• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

DPM Tharman asks Singaporeans not to rely on government programmes and subsidies.

Singaporeans should take the lead to build a ‘strong and inclusive’ society rather than to depend solely on government programmes and subsidies, declared Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam.

Speaking at a National Day dinner in Jurong on Saturday, DPM Tharman said:

“Already, we have quite an active community life compared to many other countries but there are a lot more we can do to take the initiative on the ground.”

Government leaders have been exhorting Singaporeans to contribute views and do more for society in their National Day messages with DPM Tharman being the latest after Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong.

“(We can) give Singaporeans responsibility individually and in our groups – the responsibility to make this a better society, wherever we live,” he added.

If you earn $1,000.00 a month,you are guarantee a HDB flat.
What else do you expect?

1. hahahaha!
2. the botak should also ask itself.
3. why do sheep need the same herd of crying sheep & running dogs for doing nothing much?

Tharman should also tell all scholars and cronies not to rely on the government for jobs both before and after retirement.
These people should go out to the world and make a living for themselves.

The schorlars can stand on their own two feet, but we need them. Thats why they are on bonds.

Singaporeans ask government not to rely on citizens' taxes and CPF savings.

The best arrangement is we don't depend on govt, govt depend solely on import tax and GST. That way, economy will boom.

ya, man! ...

lidat gahmen got mor moni 2 fill ze pockets of ah loon n his jin-gang ... n ah kinana is xpecting bigga bonus n promotion ...

Can Zorro please go and get a job in the private sector? Thanks.

If you earn $1,000.00 a month,you are guarantee a HDB flat.
What else do you expect?

that is correct. there is no motivation to earn more than $1000. the underclass are gaming the system. but that is their right. the government should respond by lowering the figure to $849 and below before one is guaranteed a hdb flat.