• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Where can I find this type of old umbrella?

Extremist

1098084_721245654568524_480789625_n.jpg

Can we still find it in sg?

antique shops ...

but b careful hor ... dun anyhow bring o brollies home ...

Asterix

On the face of it, this thread seems to be a harmless enquiry
Where to find a piece of nostalgia that ancient Chinese brollie
Look at ze photograph disappointing nothing but propaganda

Another way to look at it is to notice that there are only two
Father and son and no one else in sight, FamiLEE business mah
Party elders, union leaders, lay Sinkies, contributions are nothing

You want to really find out where to get those ancient brollies
Just google it lah you twit, ebay, many other sites have what

http://www.ebay.com/bhp/chinese-parasol

You may see a beautiful woman wearing a cheongsam at night holding this kind of umbrella.

You can ask her to give it to you.

Knn, this thread starter like to post the photo of his master whom he licks his balls daily...

Dokken

alamak go ask those old folks or shopkeepers what are they used for and why still selling them and they will tell u that it's for 'picking bones'.

These kind of umbrella was common back then, you can buy them anywhere. This was the cheap umbrella, the common people uses, not many could afford the fold-able cloth umbrella, that is usually black in color, if yours is of certain color & pattern, ususally with flower prints...you are of a different social status & woman too. This waxed paper umbrella was green in color with red color trimming at the edge, or just plain brown. There cheaper ones, & expensive ones, the cheaper ones are made of lower quality materials, more of a use & throw type. The better ones are better design, with patterns & the opening & closing mechanism are better.

But one thing is common, after they are wet, you don't leave them out to dry properly & close them up, the next time you use, they may be stuck & when you force open...they tear & when you are opening that up in a rainstorm..gourd help you!!. The other thing will be, they give off a stinky smell if not dried properly.

You keep them aside for too long, they are home of ants, lizards, centipedes millepedes, moths etc.. even mosquitoes. There are the short type & the longer stem type of umbrella.

For a lawyer like that one in the picture, to be using that kind of umbrella, must be damn bloody thrifty, that goes with washing his own underwear... ha ha ha Normally people living on that street in Orchard Road area, can afford & use the fold-able cloth umbrella & those that come with pretty colored flower patterns too. Only the kebun, the amah etc.. uses them paper umbrealla.:biggrin: