a carpark in Sembawang and showed off her undies in the process.

Attended one getai last week and for a moment though I have landed in taiwan or xiamen....the singers all sang hokkien songs, the mc spoke in hokkien, the auction/bidding was conducted mostly in hokkien and the people in the crowd seem to be mainly hokkien speakers. If you asked me what is the difference between getai today and those of yesteryears it is that last time you could hear alot more mandarin songs, listen to more mandarin or even teochew being spoken but today it has become an almost exclusive hokkien affair...

wah hokkien pai kia sia. Yio ah yio sio lee yio.

If any forummers could produce some pictures of the getai from the 60s would be good for nostalgia.
There used to be many itenerant hawkers present close to these shows.
We should not forget our humble past.

Have to change if not no viewer. Best if they can Sing Korea POP.
Maybe Oppo GangNam style.

If any forummers could produce some pictures of the getai from the 60s would be good for nostalgia.
There used to be many itenerant hawkers present close to these shows.
We should not forget our humble past.

lianbeng reminds u of those good old days gone by: koh lian ah lian huay ah sit jai koh lian tye!:D