• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shocking: Most taxis is boh airbag one

Siah lah...really fuckers these taxi companies.

Wah lau eh…I am like between wtf and knnbccb. You mean for the sake of profits, taxi companies like Comfort Delgro (SLF, an affiliate of NTUC has more than 10% share) and SMRT (majority shareholder is Temasek) can scrimp on airbags (readhere).

For the relatively older taxi models like Toyota Crown and Nissan Cedric airbags were not so common (ok I buay song but fair enough), but surely airbags for the newer models of Hyundai Sonatas we see on the roads today should be assumed and even compulsory.

Taxi drivers spend so much time on the roads and they fetch countless number of passengers everyday, hence for the safety of all airbags should be compulsory as they can save lives. For crying out loud, taxi companies want to save $$$ might as well remove the seat belts and make the car out of canned sardines!!! (Only because the law doesn’t allow them to.)

Are the taxi companies saying that safety is not as important as profits? Are the taxi companies saying that they can pay $60K for a COE but cannot afford to install airbags? It gives me the feeling that those who drive taxis and those who take taxis don’t deserve the protection of an airbag like those who can afford to buy their own private cars. Like I said before, is being rich also being right in this country?

One would think that the union for taxi drivers would stand up for their work safety as a first and foremost mission. No matter how much we pay for taxi fares, if dead and died already also cannot earn $$$ right. But the National Taxi Association under the NTUC and the shining beacon of tripartite is either sleeping on the job or too close to taxi companies such that they cannot fully articulate the concerns of taxi drivers. No surprise that the ‘advisors’ to NTA are always PAP MPs like Seng Han Thong, Ang Hin Kee, Wee Siew Khim etc.

Even Gerard Ee says it better:

Mr Ee said: “Taxi operators should show concern for their drivers by ensuring the taxis they rent out have airbags – they can arrange to install airbags on those which do not have them by arranging for fitting to be done on (taxi drivers’) day-off and to schedule it to minimise downtime.”

In fact reading the TODAY article makes me heart ache:

Taxi drivers whose vehicles are not equipped with airbags told Today that they are concerned about bearing the cost of installing the safety feature. Mr Tan H K, 56, said: “I would also have to send my cab in and that means loss of earnings.” But Mr Patrick Aw, 54, said: “It is something I am okay living without. If it is your time to go, not even airbags can save you.”

Uncle Patrick Aw, I respect your stoic outlook but no matter whether it’s your time or not your time to punch hole in NRIC, the taxi union has a responsibility to protect the safety of taxi drivers, otherwise better call them taxi companies union.

http://www.facebook.com/notes/unbra...-most-taxis-is-boh-airbag-one/233703363409361

Raiders

I thought airbags are mandatory?

Bro, you left Singapore for too long. In Singapore, things are supposed to be like this, like that, but as long as you don't get caught, or nothing happens, no one cares. Totally unlike OZ, where the Aussies will make life hell for any non compliance.

Add airbags then excuse again to raise cabby rental and raise fares.
Job to install airbags for the fleet will go to who?
Sheep wool comes from sheep.

hurley

L9kPD.png

Ash007

In OZ, if this would happen, there would be a royal commission establish to determine why,what, how to fix things like this. At the end of the royal commission, the govt, would possibly implement recommendation on the report. There would be public outcry, and cabbie companies would most likely have to be wound out,fined.

Bro, you left Singapore for too long. In Singapore, things are supposed to be like this, like that, but as long as you don't get caught, or nothing happens, no one cares. Totally unlike OZ, where the Aussies will make life hell for any non compliance.

Airbag cost money take why taxi company take it out and each time accident airbag will active and to reset back cost money again. Taxi company see at the cost $$$$$$$ not taxi driver life not that important to them.

In OZ, if this would happen, there would be a royal commission establish to determine why,what, how to fix things like this. At the end of the royal commission, the govt, would possibly implement recommendation on the report. There would be public outcry, and cabbie companies would most likely have to be wound out,fined.
that's first world country......
sinkieland is third world cuntry.......

Debonerman

Taxi drivers' lives are next to worthless in the eyes of society especially the PAP Government. If not for the fact it was a PRC driving a Ferrari and his sin of killing and maiming so many people, you think there would be such a hullabaloo?

Tell me how long it took before the Government evinced concern and sympathy towards the victims? After the unprecedented public outrage?

Triple eyelids ugly fat PAP bitch lawyer Member of Parliament Ellen Lee basically implores people not to jump the gun in laying of fault. Her fucking ugly eyes are so heavily lidded that she must be blind or she is making tons of money serving PRC clients and was obligated to give a public blowjob to be noted by the Chinese Embassy.

.... can dun suggest airbag or not? in the end, we the consumers are the one paying for it..... permanently somemore.....

HellBoy

Yes, i was very surpise too, when a taxi uncle told me a few day ago. Only some taxi like the Merc have airbag.
But for this accident, the impact is from the side, so the airbag would not help.

I_Hate_Pappies

Singapore is a HOLLOW country while the MIWs are brainwashing people that we are a 1st world country.
Something the PAPpies' dogs failed to see or refuse to agree.

dredd

Yes, i was very surpise too, when a taxi uncle told me a few day ago. Only some taxi like the Merc have airbag.
But for this accident, the impact is from the side, so the airbag would not help.

An airbag could have saved his life, regardless of where the impact came from.

Ash007

Here is the question: Is it illegal not to have airbags in cars in Singapore? I thought they would be mandatory for cars after certain date?

Darth Sidious

Here is the question: Is it illegal not to have airbags in cars in Singapore? I thought they would be mandatory for cars after certain date?

Poodles standard "Taichi" reply would be "We can't interfere with how the taxi companies run their business".