• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Yawning bread: New election, same old non choice

Green Light

I was just about to write about how opposition parties in Singapore aren’t doing a good job of differentiating themselves when the new Socialist Front got themselves into the news.

Here is party that that is reasserting a program that many may think has passed into history. That should grab some attention.

As reported by the Straits Times (30 October 2010), Chia Ti Lik, the Secretary-General of the Socialist Front, said their party’s aim was to set up a socialist government, with state control over key industries like transport and medical services. It sounds like re-nationalisation, a rolling back of the neo-liberalism (more accurately rabid capitalism) that has dominated political fashion for the last 30 years.

<span id="more-2439"></span>

Party Chair Ng Teck Siong told the media that their focus will be on Singaporeans’ welfare and not on making profits, as well as areas such as the rising cost of living, depressed wage levels caused by the influx of foreign workers, and casinos — which may bring short-term economic gains but social ills in the long term, as reported by the newspaper.

You may disagree with their bullet points, you may even mock their “Forwards, into the past!” scheme, but at least they point in a different direction, and offer voters a choice. And personally, I think when capitalism has gone too far, a dose of socialism isn’t a bad thing at all.

That said, it is easy to make such pronouncements, it’s another thing altogether to set down the details. What exactly do they mean by “state control” of medical services? Isn’t that what we have already, with our public hospitals? Or do they mean we should nationalise all private clinics too? What do they propose we do about the “influx of foreign workers”? Turn off the tap completely? If not, what new rules do they have in mind?

On the one hand, one may take the view that a detailed program is not necessary. Snatch a few key ideas that resonate with enough people and you can win their votes. The typical voter does not have time or interest in the minutiae of policy, one may say.

I will argue the opposite: that sketching a few key ideas is not sufficient unless these are inspiringly radical ones, which naturally is difficult to come up with; most radical new ideas will come across as crackpot rather than visionary. In lieu of that missing grand idea, a second best is nitty-gritty detail.

To be fair, it is a lot of work. And some opposition parties just do not have the resources – people, knowledge, time – to put a detailed program together.

Closetted manifestoes

But what is really funny is that those parties that do have meaty manifestoes, don’t spend much time telling people about it. I have often wondered about that and my thoughts have gravitated to four possible reasons:

1. They think most people are not interested.

They may be right. Most people, especially in a politically apathetic place like Singapore, have neither the time nor inclination to plow through details, particularly when no opposition party is remotely near forming the next government.

But opposition parties do themselves a disservice by downplaying their detailed program. There is one important group out there for whom this can be critically important: the fence sitters. They are the ones who want to be convinced, and presenting (and discussing) a detailed program is a way to convince them of one’s seriousness of purpose and the practicality of the alternative.

It’s like this: When someone has a track record, he can get away with fewer details whenever he makes a proposal. His track record fills in the gaps. You know how he operates, you know his priorities, his style. You may not like it, but you know. However, when a new guy or party with no track record comes along, he/they need to compensate for the lack of reference history by presenting a more detailed plan. It’s a means of proving intellectual calibre, thoroughness in research and grasp of the subject matter. It is also an indicator of a grasp of reality, and honesty about hard choices ahead.

Since opposition parties have no track record in governing, I would say all the more they need to convince the undecided that they are worth their vote through thoroughness rather than slogans.

2. Opposition politicians themselves are not interested

It is a funny thing again, but almost never, when I’m in the company of opposition politicians and their supporters, does anyone mention any specific idea they may have. Instead, the conversation around me is usually a litany of complaints about how hard life is in Singapore and how “evil” the People’s Action Party (PAP) government is.

Partly, it’s got to do with the very motivation that got them into politics in the first place: their dislike of the PAP. It is always top of mind for them. Venting is not only cathartic for them, but they assume that other Singaporeans too share their dislike of the PAP to more or less the same extent – it’s a well-established fact that most people assume others to be similar to themselves (one reason why heterosexual men find it extremely difficult to conceive of the idea that some men just don’t find “chicks” attractive) – and it’s an easy step from there to reciting stock phrases about the ills of PAP rule. There is a subliminal assumption that others enjoy hearing about those ills as much as they enjoy repeating them.

By contrast, talking about programs and policy ideas is extremely dull, nerdy almost.

There is also the implicit assumption that just as they got into politics when they saw how “bad” PAP rule is, so the route to getting votes is to goad others into feeling the same emotions. Unsurprisingly, policy and programs are forgotten along the way.

3. What ideas they have are embarrassingly tiny tweaks on existing policies.

There really is just one area where some opposition parties have positioned themselves diametrically opposed to the PAP’s policies, and that is the area of civil and political rights. On all other issues, social policy, economic management, defence and foreign policy, there is either a tendency to accept the PAP’s framing of the issues (e.g. welfare state is a bad thing, an open economy is a good thing, Singaporeans are conservative, race and religion are no go areas, drugs are bad) or a recognition that the PAP has mostly got things right.

Given this starting point, it is hard to come up with really different ideas. What one finds instead are small tweaks designed more to win favour by addressing public dissatisfaction where this can be found, than any comprehensive program that starts from first principles. Take foreign worker and immigration issues for example. For all the dissatisfaction which opposition parties think they see on the ground, and for all the bluster the parties generate about it, the details of what they would want done about the issue remains remarkably vague. Or take the minimum wage issue: as far as I am aware (and I may be wrong because I haven’t looked hard enough) no party has yet suggested a dollar figure, or stated clearly whether it should apply to foreign workers and domestic maids.

I wonder if parties are a little afraid that if they drew too much attention to the program, some precocious voters might ask for specifics, which will only reveal how vague, incomplete or internally contradictory everything is? So, might it not be better to stick to venting against PAP misrule and not draw too much attention to the manifesto?

_

4. No need for differentiating ideas since opposition parties avoid contesting against each other

This is perhaps the most insidious of all. All opposition parties know that three-cornered fights in any electoral constituency are very risky. If any candidate (or group of candidates in a Group Representation Constituency) fails to get 12.5 percent of the votes in that constituency, he/they lose their election deposit which was $13,500 per candidate in the 2006 general election. I don’t know if it’s the same amount for the next one.

Because they pull out all the stops to avoid three-cornered fights, no voter is confronted with having to choose between opposition parties. Each voter (other than those in walkover constituencies) has just the choice of the PAP and one opposition party. That being the case, opposition parties have no incentive to tell voters why they are different from and better than another opposition party; they focus on how bad the PAP is. In other words, back to the slogans and the reiteration of well-known grievances.

But as I have argued, all this does is preach to the choir and rally the ones who are equally dissatisfied with the PAP. It does little to change the minds of the swing voter.

And here’s another thing: In countries where it is not compulsory to vote, rallying one’s base makes a huge difference between getting their votes and not getting them when they stay at home. In Singapore, it is compulsory to vote so the base is more or less assured. Why waste too much time and resources rallying them? Parties should focus on the swing voter. Yet, somehow this clear-eyed logic is lost on many.

Leader’s personality rather than mission

But there is one unhappy consequence of parties not paying attention to program, or even to an overall political philosophy, and that is the rise of personality factionalism.

I see it this way: When a campaign is mission-oriented, the people who join start off with common ideas, and everybody understands that the mission is the primary glue that holds them together. Without a mission, the personality of the leader carries a lot more weight. The party becomes indistinguishable from the leader; it is how it would differentiate itself from other parties, if at all it needs to do so. But this then means that it is difficult for two persons with big egos to be in the same party.

And this is the result we see today. With the possible exception of the Workers’ Party, most of the others are more clearly identified with a leader than a program; and some might argue that the Workers’ Party doesn’t have a program either, the only difference is that it has two recogniseable leaders.

In fact, the history of Singapore opposition politics since the demise of Barisan Socialis – and that was a party with a very clear leftist program – has been one of a multitude of small parties, each centred around a single personality, and whose fortunes rose and fell with that person. You may argue that that is not true, the Workers’ Party had David Marshall, then J B Jeyaretnam, then Low Thia Khiang, for example, but I think a case can be made there those were three different Workers’ Parties, for depending on who was in charge, the party represented very different things.

The result of parties that are in the main built around a dominant personality is that co-operation among them (other than avoiding three-cornered fights) is very difficult. For an opposition landscape that is already small and resource-short, there is a tremendous amount of duplication as each little party has to organise everything from scratch by itself. It’s a real pity.

And so, as we head into another general election, I can’t shake off the ennui. Has anything changed?

Yawning Alex is a yawn. He goes round and round and everytime what he euphemistically refers to as "change" or "difference," is obviously for a party to champion gay rights. Let's get real for gay rights and anti-NS activists. No political party in Singapore supports unnatural sex and relationship or abolishment of NS, as least not yet and likely to be a long long wait. Live with it, set up your own party or ship out.

Cruxx

Socialism? Hahahahaha :oIo: Try telling the millions of Chinese lifted out of poverty that socialism is the answer. Ask a Pole which economic system was it that helped Poland become the fastest growing economy in the EU and the only EU member state that didn't enter into recession during the financial crisis. Compare Taiwan and Hong Kong to China. Compare East Germany to West Germany. Compare South Korea to North Korea. Socialism? You're having a laugh.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/mN3z3eSVG7A?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/mN3z3eSVG7A?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

byleftcan

Yawning Alex is a yawn. He goes round and round and everytime what he euphemistically refers to as "change" or "difference," is obviously for a party to champion gay rights. Let's get real for gay rights and anti-NS activists. No political party in Singapore supports unnatural sex and relationship or abolishment of NS, as least not yet and likely to be a long long wait. Live with it, set up your own party or ship out.

The lau ah qua is clever and most people don't see through his argument and agenda for "rights" and "reform" like you do.

Thick Face Black Heart

You are starting to sound like GCT speaking to Catherine Lim.

GCT's command of the English language is nowhere near mine, though he has a panache for moot or mindboggling cliches that left me more amused rather than convinced. However, his language is backed by political power. Technically, Catherine's English is much better. Given equal power, Catherine'd have crushed him, panache or no panache, cliche or no cliche.

cass888

GCT's command of the English language is nowhere near mine, though he has a panache for moot or mindboggling cliches that left me more amused rather than convinced. However, his language is backed by political power. Technically, Catherine's English is much better. Given equal power, Catherine'd have crushed him, panache or no panache, cliche or no cliche.

Catherine convinces no-one. You ever hear her speak and realise she speaks like a machinegun. You lost your attention span after 2 minutes because she's trying to cram too much information in those 2 minutes. She doesn't know how to sieve out the unimportant parts of her point.

I have to concede to your point. Many-a-times, she does come across as a machine-gunning auntie with good fluent English to improve her rounds-per-minute. GCT has the political experience to play down his weakness. Well perhaps, I was being too technical oriented, Catherine's not going to crush GCT easily in a one-on-one so easily. The only one I've ever seen made GCT lose his cool was George Carmen QC at the JBJ trial.

Cruxx

Sinkie ang mo so louya, how to sarpork her? Forget logos, pathos and ethos. The art of persuasion hinges on resonance 共鸣. Say what the plebes want to hear, inject a dose of cogency, sprinkle a bit of veracity and you'll be able to manipulate them.

cleareyes

i find this rather stupid: have gays in singapore been suppressed? has anyone been thrown to prison or canned for been gay?

I have known so many gays and have worked with them and so far, few had complained, what is with this polticise of gay rights? what sort of gays are we talking about? We already have gay bars and gays living togather, what else you want?

ivebert

Stop lying again...

You are a peasant sinkie ex-policeman living in jalan besar
You didn't even do tertiary education and your parents don't speak english

how good can your english be?

upload a MP3 recording for us to judge

Cruxx

i find this rather stupid: have gays in singapore been suppressed? has anyone been thrown to prison or canned for been gay?

I have known so many gays and have worked with them and so far, few had complained, what is with this polticise of gay rights? what sort of gays are we talking about? We already have gay bars and gays living togather, what else you want?

What activists live for is the megalomania of changing the world. Gay activists fight not for some nebulous concept of "gay rights" but the thrill of fighting.

Cruxx

Stop lying again...

You sure you want a MP3 recording of Ramseth speaking in English?

Or are you just trying to slowly bait him into phonesex with a spastic, retarded gay dog like you? :oIo:

Stop lying again...

Now why would I want or need to do that? Do I have to convince you? I think not. You can go on believing that I'm an ah beng for all I care but which in a way is also true since my skills in at least three dialects including expletives are quite up there, at least for defensive purposes when called upon.

Alex seems to have completely missed why the SF manifesto is written in such a manner. CTL either knows his history well or someone is holding his hand. The manifeso is a near replica of Barisan Socialis approach to politics. During the 50 to 70s, there is a significant band of Singaporeans who are primarily chinese educated with middle school and Nantah background that are attracted to it. It is also in this band that you find Singaporeans who have been marginalised. It a novel approach.

The other issue that Alex does not seem to grasp is that getting quality candidates to stand is the single biggest challenge. Forget about meaty manifestos, explaining the details or differentiating. We are all resigned to the fact that no party other than PAP is going to form govt. With little exposure given by the media, one loses the opportunity to put a succint message across if one attemtps to go into detail on alternative policy which the Ah Peh also knows will not come into play.

NSP did the right thing by accusing Mah of mismanaging the HDB programme allowing prices to rise significantly. If NSP attemtps to explain their buidling programme no one cares.

Most people recognise that their primary role is to be a critic, have an oversight role and to provide the accountability mechanism. If that is not their mission, then what is.