• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is there anything special about Ah Kun kaya ?

maybe... but i label your indo friend as a show off.

yes ..maybe he wanted to show off . rich ppl love to do that . they love to use money to gain respect from others ;) or maybe he wanted "face " .

where is ah kun first stall ? never been to his hawker stall .. i only heard about ah kun few years back when i was in singapore .

not sure first stall or not but i remember walking from boat quay after drinking to the old telok ayer market in the early 90s to drink kopi and eat roti and tok cock till the mrt or bus start service. those days i dun even know the stall call ah kun, to me just another place that sell roti and kopi.

Telok Ayer transit market......opposite lau pasat......earlier beginnings could be somewhere else as name states that place was transit market.

I'm surprised that a simple loti kaya meal can sell so well, so much so that another company Toast Box copied Ah Kun's formula and became just as successful with branches all over South East Asia.

Is there something about Ah Kun kaya that attracts you ?

Nothing special, just someone who knows how to do business.

I'm surprised that a simple loti kaya meal can sell so well, so much so that another company Toast Box copied Ah Kun's formula and became just as successful with branches all over South East Asia.

Good Business Model and Deep Pockets

Yakun roti thrives because singkies are very rich, got a lot of money.

lianbeng noted his kaya toast set so expensive maybe thats the catch lor.:D
bread so thin kaya also so thin.

Tastiness and price does not factor much. If you are at a high rent and high traffic area, Yakun offers a relatively cheap and convenient place for a simple bread and coffee snack. Most neighbourhood coffee taste like longkang water anyway. Hardly any fragrance as they use very cheap coffee and make up for it but making it as thick as possible.

These days still got people eat half-boiled eggs ? And pour the contents of the eggs into a saucer meant for the coffee cup ?

Half boiled eggs comes with its own saucer.
I quit eating this outside, got no standard....make my own at home.
It's all in the timing.

still got people eat half-boiled eggs ? And pour the contents of the eggs into a saucer meant for the coffee cup ?
1st question, why not? Easier on the tummy than hard boiled stuffed with powdery yolk. And 2nd, like old style by old folks. Nowadays, you even get same in styrofoam cup -with all pepper and soya sauce you want.
fukyuman said:
a high rent and high traffic area, Yakun offers a relatively cheap and convenient place for a simple bread and coffee snack. Most neighbourhood coffee taste like longkang water anyway. Hardly any fragrance as they use very cheap coffee and make up for it but making it as thick as possible.
Right, much fuss on kopiam or kopitua comparison. Had my share of dish water stuff from many places, all in the name of business.

On NW's "timing", some places like Toastbox even got digital timer

lianbeng also enjoys that plus after downing the eggs pour some kopiO inside the saucer to clear the egg stains n down the throat!:Dlife is simple yet enjoyable.

I have noticed that Yat Kun had closed some stores, two of the places I visited had closed!

this sinkie logic, well well well... no one stopping u to be a robert. pls continue to eat at ah kun, ah kun boss will be please to have you as a roberthead.

You are missing the point. It is not about being a carrothead. Sometimes, you need to look at the location, the ambience, the hygiene. If you just want cheap, go ahead and patronise the cheap places. 一分钱, 一分货, you get what you pay for. If you look at only the tastiness of the food to the exclusion of everything else, then you don't really know how to live. No doubt tastiness of the food is very important, but when you are not just trying to survive each day, you will have demands on other aspects of the dining experience.

If every SGrean thinks like you do, SG will never be able to move up the food chain because they can't understand this logic.

where is ah kun first stall ? never been to his hawker stall .. i only heard about ah kun few years back when i was in singapore .

Ah Kun had his 1st staLL in TeLok Ayer Basin back in the mid 80's.Their coffee was so so onLy, but what
they did to their bread was to penkang them on top of charcoaLs with nettings above, Like bbQ.
Customers Loved it.You needed to wait for Like at Least 45mins to get your servings.
Never seen much of Ah Kun himseLf then.It was his sis & wife who run the staLL.

Nothing special to me, I've tried some old school coffee shop roti and kopi around sg, taste lagi better.

Time Change. Everything change.
I dun drink kopi or teh. I drink yuanyang.:D
my home nearby got toast box and ya kun. yuanyang from toast box taster better.

the kaya roti from ya kun all already made and deliver to his outlets.

i heard its about ya kun eggs. i dunno wats about their eggs tho.