• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

To ALL CHEONGSTERS, Be Careful...RAIDS ON THE WAY!

Yes, the path was way off and thats why the Ang Mos knew where the threashold was. As you know Westerner are more civic conscious but they don't follow the rules blindly. I particulary chose this example because of the Ang Mos. I would not use asians as a barometer when it comes to civic consciousness.

Yes, its good to taste the forbidden fruit once in a while. Whilst visiting friends and playing tennis in the UK, noticed the kids without hestitation will scale the fence of a nearby school to retrieve tennis balls. Clearly the Ang Mo kids are driven by good intentions. Its their ball and therefore, they want it back. No harm. Singaporeans will be driven by fear, fear of trespass. Singapore kids will go and ask permission to retrieve the ball. When you play on a weekend its a long wait for the school to open. When it comes to a neighbour's house, the rules change for the Ang Mo kids, they will knock at the neighbour's house and ask permission as privacy and a man's home is his castle kicks in.

We are driven by fear, rules, laws and regulations. They are driven by common sense, powers of reasoning and a large dose of thinking. It explains why they get the Nobel prizes and we get awards for the cleanest and safest city.

About the short cut, I would very much like to respect the planner unless the path is way off for my time and effort permits.

Interesting for a clear offense, I for one regularly float the Jay walking rule, not so much for the time but not wanting to look like a law abiding idiot.:biggrin:

ahleebabasingaporethief

Raids about to start. Many PRC meimeis who think they are on the radar quietly, have left our shores since the report.

Their intelligence report puts the CIA to shame. Very good kang tau.

kingrant

The soliticiting is for prostitutes not for patronising a prostitute.

There are no laws for patronising a prostitute in private, public or anywhere else. That particular law was inherited from the british wholesale with no amendments. Except for the Press blowing it up, prominent or otherwise, politician or otherwise, there is no fear patronising a prostitute, pants up or down.

Part of the reason why we end up with such urban myths is fear factor inculcated in singaporeans. Singaporeans generally assume under such conditioning that any immoral activities or those associated with vice automatically becomes illegal.

Note, despite the length of this thread and explanation, the pants down fear is still apparent.

I will give you an example. 3 undergrads asked for direction to a certain building at NUS. I pointed out the bldg but the path leading to that building took a circuitous route typical of singapore town planning. They took the path. I called them back and asked isn't it easier to cut across the field and to save time and effort. They were speechless. I told them that I see foreigners especially ang mos undergrads and academic staff cut across but not locals. I told them there is no law or restrictions. One guy said "cool" and they took to the field, suddenly cheerful and obviously a paradigm shift for them.

Guess what, I was just like that until I decided to off autopilot.

Actually, Singapore is quite unique towards prostitution. In many countries, e.g. U.S. China, and Canada, prostitution is illegal, and getting caught pants down with a pros can land one in court besides the moral hazard. Case in point: Eliot Spitzer NY's ex-mayor. So what the sex workers do is to put up ads in dailies, and do in-calls.

Maybe this ambiguity is what led to fear. Scro also has a good point that just because it is immoral, it is a crime. This kind of mindset I agree produces squeaky clean republics and not Nobel prize winners.

Actually prostitution is not illegal in most countries including Canada, UK, Europe and most of the world. There are the usual anti soliciting laws to avoid public nuisance.

We grew up on diet of american TV and keeping seeing the hookers and the johns getting busted must have shaped our minds. It is illegal in 49 out of 50 US states. Its the same basis when alcohol prohibition kicked in for 13 years. The puritans, the quakers, and all the reglious chaps were wielding political power. Prohibition was eventually thrown out.

Many countries however have laws making it illegal to run brothels and pimping etc to avoid exploitiation. Singapore is the rare few that have a permit system. OZ, NZ and Netherlands come to mind as well.

Its an excellent topic for a young policy maker in government to write a paper on as its cuts across society at every level and there are numerous views and reasons to accomodate. Its one topic where the economic and social factors are very strong.

Actually, Singapore is quite unique towards prostitution. In many countries, e.g. U.S. China, and Canada, prostitution is illegal, and getting caught pants down with a pros can land one in court besides the moral hazard. Case in point: Eliot Spitzer NY's ex-mayor. So what the sex workers do is to put up ads in dailies, and do in-calls.

Maybe this ambiguity is what led to fear. Scro also has a good point that just because it is immoral, it is a crime. This kind of mindset I agree produces squeaky clean republics and not Nobel prize winners.

Kid278

When you say prostitution is illegal, do you mean the buyer and the seller are committing a crime? Because that's what it means.
"Legalized prostitution does not necessary meant prostitution is not an offence, if it's not approved, it's illegal, it's an offence."

I think you are really confused above and below.

"They can legalize prostitution, they can also ban illegal prostitution. "

Hope to have cleared the air.

You had certainly cleared some are air as far as commercial sex in singapore is concerned. I am not confused, where I am coming from is I am looking at one, those with permits/ licences which is not illegal, approved, legalized in my sense.

The other which is those freelances without permits/license which i took to mean as illegals. In this context the legality on whether the seller and buyers is committing an offence is subjective (AV) as the statue is saying that prostitution in singapore is not an offence.

Anyway sometimes I find such prostitution policy legal status quite amusing and contradictory. Malaysia status, limited legality no brothels allowed. Thailand status, illegal, no brothels allowed but you see them everywhere. Indonesia status, everything allowed, so and so forth.

Thick Face Black Heart

Singapore police didn't raid the Geylang backyard for purely altruistic reasons like cleaning up street vice.

This was done in conjunction with the move to house the china gals in legal brothels rather than letting them roam free or with illegal pimps.

Several hundred china gals have been given license to become pros in legal brothels from GL 14 to GL 30. Now the legal OKTs can ply the lucrative trade free of competition from the backlanes.

Residents there also complain less when the streets are cleared up. It is a win-win situation.

Thick Face Black Heart

You will only be asked to give a police statement if the gal is a foreigner and suspected to be overstayer.

You are being ridiculous and exaggerating. :biggrin: If a client is caught with his pants down he may be asked to write a police statement. A bit troublesome but anonymity is there, that's all.

R

redlightmeansgo

Finally, Singapore's foreign talent policy is reaping its rewards! :biggrin:

R

redlightmeansgo

Singapore police didn't raid the Geylang backyard for purely altruistic reasons like cleaning up street vice.

This was done in conjunction with the move to house the china gals in legal brothels rather than letting them roam free or with illegal pimps.

Several hundred china gals have been given license to become pros in legal brothels from GL 14 to GL 30. Now the legal OKTs can ply the lucrative trade free of competition from the backlanes.

Residents there also complain less when the streets are cleared up. It is a win-win situation.

Finally, Singapore's foreign talent policy is reaping rewards! :biggrin:

Kid278

Bro, Scroobal is correct.

The singapore gal ICE most likely caught by police due to other reasons.(She is not charged under illegal pro right? and high chance she toe she is). Most likely she was a frequent visitor to the police station and the police decided the best way for her and the police is by keeping track of her movement by offering her a brothel to work.

This gal hails from lor28, house number 33 something like that. She has a good pair of hands, usually will give you a good rub down and speaks english quite well.

Conversely she ever mentioned to me before GL she was busted a couple of times for commmercial sex related offences but I didnt probe. Soemtimes such things we dont ask or even ask they wont say and they dont say we dont ask, simple as that. it is quite personal as far a they're concerned.

For curiosity sake the only option is to look for her if she's still sround, then again she may or may not not divulge unless therwise you have your ways. Few ears back before I went abroad she's still sround ocasionally but now I am not too sure about that.

Kid278

This I concurred, eradication is slmost imposible so they'll just contol and contain, now that they had CCTVs in street lamps in certain areas.

Kid278

I kind of see that both side have their legitimate view that prostitution is legal or illegal depending on how it is argued.

The intriguing question is, how can one be a prostitute without infringing the law if she did not register in a legal whore house with designated place of business? And it is illegal to solicit in public, then how would she obtain her client without making it illegal? And if she is caught with the panties down and her client insist it is a agree transaction, will she be prosecute as a unregister prostitute?

These are very good questions but there are no straight answers to it. Between the word soliciting and prostituting, it's just merely one is before the fact and the other after the fact. Situations are kinda shady and when a cheongster and a gal are hauled in, besides screening you they hold you for hours making silly embarrassing remarks, asking silly questions in their interrogations citing even the women's charter rubbishess.

They only do that if they suspect that you are a pimp and therefore need to eliminate you just in case the girl says that you collect a share of her earnings or you control her.

Other than that, they have no business treating you in that manner. You should lodge a complaint or seek legal redress.

You have every right to tell them that you will gladly give a statement or help with the investigation and you will make your way to the station at an appropriate time.

The Police are just too much. Clearly they are bullies.

Situations are kinda shady and when a cheongster and a gal are hauled in, besides screening you they hold you for hours making silly embarrassing remarks, asking silly questions in their interrogations citing even the women's charter rubbishess.

Kid278

You are being ridiculous and exaggerating. :biggrin: If a client is caught with his pants down he may be asked to write a police statement. A bit troublesome but anonymity is there, that's all.

You're right it's just a statement but sometimes AV can make turns ugly. they hold your ID, make you squat o the roadsde then take hours to screen you, not satisfied they may even bring you in to thier HQ for more hours with excuse such as SOP screening and profiling. Cheongters usally let the matter rest. Just for some fun it's just not worth damaging wallets to seek legal recourse.

Kid278

They only do that if they suspect that you are a pimp and therefore need to eliminate you just in case the girl says that you collect a share of her earnings or you control her.

Other than that, they have no business treating you in that manner. You should lodge a complaint or seek legal redress.

You have every right to tell them that you will gladly give a statement or help with the investigation and you will make your way to the station at an appropriate time.

The Police are just too much. Clearly they are bullies.

True, that's exactly always the reason they hold people for many hours at times. You question them they'll just give loads of bullshits, SOP, women's charter rubbish etc etc which poeple hardly understands.

I believe many other cheongster experienced that too. Lodging complaint is not a problem but seeking legal redress is like hell, the inconveniences and the damage to the wallet in the event you engage an attorney.

You may choose not to believe this but I had on one experience being held for almost 8 hours at the previously AV HQ in central police station. All I did was giving fake personal particulars at the health center front desk. I dont know if there's such a rule or an unwritten one in AV's books that says it's wrong and can be an offence. Anyway I was let off with a warning.

The gal I was with was also held no shorter time than me. Though we were not caught in action, they found her panties in her handbag and insisted she prostituted. We both denied and I believe she was also let off a few hours later after me.

I believe you as you have been consistent with what you have been posting. These chaps are lazy and abusing their authority. I have also seen and heard this kind of abuse in the general policing space.

Unforunately providing fake particulars is an offence but minor - max $1,000 bucks under the Massage Establishment Act. Ever heard of having bad handwriting as opposed to fake particulars.

True, that's exactly always the reason they hold people for many hours at times. You question them they'll just give loads of bullshits, SOP, women's charter rubbish etc etc which poeple hardly understands.

I believe many other cheongster experienced that too. Lodging complaint is not a problem but seeking legal redress is like hell, the inconveniences and the damage to the wallet in the event you engage an attorney.

You may choose not to believe this but I had on one experience being held for almost 8 hours at the previously AV HQ in central police station. All I did was giving fake personal particulars at the health center front desk. I dont know if there's such a rule or an unwritten one in AV's books that says it's wrong and can be an offence. Anyway I was let off with a warning.

The gal I was with was also held no shorter time than me. Though we were not caught in action, they found her panties in her handbag and insisted she prostituted. We both denied and I believe she was also let off a few hours later after me.

Unrepented

Was there at GL very recently for coffee and wash eyes, what strikes me was the blatant gambling operations and lightups like pasa malam. Majority of customers are FTs. And I really worry if these FT workers loses, will there be more crime since these FTs need to pay their loans and family maintenance back home:(

Along came three boys in blue patrol and next I turn my back, all the makeshift stores disappeared.

I recall cases in the PRC, whenever there was tightening of bank credit, construction sites may stop work and crime will go up. This correlation has been true and locals knows it. And the robberies are more violent and there is no guarantee that one will not get hurt even you choose to give up your valuables.

Casino entry free for FTs somemore.:( Means bangala, ah tiongs, your maid, etc also can try their luck..... you think what may happen if they lose lah.

I still remember around 20 years back a certain teenager by the name Winnie kanna gang raped and killed near sunset way while jogging in the evening, these attackers were never caught.

Hope not going OT.:o