• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

tips to overcome recession

middaydog

There are legal subtleties to this, even though I know what you are driving at. While representatives of the government attempt to exercise their duties, how it is stipulated legally is different, very much like cycling on the roads and pavements in Singapore

PUB views rain water as natural resource which should be shared by all, it should naturally drain to reservoirs to be used in "rainy days". In your own household if you allow rain water to drain into sewer line you will be warned, not sure if you store it you will be warned or not

stockpile when certain food is on sale. i know ppl would said i siao but dry food should be alrite. i brought 8 bags of 10kg rice in november when a certain brand was on sale and i just brought a new bag yesterday. during the sale, it $4 less than normal price. just look out for those sale items in newspaper and just buy that particular item can liao.

milk powder is another killer, bloody expensive but can look out for their promotion. No need to buy from NTUC or any supermart, just call the dealer and ask for a carton or two and pay by cheque, confirm cheaper than buy from NTUC, somemore deliver to your home without extra charges.

for free aircon, lights and internet connection: go to 24hrs McDonalds or Changi Airport.

for free TV, lights: go to 24hrs kopitiam, can catch cable TV at selected kopitiam too!

grow your own food, collect rainwater to water the plants, grow some bean sprouts, lettuce, tomato, potato, etc...

bath together with your loved ones, husband and wife can reignite some passion, bf & gf now have better excuses :biggrin:

re-use water from washing machine to flush the toilet, wash common corridors etc...

feel free to contribute ideas :biggrin::p:biggrin::p

All u ideas is small items.
Big one like condo/car/high speed internet/......................why no one willing to give up these things.

May want to consider moving to JB where you can grow your own food, collect water, cheaper fuel/power/utilities etc.

However with things being cheaper there you won't have to consider these belt tightening schemes.

callmebad

at all times, spend within your means, don't speculate
when in good times during which money is easy to come along, remember to save as much as you can
in this way when recession comes, we will have a lot of 'buffer' to tahan
many people only think about saving when bad times comes and spend as if there is no tomorrow during good times
when times are bad and money is not so much, how much can you save?
you can only save a lot during good times and not in bad times

Marican

1) Go temples for free meals (One day be Buddhist,the next day be Christian,the following day be Sikh/Hindu).
2) Shop for near expiry items at supermarkets.
3) Be persistent at bargaining with stall holders (the few cents count).
4) Go fish at rivers (you will surprise at what food lurks beneath those waters).
5) Go donate blood at HSA to get a free meal.
6) Borrow soap and toilet paper from public restrooms(Will return when the dough arrives).
7) Pluck durians and mangos at nature reserves or forests.
8) Watch online porn and pcc($450-$500 per bonk is too ex).