• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Days of Montagut, Fred Perry & Munsingwear T-shirts..

Fishypie

Chinese lacquer for those with better taste.
There used to be an uncle Chinatown roadside stall famous for 'tuning' DuPonts....you get the best 'TING' from him.
Only the 'upmarket' mama shops would carry the lighter fluid in different color codes and the replacement flints.
Last visited their counter inside Taka...
The original agent/ distributor in this region was a retired standchart banker...office and service centre used to be at high street.

Oh ya, remembered the tuning part..ever foLLowed the Big boys to send their Lighters for tuning.i was thinking,LIke
what the fuck ..:eek::wink:

Nik1971

Car of choice was the Mercedes or Honda Accord.

Yeah! The Accord, was the car use as benchmark. Merc was out of reach. I remember the first accord was about $32,000

No other car makes can close at that time, early 1980. Have the corona n bluebird. Not much fight with Accord.

My favourite in the 80s :
71AADBaViRL.jpg

Fishypie

How about Lacoste and FILA? I think back then in the 80s, these sports brands quite popular..

Once I wore my dad's Montagut shirt to a pub.. The design very retro stylo..

FiLa was made popuLar by Bjorn borg.Lascoste, not reaLLy sure.My fave brand was Diadora; esp the suede Leather
shoes..wonder if Diadora stiLL exists..:wink:

Fishypie

Yeah! The Accord, was the car use as benchmark. Merc was out of reach. I remember the first accord was about $32,000

No other car makes can close at that time, early 1980. Have the corona n bluebird. Not much fight with Accord.
Oh yes, did own one at that time.Car pLate was EX8428.Honda's engine was reaLLy quite; but extremeLy Light
for safety ..:smile:

FiLa was made popuLar by Bjorn borg.Lascoste, not reaLLy sure.My fave brand was Diadora; esp the suede Leather

So many guys with moustaches also back then.

Jumong

33448090001_large.jpg

gatehousethetinkertailor

Boss - cannot afford Lacoste back then - only wear Crocodile - these were also the days that schoolkids from privileged background would buy Bata shoes - poorer HDB kids would buy Double Happiness from the chinese schoolbag/school shoes/school uniform shop in the wet market.

Also the Mats would carry Grandsport "tote" bags - on weekends they would not fret in wearing tiger print/leopard spot tights (very Glam Rock) and Hendrix hairdos - and they were not ashamed to carry their minah's handbags - they were metrosexual way before it became a cliche.....

Chinese pai kias would pull their shorts up - sec 1 to Sec 2 (preferably tighter the better) and mostly play some kind of number (Macpherson and Toa Payoh gee nah were the best known)

School canteens were also largely racially segmented - malays on the left - chinese in the middle- and tamils on the right - but all the races congregated behind the school canteen for a smoke....in tobacco, all were one especially when school prefects tried to "raid" - of course you had the occasional bad boy prefect who would tip everyone off....

I remember Siva Choy captured the racial interaction of those days with his Kitchi Boy gang book...happy days:

Fishypie

CrocodiLe did win a recent Lawsuit vs Lacoste right ?..and not forgetting those crocodiLe underwears that was
hugeLy popuLar as weLL..

Uncle Choo had a diadora shop in plaza singapura.
Together with brands like lotto, acsis, mizuno, admiral, umbro they were the sport brands of the 80s.

:smile:, but your one-Liner too chim to understand Leh..

No lah.. I remember back then so many males sporting moustaches.. Maybe it was the in thing back among the men.. Now you'll never get to see our young men having moustaches..

Fook Seng

GoldenDragon said:
16) must always be seen with Punters Way

19) Jaws grade solid gold dentures.

Someone with artistic talent should put all these in one picture. Maybe you will get a close representation of a famous forummer.

Fishypie

No lah.. I remember back then so many males sporting moustaches.. Maybe it was the in thing back among the men.. Now you'll never get to see our young men having moustaches..
Oh ya ha, you raised a vaLid point here about the moustaches..cos our spg's prefers our men 'cLeancut' ?..
And i know of some men who wanted to keep moustaches, but end up Looking more Like catfish.:eek:

During a CNY dinner at my grandparent's home in the 80s, I remember my uncle frantically finding his Dunhill lighter around the whole living room.. He forced us the kids help him search for the lighter.. In the end, the lighter was found inside the toilet.. He had forgotten that he brought the lighter along with him when he went into the toilet to pangsai..