• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PSA get screwed in Pakistan

[h=2]PSA get screwed in Pakistan[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
August 29th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Online Press

Gwadar-Port-300x154.jpg
Gwadar Port

(29 Aug) – The Singapore Port Authority (SPA) and its partners — National Logistics Cell and AKD group — have finally been allowed to quit Gwadar Port’s 40-year management and development contract after the government’s failure to transfer 584 acres of land in adverse possession of Pakistan Navy at the mouth of the port to pave way for its takeover by China.

“We have not been able to meet contractual obligations and resolve land issues. As a result they (SPA and its partners) have gone under duress and we issued them an NOC (no objection certificate) yesterday to give up their (management, operation, maintenance and development) contract,” Ports and Shipping Minister Babar Khan Ghauri told a meeting of the Senate’s Standing Committee on Ports and Shipping on Tuesday.
Sardar Fateh Muhammad Hassani chaired the meeting. “Now the Chinese will take over the Gwadar Port,” he said.

He indicated that China would invest US$10 billion to develop the port and manage its operations, but did not go into details about the proposed agreement.

After its development by the Chinese government at a cost of $288 million, Pakistan’s only deep seawater port was handed over to the SPA under a 40-year concession agreement in February 2007 for its “management, operations, maintenance and development”.

The NLC and AKD group of Karachi also held smaller shareholding in the agreement, which offered only nine per cent of gross income to the federal and provincial governments.

Ghauri regretted that while many people in the country blamed international players for unrest in Balochistan and competing regional port operators for failing the Gwadar Port, it was “shameful” that a friendly foreign operator had to leave the port because of the navy’s changing positions on vacating the land despite a clear cut decision by the government.

He warned that if the 584-acre plot at Shamba Ismail was not immediately vacated and transferred to the port, even the Chinese would not be able to develop the project as deepwater trans-shipment port.

He said the Chinese had turned down a request to take part in the bidding for operations of the port before the agreement was signed with the SPA joint venture, but now they were interested in the project.

Ghauri said the three services had been allotted about 25,000 acres to vacate the port’s land, but the navy started changing its position. It first sought 10 million rupees ($105,396) per acre of land which it had purchased at 180 rupees and then demanded an alternative plot of 1,000 acres. It then increased the demand to 1,615 acres and finally to 2,200 acres.

The minister said the demands were not acceptable and the Balochistan government was ready to provide an equal land (584 acres), of which 350 acres of government land was readily available while the remaining would be provided after purchasing it from private owners.
Rest of the article from: http://www.asianewsnet.net/home/news.php?id=35682&sec=2

They got screwed big time in Yemen too back then...ran back with tucked tails

Thats the problem when you work with terrorists states. They don't honour agreements.

You have brought a breath of fresh air to this forum with your knowledge, your insight and your wisdom.

Of course the PK will side PRC, they pump in most $$$ and helping them on the defense ind. what can PSA do LL. most of the time when they invest overseas will end up as sucker

Those Pakis will screw anybody, the Indians, afghans, Americans, Singkies and Chinese too, they will even screw themselves. In fact they leave the baddest screwing for themselves.

ya, man! ...

how cud world crass, world bestest, world lumpar 1 sinkie gahmen psa b so stoopig 2 wok wif dem? ...

Our gahmen is very good in screwing peasants/ikan bilis of their money, however
our gahmen alway got screwed big time by foreign cuntry, NTUC is so BIG in Sickapoor
but in Burma now Myanmar NTUC has to closed shop!! Don't asked my why?
Screwed in China!
Myanmar
Indonesia
Thailand
Some more to add...

our gahmen alway got screwed big time by foreign cuntry, NTUC is so BIG in Sickapoor
Screwed in China!
Myanmar
Indonesia
Thailand
Some more to add...

Thats right. singkies like you cant survive elsewhere one.

Screwed in China!
Myanmar
Indonesia
Thailand
Some more to add...

At least we are good at something....well done!

Those Pakis will screw anybody, the Indians, afghans, Americans, Singkies and Chinese too, they will even screw themselves. In fact they leave the baddest screwing for themselves.

that is true, but it shows the sheer stupidity of temasek to work with these terrorist states and get screwed by them. temesek thinks the whole world is like singapore. sorry, not every head of SWF gets to sleep with the prime minister.

Sometimes no choice. We need to expand outwards. We may get screwed, we may not.
China will also surely get screwed in this deal but they will suck it in for geo political reasons. They want to by pass south china sea and develop and alternative route to the Indian Ocean thru Gwadar.

They screw Sporeans back home..

But outside from Spore, they kena screw by clever Foreigners..

Serve the fuckin PAP right..

Gwadar has always belonged to the Tiongs. China has a strategic interest in the port city, which is well-located for keeping tabs on the American-Jewish 'democracy spreaders' going in and out of the Gulf of Oman.

Yeah, democracy no good.

Sometimes no choice. We need to expand outwards. We may get screwed, we may not.
China will also surely get screwed in this deal but they will suck it in for geo political reasons. They want to by pass south china sea and develop and alternative route to the Indian Ocean thru Gwadar.

if we need to expand outwards, then we should adopt an "outward" mind attitude. not every country abhors corruption like we do. how the heck are our citizens suppose to do business overseas with laws prosecuting corrupt acts of singaporeans committed overseas?

the dumb fcuk sinkies handling the deal should have just paid off the navy for the land. that's how it works.

i agree we have no choice but to expand overseas, but the choice of investment locations and partners... WTF. seems like our scholars go tru a 100 point check list in choosing foreign partners, but leave all common sense at home.

PSA is a crumbling organization, just like SMRT under Saw.

Didn't you read the top article? Paying the military would have made the venture unworkable.
It was probably smart that PSA made the hard decision to pull out.

Didn't you read the top article? Paying the military would have made the venture unworkable.
It was probably smart that PSA made the hard decision to pull out.

it would have been smarter to avoid dealing with "terrorist" states altogether.
the lessons of suzhou have not been well learnt
is it so unthinkable to invest the money in our people instead of overseas?