• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hougang Spring - Demise of the PAP

kingrant

Right. It's about speaking teochew and not being teochew that mattered. Only when you speak it, that it showed that you are with the ordinary folks.

Here is something more to ponder.

Who was heading Aljunied till GE2011? George Yeo right?

And who is George Yeo if not a Teochew and a Catholic to boot?

You think PAP would not have weight his factor both as a Teochew and a catholic too?

Liquigas

Think this theory about knowledge in a particular dialect in order to win in elections does not hold water now as in the past. The late Dr Goh K S spoke not a single word in Cantonese but he was able to win elections after elections in Kreta Ayer. He needed a translator each time he spoke to his constituents. In spite of this handicap, he was so popular that he was able to return unopposed in so many elections...

Fook Seng

Liquigas said:
Think this theory about knowledge in a particular dialect in order to win in elections does not hold water now as in the past. The late Dr Goh K S spoke not a single word in Cantonese but he was able to win elections after elections in Kreta Ayer. He needed a translator each time he spoke to his constituents. In spite of this handicap, he was so popular that he was able to return unopposed in so many elections...

Not speaking a dialect is not a negative (which means you can still win) but speaking an appropriate dialect is a positive. In the Hougang BE, the 2.7% swing could be due to Desmond's better Teochew than Png's.

kingrant

GKS was exceptional. His work in Social service and surveys when he was still in the colonial Civil service actually gave him a rock solid foundation in Kreta Ayer. His grassroots contact was impeccable. His assts helped him with Cantonese. People also knew him to be LKY's right hand man. His shadow over Kreta Ayer was very long for many years. No one could match him in his stature to oppose him. he was one of the 'founding' fathers, post 1959.

wikiphile

I'll venture a guess, a theory. Since dialects in the main have been eradicated from our daily lives, many of the older folks actually lost a time of their twilight lives. Then a special personality like LTK came along and touched their hearts with a special language so close to their hearts they thot they would never again listen to. If you are teochew how wld you feel if not flattered? Here is somebody finally who resonated with their past with his dialect so pure the old folks will probably sit and listen to him until the cows come home. Nobody in PAP can speak teochew like LTK, and it's not about sending a gantang teochew per se like Teo chee Hean (who's probably Baba roots anyway) who cant speak the dialect. So never underestimate the intimacy of dialects. Lim Chin Siong was a powerful Hokkien speaker who moved masses, who could also speak good Malay. I believe he also spoke cantonese with Fong Swee suan. Those days, the Chinese-educated like LCS all learnt malay, and the Malays like Said Zahari and Samad Ismail also learnt mandarin. In those days, if you cant speak dialects you have blindspots. You are handicapped. LKY suffered. Dr Lee Siew Choh throughout his political liife used English and Cantonese.

Wah bro like that i quite power

Hokkien, Teochiew, Cantonese dan bahasa melayu :biggrin:

Ok i digress, there are still a substantial amount of voters out there who speaks dialect on a daily basis. It really would help open some days with the older generation.

Here is something more to ponder.

Who was heading Aljunied till GE2011? George Yeo right?

And who is George Yeo if not a Teochew and a Catholic to boot?

You think PAP would not have weight his factor both as a Teochew and a catholic too?

what consist of aljunied? hougang ave 1 and street 21 (kovan area) and lor ah soo. These are the only places where the ex punggol ppl moved to. ave 8 was chopped to amk grc but ave 8 was hokkien. so left where, serangoon private estate, bedok reservior and bedok north had nothing to do with your teochew theory. CSM is the mp where there the most teochews but CSM was from taiwan so he a hokkien?

there maybe some ex hougang residents living currently in sengkang or punggol after they grow up and married and bought a flat at TCH GRC. sure to have some, i am one of them but is the number be so large that it make a different, i dun think.

IMHO, TCH GRC will be broken up into two, TCH will keep the pasir ris area plus part of the newer punggol estate, maybe to the north of the SLE/TPE expressway while what south of it will be a new GRC. If TSL is to helm the new GRC, then it a good chance that WP will stake claim to it.

SDA had been contesting against TCH since 97? their average shd be ard 20+% only. but shd WP be contest against TCH when WP only start contesting in GRC in 2006 after the 97GE. i dunno why WP didnt contest against TCH but i can speculate. first SDA already there, it a big GRC, was it 5 or 6 member GRC? WP not enough candidate. TCH average the high 70% every time so no confidence. but after test water in punggol estate, maybe next GE will try?

as for GY a teochew or not, i had no idea. but being a christian is an advantage in a GRC where a big portion of the voters are living in a private estate where on paper to have many christian. But GY was the mp for two vastly seperated hdb estates wheras the lying woman was the mp for the private estate.

after so many years of pap social engineering, there no dialect enclave anymore. even in hougang, the common langague is now mandarin and hokkien. teochews are only spoken by the old. if u go blk 309 coffeeshop, cantonese are common there as there a couple blocks of ex hongies staying nearby. on my mom level, only us and another family are the original leasee frm 1983, the rest of the current neighbours moved in much later when they brought from our ex neighbours and not many of them are teochews. if pap believe the teochew will vote for a fellow teochew, then they not very successful lor.

Nice-Gook

Maybe yes and maybe no.Notwithstanding,it's still just maybe.

But the fact remains that people like Dr.Goh,David Marshall and JBJ were above their peers.A factor that stood them well.

But even than just compare David Marshall vs Lee Kuan Yew.ore

David Marshall was a war hero.Yes! imprisoned and served his time in Japan.And LKY?mmm,errr a Japanese translator !...and I often wonder why the Japs needed LKY services as a translator.Since many Japanese were already residing here for decades as 'moles' !
Anyway,the contrast is startling....and we would never expect an LKY to unseat a war hero right?...but he did.And David Marshall,a much more intelligent and a better lawyer than LKY ,also knew.That as a Bagdadi Jew ,that he is living on borrowed time among majority Chinese.Hence he quit politics.

Years later JBJ,paid a similar price.Despite breaking the PAP grip and having built the defunct Workers Party for 20 years with his blood and sweat lost to LTK.Even LKY said so publicly,that there is a cultural divide between him and JBJ in a court battle.The racial divide is obvious.

Now,today it still applies.Given that 500k to a millions new citizens as voters in the next GE2016.A non PRC will stand no chance in a constituency that is full of new citizens.

cheowyonglee

I pray, wish and hope that the Workers Party will be able to recruit enough committed and passionate individuals to contest in several GRC's, and that this [Hougang Spring] will be infectious and spread like wild fire to other HDB estates, including those living in condos and landed properties, to elect more than a dozen or two dozen non-PAP MP's in 2016, so as to have sufficient fire power in Parliament.

No worry!!!The PAP doing will be watch by the heaven!!!Those ISD or PAP lampar ball carriers bastards will also be watch by the mighty heaven!!!The big big hell is always there open for these bastards to go and stay!!!

20101121223626675.jpg

Right. It's about speaking teochew and not being teochew that mattered. Only when you speak it, that it showed that you are with the ordinary folks.

hear hear.. i agree.

i cantonese but i understand teochew and hokkien. able to speak dialect give the candiate a more down to earth personality. does not matter to me if the person is english educated and cannot speak mandarin but as long can speak dialect, it tell me the candidate still have chinese culture (IMO). Even the candidate is dark skin tamil but can speak dialect or mandarin, i will vote for him over a chinese banana who only mode of communciation is english if both abilities is the same.

Nice-Gook

hear hear.. i agree.

. Even the candidate is dark skin tamil but can speak dialect or mandarin, i will vote for him over a chinese banana who only mode of communciation is english if both abilities is the same.

By that reckoning ,you will not vote for JBJ since he can neither speak a Chinese dialect nor any Indian languages.

I feel vindicated by your post.

Because PAP is playing the exact racist card.

And if new citizens are with your frame of mind...they are not going to vote for a Mandarin speaker unless he/she has a mainland twang.Which simply means a PRC or bust.

So why blame the 60%,if they have the same mindset as yours?:smile:

lockeliberal

Dear Score

I can't belief how people can still argue against success till they are blue in their face. Nice RP and others. A common thread or disagreement amongst all is a desire to oppose the PAP with an intent to Replace versus just opposing as a responsible opposition but not an opposition who is a government in waiting.

Pritam puts it well in in his speech and I still can't understand the No of People smart people who still fall into the trap. The PAP will cut your legs from under you and then ask you why you will not walk. In Aljunied they will remove key sites from town council management put them under the PA, and then ask why the WP is not around at the next GE.

I have poured over the WP parliamentary speeches and yes they have been of the same nature, pointing out flaws and suggesting better means of implementation whilst never ever suggesting "grand sounding" " Policy Alternatives" , " Health Manifestos" " National Renewal Plans" . TJS fell into the trap, Nice and others as well, Yellow Arse, JBJ, RP KJ, but the most sensible of the bunch the SDP now seeks a better balance with combining a more detailed manifesto and plans , with a grassroots outreach programme in specified areas.

Careful cautious without over stretching claims. Not seeking parliamentary fireworks , whilst working the ground assiduously, block by block, door by door, voter by voter, building a trust based on face to face contact which no amount of PAP controlled media can overcome. Sound familiar ? Well it was the PAP playbook when it to faced the hostile press of the ST back when it was in opposition. Its the exact playbook of the WP now

I have always felt that Aljunied is not "Hougang" times five that some issues within the party needs to be managed better, that perhaps there is room for a little more bite and bark in parliament to balance the grunt work on the ground, but then again when LTK and WP have proven to be bullet proof in front of Old Style PAP politics and character assasinations it is hard, hard to argue against success.

Locke

What the MSM will never tell you.

"Yee Jenn Jong

A personal journey through Hougang

http://www.facebook.com/yeejj.wp

Hougang first captured my imagination in 1991 when it unexpectedly rejected the incumbent MP, Tang Guan Seng and voted in Low Thia Khiang. I was watching the results on television and had not anticipated anything to come out of the Hougang contest as there were other more publicised fights. I was then fresh out of university and beginning my long journey of political awakening.

Hougang returned Low Thia Khiang as MP again in 1997 and 2001, despite the now infamous strategy of linking votes to PAP with estate upgrading. The upgrading carrot grew bigger in 2006. Even as a politically neutral Singaporean then, I could not stand such unfair behaviour and wrote a critical piece to The Straits Times Forum. I was relieved when both Hougang and Potong Pasir rejected the upgrading carrot. I detest unfair fights.

Such bravery was abstract to me then, as I did not live in either constituencies. I cheered them from a distance. I shared emotional links with these two constituencies, pride that there were defiant groups that dared stand up to the mighty ruling party and pride that Singapore had people-centred opposition MPs that held the hearts of the residents despite intense and unfair competition. It was hard then to feel as Hougangers do, because I did not live there nor participated in the hustlings.
Going through GE2011 as a newcomer, I was caught up with my own campaign in Joo Chiat SMC. It wasn’t until By-Election 2012 that I felt the Hougang spirit strongly. The crowd were fantastic at the rallies, vociferously cheering us in our speeches as they did in GE2011. The people were very friendly during our house visits. However, it was the heavy downpour during the rally night of 22 May that made me realised the sterner stuff they were made of. Those who had no umbrella stayed on, even the old and the frail would not move. People were sharing umbrellas, plastic sheets, newpapers and cardboards with one another, even with strangers to use these to shield off the relentless rain.

Unmoved Hougang by-election rally supporters, 22 May 2012 (picture from Royston Tan’s FB post)

The celebrations in Hougang were spontaneous when the result was announced at around 10:30 pm. Hundreds or even a thousand had gathered around each of the popular coffeeshops in Hougang. The people celebrated the announcement as if we had just won the World Cup.

A fervent supporter (photo from: https://www.facebook.com/#!/limzhilikyle)

The Thank You parade was yet a different and immersive experience. We started off in the cluster of flats around block 701. A good crowd had already gathered and chatted with us before we set off. At each block, people would come out to the windows and corridors and waved to us. Some waved blue flags, blue umbrellas, inflatable hammers and even real hammers. Some shouted “Workers’ Party” or “Huat ah!” from the windows. A primary 5 boy from Punggol Primary who had earlier had his photo taken with each of the MP / NCMPs followed our pick-up to all the different blocks to cheer us at every turn. He must have trailed us for at least 30 minutes.

Cheering from windows of flats at every block

At every traffic junction, there were loud horning, waving from wound down car windows and the occasional cheer. At one traffic junction, a man pulled beside us and chatted with Low Thia Khiang like old friends. A possession of cars sometimes followed us, happily honking away.

Chatting like old friends at a traffic junction

The mourners at a wake along Avenue 7 were amazing. They heard us from afar, rushed out and started cheering for us. As our pick-up drove past, one came forward and shook hands with us. I could not imagine that even in their mourning, they would pause to cheer for us.

Mourner shaking hands with us while the others cheered for us

At several clusters, people had heard we were coming and had gathered. The first major crowd was at Block 309/310 where several hundred people came forward, shook hands, cheered and several asked for autographs on umbrellas and flags.

Crowd at Block 309 and 310

Autographing umbrellas and flags

The most unforgetable moment was along Avenue 5, outside block 322. A crowd of several hundreds, maybe a thousand had gathered, waiting patiently for us. As we approached, they poured onto the road, oblivious of traffic around them. We stopped and celebrated with them. The people were so reluctant to leave. Volunteers had to steer them out of the traffic’s harm while we inched our way out of the area.

Crowd along Avenue 5. Click to watch video (http://youtu.be/DbsouZPDOSU)

A possession of cars following us

We continued through to every turn and corner in Hougang SMC, into dead end lanes and tiny carparks, and into every public and private housing area. At every turn, residents would come out to greet us. Low Thia Khiang would occasionally call out a resident by name. By 3:30 pm, we were done for the day.
The Thank You parade left me with lasting memories. The type of warm and spontaneous support was simply unimaginable. The cheering, clapping, singing and even dancing came from their hearts. The parade completed my journey through Hougang. What started for me in 1991 as a distant spectator of the fight for democracy has now become a part of me. I had experienced first hand their long and determined fight to keep alight the fragile flame for a fairer democracy despite huge disadvantages stacked against them. I am now a participant in this fight.
After the WP victory, The Straits Times commented, “Hougang speaks, but for itself”. Does Hougang speak only for itself? In 1991, perhaps so, then along with 3 other constituencies. The crowd at the rally did not come from just Hougang. It could not be. The crowd on the last rally night would have equalled the total number of voters in Hougang. No, they came from afar to cheer Hougang voters on.

Hougang perhaps spoke ahead of its time. It was so in 1991. Then, it spoke to me to plant the seed of political awakening in me. Its flame eventually spread to Aljunied GRC in 2011. In 2011, I witnessed an outpouring of support for the opposition that I could not have imagined in 1991. From the man in the streets, to vocal voices in the cyberworld, to professionals, businessmen and even civil servants, the fear factor and political apathy appear to have been broken. Perhaps in 2012, Hougang is again speaking, ahead of its time for all Singapore. It is perhaps speaking ahead of its time for a more inclusive political landscape and a more inclusive society. Thank you, Hougang.

An open display of support for WP in an office"

wwabbit

But even than just compare David Marshall vs Lee Kuan Yew.ore

David Marshall was a war hero.Yes! imprisoned and served his time in Japan.And LKY?mmm,errr a Japanese translator !...and I often wonder why the Japs needed LKY services as a translator.Since many Japanese were already residing here for decades as 'moles' !
Anyway,the contrast is startling....and we would never expect an LKY to unseat a war hero right?...but he did.And David Marshall,a much more intelligent and a better lawyer than LKY ,also knew.That as a Bagdadi Jew ,that he is living on borrowed time among majority Chinese.Hence he quit politics.

Not sure if we are reading the same history books, but I'm pretty sure LKY did not unseat Mr David Marshall. Mr David Marshall made Independence his primary goal and when he failed to achieve that he resigned as Chief Minister, handing over the reins to Lim Yew Hock.

By that reckoning ,you will not vote for JBJ since he can neither speak a Chinese dialect nor any Indian languages.

I feel vindicated by your post.

Because PAP is playing the exact racist card.

And if new citizens are with your frame of mind...they are not going to vote for a Mandarin speaker unless he/she has a mainland twang.Which simply means a PRC or bust.

So why blame the 60%,if they have the same mindset as yours?:smile:

sorry, my england weak lah. i dont mean that, but if a malay/indian make an effort a effort to speak some greeting in chinese langagues, it put him in good light. i no racist but i tulan chinese that forget his/her roots. too many local young chinese cannot even speak mandarin, i just encounter one local chinese OL ordering chicken rice in english and she confuse the chicken rice seller who english is limited. she ask me to translate which i refuse. i told her in the face she shd be ashamed of herself for not being able to communicate with her fellow chinese. not happy she can fark off.

As for a PRC candidate, maybe it will happen soon considering pap already use msian as candidates. i prefer to vote for a natural local born singaporean. i no fan of CSM, i personally think he overhyped but at the very least, he served his National Service. and that my bare minimium standard a candidate must have.

i know there are many forumers here are racist but majority of chinese are not like that. if all chinese are racist, then JBJ would not have won in a chinese majority Anson. Anson chinese were mainly chinese educated who cannot understand a word of england and JBJ cannot speak any of the chinese langugues. but JBJ defied logic and won in Anson.:biggrin:

Nice-Gook

Not sure if we are reading the same history books, but I'm pretty sure LKY did not unseat Mr David Marshall. Mr David Marshall made Independence his primary goal and when he failed to achieve that he resigned as Chief Minister, handing over the reins to Lim Yew Hock.

Yup,we are reading the same history.Only that I expressed mine more metaphorically.

David Marshall quit the Labor Front and handed to Lim Yew Hock.But did not quit politics.He founded Workers' Party. He lost his seat in the 1959 general election to PAP, but won a by-election in Anson in 1961

If you read further,David Marshall actually played an poignant and important political role with a trade off between the than China's premier
Zhou Enlai.Liberated more than 400 Jews entrapped in China.Also negotiated Singapore citizenship for its 220,000 China-born inhabitants,who were stateless with Zhou Enlai,with a condition that they have the right to return to China.

David Marshall played a powerful role in Singapore's politics.Yet he cannot handle PAP,which was largely backed by left wing and communist Chinese ,as majority,in that era.

Robert Half

teochew becoming linked with oppostion, just like hainanese stereotyped to be communists in past! lol

Not really. I also knew some teochew women staying Nee Soon GRC and AMK GRC pro-PAP. They are damn crazy in screaming in office to support PAP.

And I also very happy to see my former bosses who are very pro-PAP staying in Aljunied GRC in Serangoon, Paya Lebar & Eunos wards.

You morons used to say to your staffs that the person you dun like to see or meet will alway appeared in your life. Now that Aljunied GRC is control by WP and you morons also had to face Opposition MP regularly :biggrin: You all also kana back the same things

Bad Karma to fark up employers in Sinkieland :mad:

But Punggol historically, was was populated mostly by Teochews and Catholics. The end of Upper Serangoon Road is known to Teochews as kangkar or "river bank" or "river mouth". ....ever wonder why?

i think u got it wrong, i dont think kangkar mean river mouth, it a good 4-5km from the river mouth where the fish market once located. i dunno the proper english term but it should mean a small tributery of the serangoon river meet the main serangoon river. The area may have a strong teochew flavour 20, even 10 years ago but now many are lost and only memories remain.

Straits Times silent on WP victory is deafening. Not a sound and gong from them to write what actually happened in the Spring Singapore at Hougang. Everyone has to watch Youtube to feel the National spirit running high there. ST however prefered to conintue living in denial and harp about DC's victory when he actually lose with tears. If 37% is considered a victory to PAP, than all opposition in the last elections would have won big with their head held high. As such I felt Straits Times and Mediacorpse are no longer relevant in this days and age.