• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

VB blames the weather

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I would like to point out the statistics they often use in flooding situation. For example in this case, they said 80% of June's rain fell in 1 morning. This does not mean anything at all. June is typically a hot month and the rainfall in this period is often low, however, does our drainage system change with the months? Should they not take the highest "non-flooding" reading of rain in 30 mins, 1 hour, 2 Hours and 1 day and measure it against the flooding rainfall. Is there a real increase? If not, then the problem is with our drainage system and the stoopid barrage.

metalslug

Balahrishnan keeps PAP tradition alive, blames the weather

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/s...-keeps-pap-tradition-alive-blames-the-weather

Tuesday, 07 June 2011
Singapore Democrats

vb_flood.jpg

Environment and Water Resource Minister Vivian Balakrishnan has done what all Singaporeans have come to expect – and detest. Whenever something goes wrong, he points the finger at someone else. In the latest case, it is Mother Nature.

The Minister seemed reasonable enough when he started his statement by saying that the jury was still out on whether changes in the weather was the cause of the intense downpours.

He said: “Has the weather in Singapore changed? This is not an easy question to answer. The meteorologists tell me that they need more long term data before they can give us a conclusive answer.”

Dr Balakrishna was responding to the weekend flooding of several areas all over Singapore including Orchard Road again.

So if it is not the weather, is the Government at fault? Absolutely not, said the Minister: “The PUB has done a great job over the past five decades.” This comes amidst growing anger at the PUB by the Orchard Road Business Association (ORBA) whose members have had to suffer repeated damage to their shops.

Then, a few sentences later, he writes: “Nevertheless, if the weather patterns have changed, then PUB needs to review all the assumptions and planning norms that underlie our current drainage plans.”

Notice the shift from not knowing if weather patterns have changed to his giving his Ministry the all-clear and then prodding the blame onto the weather.

By the time he ends his statement, he is convinced that it is the weather that is to be blamed: “We are dealing with Nature, and Man needs to be humble when addressing the challenges that Nature poses.”

In his statement to the press he lays it on thick about the weather: "You're dealing with nature and you're dealing with the weather, you have to be prepared that there is a limit to human engineering and what we can deliver. But having said that, let us make sure we have done the best we can and within those limits and then cope with whatever else that nature throws at us."

In another report he concludes, forgetting his own admission that scientists cannot be sure if the weather has changed, that it "can be safely presumed that the weather patterns in Singapore have changed."

No 'ifs', 'ands' or 'buts'. It is Nature that has caused these floods.

This contradicts the PUB's initial diagnosis which blamed cluttered drains for the inundation.

In the best of traditions, Dr Balakrishnan has again blamed the weekend's flooding on something else other than the Government. His predecessor Mr Yaacob Ibrahim said last year that the floods were caused by Typhoon Conson in Sumatra and aggravated by La Nina conditions.

It is never the PAP's fault. Even when Mas Selamat escaped, Mr Lee Kuan Yew blamed it on the complacency of Singaporeans.

Could it not have been the construction of the Marina Barrage that is the cause of the floods? Or could the floods have been due to the over-construction on the island (including the digging of MRT lines)? Or the extensive reclamation of our coastal areas, possibilities which the SDP raised last year when the deluge was at its peak? (See here)

The question is that, in the interim of the one year, did the Ministry commission a comprehensive review of the entire system to definitively rule out PAP-made causes for the floods?

Instead of working to get to the root of the problem, however, you have the ministers saying that it is not possible to keep Singapore flood free. How is it that we are paying our ministers these stellar salaries only for them to tell us that making floods in Singapore a thing of the past is impossible?

In trying to resolve this question, the PAP seems too eager to place the blame somewehere else. It is adamant in sticking to its tactic of admitting nothing and denying everything. How quickly it forgets the lessons from the general elections.

The ministers may have changed but everything remains as is.

McDollar

Re: Pardon me PUB / VB / Yaacob, no more CLOGGED CULVERT??

I see not the culvert now, it is the SOFTWARE !!

:biggrin::oIo:

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110607-282745.html

PUB fixing flood alert software problem

AsiaOne
Tue, Jun 07, 2011

THE Public Utilities Board (PUB) is looking to fix the software glitch that caused two Orchard Road buildings to suffer from Sunday’s floods.

The two buildings most affected by the flood waters, Tanglin Mall and St Regis complex, did not receive the flood alerts that were sent to Orchard Road building owners.
Tanglin Mall flooded
Click on thumbnail to view (Photos: STOMP)

For more photos, click here.

As a result, shops in Tanglin Mall’s first floor and basement one were badly flooded. Three of its basement carparks were also affected.

Its Cold Storage’s Market Place supermarket was also flooded and had part of its false ceiling collapse. It remained closed yesterday.

St Regis Residences saw some 40 cars being partially submerged in its basement three carpark. Many of them were luxury brands, including a Lamborghini, an Aston Martin and a Ferrari.

According to The Straits Times, the Orchard Road Business Association’ executive director Mr Steven Goh said another shopping mall, Forum The Shopping Mall was also not notified.
RELATED STORIES

Heavy downpour causes floods in Singapore
Higher roads reduced flood damage
Luxury sportscars all washed out in Orchard Road

Some of its basement shops were flooded ankle-deep.

PUB had previously set up an alert system that would text message stakeholders whenever its sensors detected high water levels.

In a question and answer session with the media, the board said it had expanded its network of water level sensors from 32 to 90 in December 2010, and will increase them to 150 by the end of this year.

The sensors have been stalled at key canals and drains, and will provide timely information about water levels.

Schools and building managements in areas which have a history of flooding are also sent SMS alerts.

Mr Goh also expressed disappointment that the flood has happened again after last year’s floods farther up Orchard Road.

He told The Straits Times that he suspected efforts to raise roads and prevent flooding had transferred the problem from mainstream Orchard to the outskirts where Tanglin Mall is located.

However, PUB said the work did not contribute to Sunday’s floodings and the situation would have been much worse without it.

It told The Straits Times that huge amounts of rainfall flowing into the basements of buildings and inadequate internal drainage pumps were to blame.

Spearhead

Re: Balahrishnan keeps PAP tradition alive, blames the weather

VB is a good for nothing.... no matter which dept he go to....
A total failure...

I would like to point out the statistics they often use in flooding situation. For example in this case, they said 80% of June's rain fell in 1 morning. This does not mean anything at all. June is typically a hot month and the rainfall in this period is often low, however, does our drainage system change with the months? Should they not take the highest "non-flooding" reading of rain in 30 mins, 1 hour, 2 Hours and 1 day and measure it against the flooding rainfall. Is there a real increase? If not, then the problem is with our drainage system and the stoopid barrage.

What Vivian the cunning Chindian failed to mention is that with all the weather satellites, doppler weather radar, arilines reports, ground barometric readings, and other technology, predicting the weather over this small little red dot is not exactly rocket science. A blind man can see the storm pattern on the weather radar. Why than can't Chindian's staff forecast the severity of the coming weather, and make sure the storm drains are cleared, business warned, construction stopped, etc.? That way, the flooding is not so bad.

karmabear

Re: Not my fault nor that of PAP, mate - Vivian

Can we honestly say that the rain over the weekend was the worst ever? I don't think so... it worries me if we genuinely get a couple of days of heavy rain. How then will our water system cope?

pallkia

I think my 12 years old daughter can do the job if this half breed can easily blame the weather but his own dept or himself.I think we should stop practicing the quota system of appointing a minority POSTAL BOY to hold appointment just because he is non-Chinese!Put somebody capable based on meritocracy regardless of his race!Otherwise we are no diff from matland!

Windsor

[The Minister seemed reasonable enough when he started his statement by saying that the jury was still out on whether changes in the weather was the cause of the intense downpours.

He said: “Has the weather in Singapore changed? This is not an easy question to answer. The meteorologists tell me that they need more long term data before they can give us a conclusive answer.”

So if it is not the weather, is the Government at fault? Absolutely not, said the Minister: “The PUB has done a great job over the past five decades.” This comes amidst growing anger at the PUB by the Orchard Road Business Association (ORBA) whose members have had to suffer repeated damage to their shops.

Then, a few sentences later, he writes: “Nevertheless, if the weather patterns have changed, then PUB needs to review all the assumptions and planning norms that underlie our current drainage plans.”

Notice the shift from not knowing if weather patterns have changed to his giving his Ministry the all-clear and then prodding the blame onto the weather.

By the time he ends his statement, he is convinced that it is the weather that is to be blamed: “We are dealing with Nature, and Man needs to be humble when addressing the challenges that Nature poses.”]

Beware the Indian that speaks with FORKED tongue. They try to pull the wool over your eyes double-speaking with nonsensical rubbish that appears initially to non-informed as sensible. After careful analysis one discovers one had been well and truly conned.:confused::confused::confused:

metalslug

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/s...-keeps-pap-tradition-alive-blames-the-weather

07 June 2011
Singapore Democrats

vb_flood.jpg

Environment and Water Resource Minister Vivian Balakrishnan has done what all Singaporeans have come to expect – and detest. Whenever something goes wrong, he points the finger at someone else. In the latest case, it is Mother Nature.

The Minister seemed reasonable enough when he started his statement by saying that the jury was still out on whether changes in the weather was the cause of the intense downpours.

Dr Balakrishna was responding to the weekend flooding of several areas all over Singapore including Orchard Road again.

Notice the shift from not knowing if weather patterns have changed to his giving his Ministry the all-clear and then prodding the blame back on the weather.

By the time he ends his statement, he is convinced that it is the weather that is to be blamed: “We are dealing with Nature, and Man needs to be humble when addressing the challenges that Nature poses.”

In his statement to the press he lays it on thick about the weather: "You're dealing with nature and you're dealing with the weather, you have to be prepared that there is a limit to human engineering and what we can deliver. But having said that, let us make sure we have done the best we can and within those limits and then cope with whatever else that nature throws at us."

In another report he concludes, forgetting his own admission that scientists cannot be sure if the weather has changed, that it "can be safely presumed that the weather patterns in Singapore have changed."

No 'ifs', 'ands' or 'buts'. It is Nature that has caused these floods.

This contradicts the PUB's initial diagnosis which blamed cluttered drains for the inundation.

In the best of traditions, Dr Balakrishnan has again blamed the weekend's flooding on something else other than the Government. His predecessor Mr Yaacob Ibrahim said last year that the floods were caused by Typhoon Conson in Sumatra and aggravated by La Nina conditions.

It is never the PAP's fault. Even when Mas Selamat escaped Mr Lee Kuan Yew blamed it on the complacency of Singaporeans.

Could it not have been the construction of the Marina Barrage that is the cause of the floods? Or could the floods have been due to the over-construction on the island (including the digging of MRT lines)? Or the extensive reclamation of our coastal areas, possibilities which the SDP raised last year when the deluge was at its peak? (See here)

The question is that, in the interim of the one year, did the Ministry commission a comprehensive review of the entire system to definitively rule out PAP-made causes for the floods?

Instead of working to get to the root of the problem, however, you have the ministers saying that it is not possible to keep Singapore flood free. How is it that we are paying our ministers these stellar salaries only for them to tell us that making floods in Singapore a thing of the past is impossible?

In trying to resolve this question, the PAP seems too eager to place the blame somewehere else. It is adamant in sticking to its tactic of admitting nothing and denying everything. How quickly it forgets the lessons from the general elections.

The ministers may have changed but everything remains as is.

Lucian Darth

Re: Not my fault nor that of PAP, mate - Vivian

Can we honestly say that the rain over the weekend was the worst ever? I don't think so... it worries me if we genuinely get a couple of days of heavy rain. How then will our water system cope?

Bro we all know that that rain over the weekend wasn't the worst lor. I don't think they will be able to rectify the prob soon. Assuming if the prob is really the MB, then this prob may nver be resolved liao. Some more the minister incharge so kia-si, even if he suspect it MB he won't have balls to say also. They will probably try all different approach then declared they had tried their best but they can't win. Then announce to us U R ON UR OWN!:(

longbow

Instead of blaming the weather CSM WP MP got down to the problem and tried and see what he could do for his district. If CSM were in VB's position he would be doing the same for the whole of Singapore. DO NOT BLAME THE WEATHER. DON'T GIVE EXCUSE THAT YOU ARE NEW ON JOB. DO NOT SAY FREAK OF NATURE. The day you agreed to take the post the buck stops with you. Also, you are paid $2M a year and we have been told you are rare super talented calibre.

Roll up sleeves, get real experts (not PUB goondus - more than 1 year and still cock up) to see what is the issue, suggest remedy and implement. Post all findings on the ministry's web page. Be Transparent. Very simple lah.

In a way, I really respect Khaw. The moment he got into MND he made changes and tried to study the issues. With public housing and impact on property prices and banks, Khaw's portfolio is many times more difficult.

VB is just dealing with longkangs and he can cock up. We sell to the work Monaco of the East. St Regis is a top condo and their cars kena flooded like in 3rd world country. At the very least they should fire that PUB head. More than 1 year and still cannot find the solution. Apparently this has nothing to do with clogged drains.

Floods.

by Chen Show Mao on Monday, June 6, 2011 at 10:40am

The Tanglin flood over the weekend prompted us to visit areas in Aljunied that may be more likely flooded than others, to see if we could take any measures or make useful proposals to relevant government authorities to help prevent flooding in the future. One such area is where the nearby old bus interchange/car park adjoins the Heartland Mall next to the Kovan MRT station. I was there today with town council representatives and we found that the drains are very shallow in parts and susceptible to clogging and flooding in heavy rain. We discussed how we may raise the concealed drain pavement next to the driveway (and build a new ramp for barrier-free access) to alleviate possible flooding. It sounded like a good pre-emptive solution to me and we plan to follow up with the experts and authorities to see if it will be workable.

karmabear

Have to agree on Khaw. Whatever his underlying reasons, he at least appears to be addressing the issues head on. VB is typically making excuses and not focusing on making real traction on the situation. Sometimes I think having a debating background is a liability. You think everything can be resolved with speeches and soundbites...

mylilytan65

Is Old tree better than young trees in water absorb? I am sure ample statistics in Tree age along the green belt.
Time to remove old tress and plant 5 more new young trees/