• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

YOG caterer acts on food

cheekenpie

Aug 13, 2010
YOUTH OLYMPIC GAMES: SINGAPORE 2010
YOG caterer acts on food

Picture of meal for volunteers sparks furore online
By Liew Hanqing

ST_17116311.jpg

The meal in a box which was posted by a volunteer on his Facebook page. The caterer said it has taken action to improve the portions and variety of food served. -- PHOTO: FACEBOOK

THE caterer for meals provided to Youth Olympic Games (YOG) volunteers has moved to improve them after complaints about the food surfaced.

The action resulted after a volunteer took a picture of the meal he was served and posted it on his Facebook page, igniting a furore.

The meal, served in a plastic box, comprised a mound of rice, a meat fillet and six pieces of long bean.

Singapore Food Industries (SFI), a subsidiary of the Singapore Airport Terminal Services (Sats), provided the food. It had been awarded a $5.5 million catering services contract by the YOG organising committee.

When contacted, a Sats spokesman confirmed that the meal in the picture was part of a meal provided to the YOG workforce. A bottled drink and some fruit were also provided, she added.

'We have received feedback from the workforce regarding the meals served. We take their feedback very seriously and have promptly taken action to improve and ensure that the portions and variety served will provide the workforce with a balanced meal.'

In its response to the criticism, the YOG's organising committee said: 'Our workforce is key to the successful organisation of the Games and their health and physical well-being is important to us.'

Added a spokesman: 'We are aware of the feedback (on the meal) and have taken immediate action. We will work with the caterers to continually improve the meal standards.'

The committee did not respond to questions on how much was budgeted for volunteers' meals and whether there had been any guidelines for food provision.

Criticism of the food has been raging online since the picture was posted on Tuesday.

One netizen, Mr Chris Liew, 33, an investment banker, said he was appalled after chancing upon the picture online.

He said: 'Even if (the meal) was an isolated incident, such a logistics oversight of providing sub-standard meals to our volunteers should have been avoided at all cost because we are hosting a world-class event after all.'

SFI's contract covers meals for up to 7,000 athletes, officials and volunteers at the Youth Olympic Village, among other things.

It is unclear whether the different groups involved in the YOG - such as full-time national servicemen and volunteers - were served different food, but their experiences were varied.

Full-time national serviceman Leslie Wong, 20, who was stationed at the Marina Bay floating platform, said the 15 or so meals he has been given so far were similar to the one that has been criticised.

He said: 'One of the meals was a dry, tasteless piece of chicken with a few slices of carrot and some soggy rice. I ended up throwing most of it away.'

He said that while he had no complaints about the portions, most of his friends on duty at the same venue chose to buy their own food instead of eating the packed meals.

But volunteer Siaw Jie Hao, 22, who helped with the YOG flame arrival celebrations at the National University of Singapore, said the food provided was acceptable.

A typical meal, he said, consisted of rice, fish and vegetables.

'The meals are not fantastic, but they're satisfactory.'

Other volunteers who spoke to The Straits Times said that they had no complaints about the food, which also included main courses of pasta, rice and noodles, and ice cream for dessert.

[email protected]

cheekenpie

Just recall how long it took before the quality of the Army food improved then you will know how fast they work.

JohnTT

This is how our YOG committee & govt treat its own people, volunteers somemore, WHAT A SHAME! On the other hand, the foreign guests are treated with nutritious food as reported in the state media.

This is the result of not having the opportunity to vote???? :confused:

Equalisation

This is incredulous, if I may say. Can you imagine if no one bring this up, nothing actually will be done ? Good God .....:(

Singapore Food Industries (SFI), a subsidiary of the Singapore Airport Terminal Services (Sats), provided the food. It had been awarded a $5.5 million catering services contract by the YOG organising committee.

Since they are mass producing, this pack of dog food should not cost more than $1 each. Looks like the SIF/Sats board of directors really made a killing this YOG.

oh yeah oh yeah oh yeah hey

If these were given to the Bangladeshi, Indian, Thai, Myanmese or China workers, they would have down their tools & stop working. It has happened before.

Only yOUR SINgapore government dare to do this to our own people...for they know, no one dare to protest...what a bloody disgrace & shame...

We have a nation of people without a backbone....

longlicky

This is how SFI max out profit from the 5.5mln contract.

And i was told a fren of mine. There was an incident many yrs back. An army officer was axed when he awarded catering contract to SFI at $5/head. Was that true? $5/head army food. what a joke. the profit margin is like $4 out of $5/head.

Training sinkies to be like the banglas.... they only eat rice, curry sauce (no meat or fish) and some chili padi.

You are very wrong on this, the Banglas gets better food than this, & they will throw away the food packets if it is not up to par, & won't work, if they are not fed well.

The rice must be pooni rice, about 300gm of cooked pooni rice ( properly cooked) dahl, one meat as in Kambing or fish, vegetables, & some condiments plus the gravy.

You give them the box of food as pictured...they will stop work, go complain to Bangladeshi Embassy/NGO's and then Ministry of Manpower..

Only SINgaporeans, dare not complain...or say "tak boleh tahan":mad:

wikiphile

You are very wrong on this, the Banglas gets better food than this, & they will throw away the food packets if it is not up to par, & won't work, if they are not fed well.

The rice must be pooni rice, about 300gm of cooked pooni rice ( properly cooked) dahl, one meat as in Kambing or fish, vegetables, & some condiments plus the gravy.

You give them the box of food as pictured...they will stop work, go complain to Bangladeshi Embassy/NGO's and then Ministry of Manpower..

Only SINgaporeans, dare not complain...or say "tak boleh tahan":mad:

Gods below, the banglas get better food than the YOG kids :eek:

i don't see any balanced diet there...

plenty of carbo, plenty of fat.

zero fibre. fruits? What fruit? a small pathetic apple slightly bigger than a grape?

Upon a closer look I'm revising my cost evaluation of this pack of dog food.

The cost price should be 40 cents - the container costs 25 cents and the contents 15 cents.

ST_17116311.jpg

Leckmichamarsch

This is ridiculous. Can you imagine if no one post this picture, nothing will be done ? My goodness ....:(

Esp when Minister & his cronies are paid so much salaries!!! Why no spefication relating to meal tender? You mean serve lice, cow grass and cockroach oso can??? Sounds like "catch me if you can" or "tell me if things go wrong"....... or the now infamous: NO amount of engineering can solve flooding!!!!!!!!

Gods below, the banglas get better food than the YOG kids :eek:

The gods below food offering usually include a chicken, a fish, vegetables , all choice food.

The youth of today are getting a taste of HOW THEIR GOVERNMENT TREAT THEM, whereas others get Michelen Class cooked food, they get food almost equivalent to those given to slaves of old, only difference is; they are not chain-ganged.

Wake up YOUTH of TODAY!:o