• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

COE is a form of Indirect Tax : Yes or No

Jlokta

Why buy a car and feed the worthless PAP government?

Even if COE were $1, don't do it.

this is a necessary evil.

don't feed them with COE, they'll increase GST.

at least the lower income don't have to suffer COE when COE sky rockets, but they will be affected if GST goes sky high.

one way or the other, garmen needs to find money to replace those that GIC/TH dumped into salt sea water.

this is a necessary evil.

don't feed them with COE, they'll increase GST.

at least the lower income don't have to suffer COE when COE sky rockets, but they will be affected if GST goes sky high.

one way or the other, garmen needs to find money to replace those that GIC/TH dumped into salt sea water.

You are wrong. Higher COE means higher transport charges that get passed onto the consumers of Spore.

Jlokta

You are wrong. Higher COE means higher transport charges that get passed onto the consumers of Spore.

paiseh, i didn't know they factored in COE in their fare hike.

i always taught they always use oil price, maintenance cost and some other bull crap to justify fare increment, and that boh nao PTC always approve without much thought.

how low can these people go?

Jlokta

strictly speaking, COE is a form of consumption tax...

meaning you pay when you consume (in this case buy a car / bike) right?

so does it mean that if you don't buy anything you dont get tax?

or will the blood suckers factor this into their fare component?

Z

Zombie

meaning you pay when you consume (in this case buy a car / bike) right?
so does it mean that if you don't buy anything you dont get tax?
or will the blood suckers factor this into their fare component?

you pay consumption tax for owning a car/bike - COE (therefore public bus no COE)
you pay consumption tax for using the road - ERP and road tax (therefore (afaik) public bus got both)

xenomorph

ARF
ERP
Tax on Oil, Petrol

COE to hit S$100,000 and above soon??

coe is designed to benefit the rich. when a german car can have same coe tax as a cheapskate korean car. you know who is coming out with more disposible income to pay for the entitlement.

mollusk

All they need to do is just make public transport reliable and efficient.

But then............

they can.increase the COEs for private cars amount to 200k.nobody will be able to own a car except for those filthy rich.Our roads will be less congested and buses can arrive on time...

yes, but without COE, singapore will be jam pack with cars and there will be massive traffic jams. Then forumers will complain about traffic jams.
They always complain. Never satisfy with gov.

Cruxx

Bloody sinkie wannabes wanna own status symbols and yet they complain status symbols are expensive. What a bunch of losers Singaporeans are! :rolleyes:

Clap clap clap! Thumb Up.
Die die must buy car drive around show off and condo .
Wallet no money Credit card roll over with debt not important for younger show off generation.
Want to show off please show at least 100 pcs SG$10k note. I will look at the cash rather than car.

lifeafter41

ARF, ERP, Petrol tax is fix tax control by goverment.
COE is control buy buyer. Those not afford dont KPKB no one force them to buy.

Yes, logically that is the assumption. However, think about it, if Taxi also needs COE. Goods Vehicle/Lorry also need COE, the premium paid ultimately will be borne by the people. Same goes for ERP, Petrol Tax, ARF ,etc

This is one form of tax, albeit indirectly.