• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Citizen's Arrest - how to do it legally?

Agoraphobic

Since there are so many cases of foreigners breaking the law in Singapore, or just plain fouling up the peace and serenity, and it is not lawful (nor civilized) to just hantam the bugger, is anyone here able to provide guidelines on how to conduct a proper and legal “Citizen’s arrest?” And if one is not a citizen, can one do that too?

Sinkies say dun be kaypoh.
And anyway expect something to go wrong since the law now is skewed towards them foreigners.
If really one crosses the line with you then just hamtam lah no choice.
Hamtam and walk away....if the guy still alive you can take your time make slow exit....if die already or bleeding profusely then you better ran away faster.

It has to be a seizable offence before you can execute a citizen's arrest.

Sinkies say dun be kaypoh....................

That's exactly what my mother would say, and she'll add that it is not up to us to settle the matter. However, if the offence being committed is causing inconvenience to possible danger to the public, rightful citizens should be able to do something as the pigs (er, cops) aren't always around, before something worse happens.

It has to be a seizable offence before you can execute a citizen's arrest.

What is considered "sizable" Has to be a degree where people around are in danger of physical hurt? If one is faced with extreme violence, it makes sense to make oneself scarce, but if it is some minor offence like eating/smoking in a non-permitted zone, what can an ordinary bloke do?

Seizable is defined in the CPC (First schedule) in terms of classes of felonies. I believe some are

1. kidnapping
2. armed robbery
3. rape
4. unlawful assembly
5. Fighting in public places etc.

Since there are so many cases of foreigners breaking the law in Singapore, or just plain fouling up the peace and serenity, and it is not lawful (nor civilized) to just hantam the bugger, is anyone here able to provide guidelines on how to conduct a proper and legal “Citizen’s arrest?” And if one is not a citizen, can one do that too?

no one mess with PAP pet monkey
monkey.jpg

That Rachel loud mouth slut who had a dispute with the Ang Mo inside the bus was trying to make a citizen's arrest. Although the Ang Mo didn't break any law by telling her to shut up because of her loud conversation on her hp, she asked the bus driver to lock all doors, stop the bus, call the police in order to settle the dispute. Furthermore, she blocked the bus' door when the Ang Moh tried to alight from the bus before the police arrived.

This is called false arrest or imprisonment. The Ang Moh has every right to alight from the bus. He has the right to make a police report for being falsely arrested or imprisoned by that Rachel slut. Furthermore, he also has the right to file a civil lawsuit against that Rachel slut for false imprisonment.

So before making a citizen's arrest, make sure you know what the law is. It's also obvious that the bus driver is ignorant of the law instead of ignoring her request to lock all doors and stop the bus.

It's very typical for lowlife uneducated Stinkie peasants to try to use the police to settle private disputes which is none of the business of the police in the first place.

The police can only intervene and make an arrest when a law has been broken. Otherwise, it's a waste of police's time and resources.