• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Testimony of my Conversion

Dear brothers and sisters in SBF, it had been a few days of contemplation and soul searching for me to share the testimony of my conversion with all of you and finally I had picked up my courage to go ahead.

I arrived in Singapore's Changi airport on Monday 5pm it was almost half an hour later than scheduled. Usually I will take a taxi directly home in Queenstown but this time because I was late arriving I decided to go directly from the airport to meet a friend who will fetch me to a dinner meeting.

Called my friend he told me to meet him at the Aljunied MRT station carpark. As Aljunied is not very far I decided to take the MRT instead of a taxi. Pushing my very big luggage I made my way to the airport MRT station. When I finally arrived at the end of terminal 2 and turned left I was confronted with a very large and expansive hall housing the MRT station and I believe also served as a link between terminals. I was totally absorbed by this big hall. Getting down to the platform to board my train was made easy with the efficient escalators. To cut the long story short the train ride was comfortable and not a squeeze. Upon arriving at the Aljunied station I was able to take the lift down to the control center level and this made traveling with my big luggage a breeze. Exiting the station I could push my luggage down the slopes created for handicap passengers as well as those like me with luggages.

The whole process of lugging a big luggage in and around our transport system was so efficient and easy and I began to think hey why did I always fuck PAP when they had made my life so simple and comfortable, am I mad? I was filled with remorse and tears almost filled my eyes. And when I looked in front of me there was a large white PAP banner, I almost wanted to breakdown and apologize to it for being such a critic. At that very instant when I was about to see the bright and shining light that could take away my blindness all these years I felt a tap on my shoulder and heard a "excuse me sirrrrr" (you must roll your tongue really quick with the Rs) followed with strange tongue speaking to me a language I could not understand, I turned around and told the person speaking to me that I could not understand. He suddenly felt embarrassed and apologized to me as said he thought I was a pinoy who had just arrived. I was a little taken aback and then looked around me and all over me and suddenly I heard many many strange tongues speaking many different languages that I could understand. I immediately felt rage and more rage and I started to ask myself where am I where am I, this is not the Singapore that I used to know? That Singapore where I could understand what people were talking and I felt I am like in Babel. Curses started to rain down once again and darkness prevailed.

The title of this thread should be "Testimony of my Near-Miss Conversion" but then I guess its still appropriate as the situation is like a double conversion.

No need to be thankful, you pay for everything you deserve, it takes 2 hands to clap, without millions of us, there will be no sinkieland. And don't be fooled by the surface, it's ugly behind closed door.

I share a similar experience every time I go back to Singapore for a short visit. Taxi's dirt cheap and are a breeze to secure (I either book one via iPhone app or from a Hotel lobby) and I even tip the taxi driver with at least $2, MRT stations are friggin everywhere.

TP is so much more "forgiving" in SG, I can "zoom" up and down Bkt Timah Rd at 90km/h and hit 140km/h on the PIE and so long as I'm going with the flow and know where the cameras are, no problemmo.

FTs serve me with a smile and Singaporeans all seem so friendly....

Until I realise that I practically now mingle amongst the privileged class and all that separates me from the real Singapore is a thinly veiled facade.

Tear away that thin veneer and I see the struggles of the older Singaporeans who slaved for PAP and fed on their lies, only now to be spat out on the streets, begging for morsels of sustenance from foreigners who now plow the very roads that they built.

The title of this thread should be "Testimony of my Near-Miss Conversion" but then I guess its still appropriate as the situation is like a double conversion.

it's ok to go thru' the total conversion. strange tongues have to be treated with a positive attitude. the last thing i want to hear when arriving in sg is singlish. burmese, thai, laotian, hmong, nepalese tongues are all welcome! can't stand vietnamese though, as we have a lot of them viet tongue twisters and partially severed tongues here in the bay area. enough of them.

arriving in sg is an extremely pleasant experience. like you, i was highly critical of the gov and pappies until i made the journey to see for myself to check out on all the rants and ramblings on sbf about horrid living conditions and constant breakdown and failure of infrastructure. the trip was supposed to add fuel and evidence to my expectations. instead, i became a convert. don't believe all the bs about the crumbling of sg on sbf. while it is obvious there are some losers complaining all the time, every soul i met on the last trip was pleasant, happy, helpful, friendly, positive yet busy. even table cleaners at food courts were efficient and quick. before i fully finish my meal, they would take away my tray. so ahead of the curve. :D

Life in Singapore is great. Thats why we have so many visitors and people who want to work here.
We don't need to convert at all.

No need to be thankful, you pay for everything you deserve, it takes 2 hands to clap, without millions of us, there will be no sinkieland. And don't be fooled by the surface, it's ugly behind closed door.

Yes scratch the surface a little deeper and the real sinkapoor is revealed! Often tourists and most recent FTs could only see the surface and think the bloody hell good of sinkapoor. I always tell them to talk to sinkies to find out more the real state of affairs under emperor LKY.

Usually in half an hour or so, I can convince them the ugly side is hidden from view. Not so rosy and not too good. We sinkies are the better judge of our sinkapoor.

What exactly is the ugly side hidden from view that you can bring up sir?

the only ugly side are some singkies who complain a lot for nothing.

Yes scratch the surface a little deeper and the real sinkapoor is revealed!.... Not so rosy and not too good. We sinkies are the better judge of our sinkapoor.

i went beyond scratching the surface.

met ah peks and ah pors selling tissues. asked them why they were in such a trade, and almost all except two replied that their children abandoned them. the other two gambled their savings away. i tailed one, and the ah pek led me to a "handler" doing inventory on tissues, counting cash and paying "tips" to returning pushers akin to the drug scene on the streets of oakland. they were working for a fecking syndicate. organized crime, except that they didn't steal, rob or kill. their so called "poor" condition had nothing to do with the gov. in fact the authorities should be applauded for not clamping down on them or stopping their activities. they're free to make money, with margins 10 to 20 times the cost of doing business.

asked table cleaners at food courts why they continued working past retirement age. out of 9, 6 were abandoned by children, and 3 never married. all never attain primary school education.

assisted family in interviewing job applicants for family business. offered sgd2k, but no sinkies wanted the job. one condition was that they must drive the company van home for the weekend after the last delivery on saturday morning, and return with the van to work on monday morning. no local takers after almost 2 weeks, so we ended up giving the jobs to prc chinamen. they're still on the job.

You are absolutely correct my fren. The people who rant against the govt about old folks scrapping in the streets don't know enough because they never cared enough in the first place to know what is really happening.
Nicole Seah herself started doing digging deeper after the elections admitted that the bottom 20% are very well taken cared of. The problem is not money, its not enough people wanting to volunteer or serve.

sam offered sgd2k per month to sbf members for investigative reporting on the so called "poor" in sg, but so far i've not seen any takers. even if there's no monetary incentive, i expect sbf complainers and whiners to sacrifice some of their time away from ktvs, hfjs, and chicken houses to dig deeper and provide real life stories and evidence supporting their claims, not just post plagiarized pics and images. they need to go beyond just the visual surface and not tell half truths about the low level of income they earn. be inquisitive and deep dive on why they are abandoned, broke, and destitute. you'll be surprised that most of their sorry condition are a result of their own vice and device. my parents who never had primary education as a result of ww2 and aftermath paid off their flat, paid full for upgrading, sent all kids to university, paid for weddings, kept their retirement money, and have some to spare for funding the tertiary education of grand kids. my siblings continue to contribute to the family pot.

perhaps, sinkies should contemplate creating family trust funds to support their parents when they grow old. please don't give me this crap excuse that the gov should raid the reserves to fund their well being. well, perhaps a community fund for those without children. that i can understand. many ww2 survivors don't get to marry and have kids. for those with children, either their grown kids plan now, pony up, prepare a war chest, or stop the finger pointing.

Learn to live with it, End of the day regardless of their nationality or Race, They are still not going to put food into your mouth or make your live any better and that includes only being surrounded by Sinkies.

my experience was slightly different at the food court. Before i had finished my meal they removed me :(

. even table cleaners at food courts were efficient and quick. before i fully finish my meal, they would take away my tray. so ahead of the curve. :D

you forgot to use tissue to "chope". :p

Tissue to 'chope' is only workable when you are getting food.

Once you start to makan and the cleaner throw you out before you're done, that one tissue also no use. :D