• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This Malay feels no love from S'pore

Porfirio Rubirosa

1. HDB ethnic minority quotas

I suggest you read my replies again. I have never questioned the basic rationale of the policy, which I have no doubt is well intended. Where I take issue with this policy is in the way it has and is being implemented and executed. NO ethnic Chinese has or shall incur REAL $$$ pain because of this policy, whereas some ethnic minorities (all btw not just Malays) have and shall incur the same. Is it reasonable fair and equitable for some ethnic minorities to incur such REAL $$$ pain? Should not the government refine the policy to address this REAL concern? How would you like it if you yourself had to incur such REAL $$$ pain because of this policy? Not very nice right?:wink:

2. Speak Mandarin Campaign

This is what you said:

"Let me ask what is the majority race in this country?? What language and national programs should have bigger funding???"

I don't think I need to say anything more on this issue, forumers can draw their own conclusions.:wink:

3. SAP Schools

This is what you said:

"In almost every country, more resources are devoted towards the majority race's language, culture etc."

I don't think I need to say anything more on this issue, forumers can draw their own conclusions.:wink:

Oh and as for "Madrasahs", personally I have never been in favour of such schools in Singapore (for very much the same reasons that I have against SAP Schools) , so please do not put words in mouth, thank you:wink:

4. Race Discrimination Employment Cases

You said:

"I know you wrote did not mention any race yet i believe you solely meant about companies not employing minorities, i want to hear your opinion on these fast food places favouring malays over chinese."

Again please do not put words in my mouth, thank you:wink: Like I said in my previous post to you, race discrimination is WRONG regardless of the race of the person doing the discrimination, period. And yes I think the government should seriously consider enacting such legislation.

5. Ethnic Self Help Groups

Singapore was doing just fine before such groups were created so why the need to segregate and further emphasize on ethnicity rather than the individual SINGAPOREAN? The government should be actively promoting a SINGAPOREAN IDENTITY not dividing Singaporeans into ethnic groups.

Oh and as for this

Btw minorities do make fun of chinese. For eg say practicing taichi to a chinese person and stuff. Yet of course nobody takes issue with that, cause only the evil chinese are capable of racism. Hence a chinese cannot retort back go and eat your nasi lemak lah

This sort of behaviour is WRONG regardless of race. Also stupid and childish:rolleyes:

I was busy for a bit hence the slow reply. :biggrin:

Porfirio Rubirosa

Yes good point. That is why I am against the ethnic self-help groups in Singapore. Why the need to divide and segregate help by ethnicity when we are ALL Singaporeans and where: poverty;ageing;disability;unemployment etc affects ALL Singaporeans regardless of race.

And besides affirmative action would evolve from being focused just on race, to focus on class. And class evens up the situation better, since class affects all races.

1sickpuppy

Oh come on if the shoe fits wear it. There are lazy people in all races but I notice myself that mats tend to have a more relax and lay back attitude. This type of attitude may be suited to some enviroments its not suited in this fast pace enviroment. Because of us depanding on 1 another in our working life all it takes is 1 to slow down and relax and u will have a snow ball effect. Any of u ever heard of a saying that goes " A chain is only as strong as its weakest link "? In my book results show bs walks so don't blame me if I view different races differently so unless a particular race bucks up I will always view them as they are unless proven .

zack123

In my book results show bs walks so don't blame me if I view different races differently so unless a particular race bucks up I will always view them as they are unless proven .

So in the court of law you would judge a Malay to be guilty until found innocent but otherwise for a Chinese? Who are we to act as God is passing a sentence without even knowing the facts?

I think the social fabric is Singapore would always be thin as long as we hold such views. Why don't we move away from ethnicity and move towards being a nation regardless of race, language, religion etc. And that we judge a person based on his merits not on his skin colour?

The point of education is to sharpen our mind, remove our discrimination and yet we succumb ourselves to such thoughts.

1sickpuppy

So in the court of law you would judge a Malay to be guilty until found innocent but otherwise for a Chinese? Who are we to act as God is passing a sentence without even knowing the facts?

Well I would very much like to judge a person as he/she is rather than by his/her race but time and time again I am proven wrong :( I do admit there are people from other races that are more lazy than mats but mostly when I an working with mats I notice that they take a longer time to finish their work and take more and longer breaks and at the end of the day they will act like drama queens infront of everybody saying that how much work was done. Hence usually when I work with them I will just do what I can with what I have and if I were do more I would be labeled as a show off king by their kind and if I were to help them and be faster I would be labeled a slave driver.

Hans168

All these accusations about me being a malay and a muslim- by using what I have said here is pretty much using an old dog to hunt stuff that the old dog cannot do anymore.

Let's face it: is there anything else you can accuse me of when you know it yourself that the old dog can't hunt anymore?

Again, I will draw up an analogy: for a long time, President Clinton spoke up for the blacks, because he thought that blacks and whites should be on par- and so even if affirmative action were to put his own race in a slight disadvantage, he would do so, because in the long term, both will benefit from it.

And besides affirmative action would evolve from being focused just on race, to focus on class. And class evens up the situation better, since class affects all races.

So can you accuse Bill Clinton of being black, when he's so obviously white; all because he defended the plight of the blacks and spoke up for them? You ask yourself this now: can you accuse someone being muslim, just because he speaks up for all races, despite of people who are more racist than him?

In the end, people who simplify the issue of race, and throw out such deliberately misleading statements, know that they have not much to argue, from a policy point of view. And so to distract people, they decide to accuse people, or to label them of being muslim. Which is fine if we were say in the 60s- but not now.
What your point? Long digression brings you nowhere except shows your cunning in skirting issues. I rest my case. Be gone knave, for I shall not respond to your moronic posting ever.

DonJuanDemarco

Haiz, cool down guys, let me put up something here hopefully to bring out a smile on everyone's face :smile:

Sung to the tune of Bangawan Solo:biggrin:

Bengali one, so long
Indian one big n' strong
Malay one kena potong
Chinese one look like larpcheong

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Looking back at this i can see what an asshole this Porfirio Rubirosa is. This fool was not here for a sensible debate but to blame ethnic chinese singporeans on so called perceived racial injustices. Chinese singaporeans just happen to be the majority race here that's all. Since when do chinese go out of their way to harrass minorities? Of course these Assholes don't feel grateful for that but harrass chinese in turn.

With nothing left to refute me on this idiot told me he would let the public or the forum decide. Well i got a number of postive reps for my postings showing the crowd approved of me.

Racism in SG is just minorities picking on the smallest and most minute incidents and blowing them up as big as possible and asking for more handouts from the majority race or the govt and replying in a rude and uncouth manner.

Haiz, cool down guys, let me put up something here hopefully to bring out a smile on everyone's face :smile:

Sung to the tune of Bangawan Solo:biggrin:

Bengali one, so long
Indian one big n' strong
Malay one kena potong
Chinese one look like larpcheong

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Keling one small like kosong. Bengali one kenna makan by mangkali. PLs get it correct.

khunking

Do you think she'll fancy living a life like the Palestinians?

She had a lot of valid points and she is the one that raised the Taufik issue. It was a very balanced article. Imagine despite the decades and years rolling by, they are still considered as the 5th column. They are treated like lepers on their own native soil.

SamuelStalin

Do you think she'll fancy living a life like the Palestinians?

Hey you ugly and worthless bladder face Sporn fuck. Why haven't you died? Hahaha look at your spastic avatar. Someone with brain disease like you must be behind it.

Well, hope your dreams are crushed by others, you'd forever be under an imposed ceiling and you die young, broken and empty. You will surely die earlier than me. I will win you and all other Sporn fucks in the end. Yes I will.

SamuelStalin

Poor thing. Don't listen to these Sporn fuck chinks who insult you for being what you are. They are useless and of no social value, so take the words of these lesser mortals as inconsequential.

Home > Our Columnists > Column
Aug 10, 2008
I wish...
Feeling like the least favourite child
Three writers share their hopes for Singapore this National Day
Nur Dianah Suhaimi

As a Malay, I've always been told that I have to work twice as hard to prove my worth
When I was younger, I always thought of myself as the quintessential Singaporean.

Of my four late grandparents, two were Malay, one was Chinese and one was Indian. This, I concluded, makes me a mix of all the main races in the country. But I later realised that it was not what goes into my blood that matters, but what my identity card says under 'Race'.

Because my paternal grandfather was of Bugis origin, my IC says I'm Malay. I speak the language at home, learnt it in school, eat the food and practise the culture. And because of my being Malay, I've always felt like a lesser Singaporean than those from other racial groups.

I grew up clueless about the concept of national service because my father was never enlisted.

He is Singaporean all right, born and bred here like the rest of the boys born in 1955. He is not handicapped in any way. He did well in school and participated in sports.

Unlike the rest, however, he entered university immediately after his A levels. He often told me that his schoolmates said he was 'lucky' because he was not called up for national service.

'What lucky?' he would tell them. 'Would you feel lucky if your country doesn't trust you?'

So I learnt about the rigours of national service from my male cousins. They would describe in vivid detail their training regimes, the terrible food they were served and the torture inflicted upon them - most of which, I would later realise, were exaggerations.

But one thing these stories had in common was that they all revolved around the Police Academy in Thomson. As I got older, it puzzled me why my Chinese friends constantly referred to NS as 'army'. In my family and among my Malay friends, being enlisted in the army was like hitting the jackpot. The majority served in the police force because, as is known, the Government was not comfortable with Malay Muslims serving in the army. But there are more of them now.

Throughout my life, my father has always told me that as a Malay, I need to work twice as hard to prove my worth. He said people have the misconception that all Malays are inherently lazy.

I was later to get the exact same advice from a Malay minister in office who is a family friend.

When I started work, I realised that the advice rang true, especially because I wear my religion on my head. My professionalism suddenly became an issue. One question I was asked at a job interview was whether I would be willing to enter a nightclub to chase a story. I answered: 'If it's part of the job, why not? And you can rest assured I won't be tempted to have fun.'

When I attend media events, before I can introduce myself, people assume I write for the Malay daily Berita Harian. A male Malay colleague in The Straits Times has the same problem, too.

This makes me wonder if people also assume that all Chinese reporters are from Lianhe Zaobao and Indian reporters from Tamil Murasu.

People also question if I can do stories which require stake-outs in the sleazy lanes of Geylang. They say because of my tudung I will stick out like a sore thumb. So I changed into a baseball cap and a men's sports jacket - all borrowed from my husband - when I covered Geylang.

I do not want to be seen as different from the rest just because I dress differently. I want the same opportunities and the same job challenges.

Beneath the tudung, I, too, have hair and a functioning brain. And if anything, I feel that my tudung has actually helped me secure some difficult interviews.

Newsmakers - of all races - tend to trust me more because I look guai (Hokkien for well-behaved) and thus, they feel, less likely to write critical stuff about them.

Recently, I had a conversation with several colleagues about this essay. I told them I never thought of myself as being particularly patriotic. One Chinese colleague thought this was unfair. 'But you got to enjoy free education,' she said.

Sure, for the entire 365 days I spent in Primary 1 in 1989. But my parents paid for my school and university fees for the next 15 years I was studying.

It seems that many Singaporeans do not know that Malays have stopped getting free education since 1990. If I remember clearly, the news made front-page news at that time.

We went on to talk about the Singapore Government's belief that Malays here would never point a missile at their fellow Muslim neighbours in a war.

I said if not for family ties, I would have no qualms about leaving the country. Someone then remarked that this is why Malays like myself are not trusted. But I answered that this lack of patriotism on my part comes from not being trusted, and for being treated like a potential traitor.

It is not just the NS issue. It is the frustration of explaining to non-Malays that I don't get special privileges from the Government. It is having to deal with those who question my professionalism because of my religion. It is having people assume, day after day, that you are lowly educated, lazy and poor. It is like being the least favourite child in a family. This child will try to win his parents' love only for so long. After a while, he will just be engulfed by disappointment and bitterness.

I also believe that it is this 'least favourite child' mentality which makes most Malays defensive and protective of their own kind.

Why do you think Malay families spent hundreds of dollars voting for two Malay boys in the Singapore Idol singing contest? And do you know that Malays who voted for other competitors were frowned upon by the community?

The same happens to me at work. When I write stories which put Malays in a bad light, I am labelled a traitor. A Malay reader once wrote to me to say: 'I thought a Malay journalist would have more empathy for these unfortunate people than a non-Malay journalist.'

But such is the case when you are a Malay Singaporean. Your life is not just about you, as much as you want it to be. You are made to feel responsible for the rest of the pack and your actions affect them as well. If you trip, the entire community falls with you. But if you triumph, it is considered everyone's success.

When 12-year-old Natasha Nabila hit the headlines last year for her record PSLE aggregate of 294, I was among the thousands of Malays here who celebrated the news. I sent instant messages to my friends on Gmail and chatted excitedly with my Malay colleagues at work.

Suddenly a 12-year-old has become the symbol of hope for the community and a message to the rest that Malays can do it too - and not just in singing competitions.

And just like that, the 'least favourite child' in me feels a lot happier.

Each year, come Aug 9, my father, who never had the opportunity to do national service, dutifully hangs two flags at home - one on the front gate and the other by the side gate.

I wonder if putting up two flags is his way of making himself feel like a better-loved child of Singapore.

[email protected]

da dick

funny. minah can say such seditious things without getting sued ah???

she sounds like an ungrateful bitch. never waste so much time in NS, talk about it like it's holiday camp. able to make it to uni, unlike half of the mats in the country, and she wonders why her race has a bad rep in general??? numbers don't lie, unless the gahmen wants them to. she feel so bad for her "own people", why don't she go marry stoner n-level drop-out and see if her grandpa won't disown her?!?! crazy seditious women creating disharmony. as bad as terrorist , i tell u.

myo539

She's not the only one. 99% of them feel the same way. Be prepared to run once LKY kicks the bucket. Things could unravel the way they did in Tito's Yugoslavia. It could take years or it could happen in months. Nobody can foresee the future.

One thing is certain, post LKY, things are going to be drastically different.

I thought you are smart or wise! LKY has his gene in the PM. So how drastically different?

You can see how flaws her thinking is - exactly the type of cliche and stereotype that many in her community or race has created, or brought up to think that way.

grunt72

Well, to generalise things and encapsulate my personal beliefs - it's not so much about the external situation but the internal hearts and mind that determines ur progress and standing as a race.

Sure, the Malays in Singapore are a minority, as much as the Israelis and Chinese Malaysians are. But really do you see them as the worse off in their relative environments? The Israelis are standing strong despite the odds and the Chinese Malaysians are economically strong and stable amongst Malaysian Malays who are enjoying special benefits!

While these are generalisations, it paints a picture to me of a group of people here in Singapore that will always play the victim race card and whine about lost opportunities or discriminations in meritocratic Singapore. Come on, while the meritocratic system here is no way near perfect, they are at least a platform for ALL Singaporeans to try and indeed some Malays and Indians etc. have done well under this scope. But in the odds of the racial ratios - it will be bound to find more Chinese benefitting under such schemes.

As to the Malays here feeling a sense of being second class, well, take a long hard look at their own race and evaluate the circumstance. A simple chicken and egg. Stand up for yourself and prove it to the majority here. If your majority kind believes in a less competitive lifestyle or subscribes to a "loser" mentality due to their own choosing, then acknowledge it as so and not always running to lament that it is the govt and the majority race that disadvantages them.

I have good friends that are Malay and I treat them as individuals regardless of colour or creed. However, I also see other Malays or Indians as being of lesser drive and ambition. It boils down to self - if you succumb to the majority impression, behave and contribute to the statistic or negative impression of yourself and your represented race - then it is YOU that have let your people down.

Stop whining and start making yourself useful and the rest of your fellow citizens here proud to have you as a brother or sister.

'nuff said!

hairylee

She's not the only one. 99% of them feel the same way. Be prepared to run once LKY kicks the bucket. Things could unravel the way they did in Tito's Yugoslavia. It could take years or it could happen in months. Nobody can foresee the future.

One thing is certain, post LKY, things are going to be drastically different.

Good ADVICE!
Once LKY kick the bucket all the skeletons, filth and trash will fall out of the closet.

yellow_people

Native soil???? Anyway if not because of the chinese here this would just be a fishing village the not the richest country in this region.

Some progressive society Ah Beng claims to have built where Ah Beng is told to work till he drop dead and the majority Ah Beng breed is facing extinction due to dwindling birth rates. A wonderful society where our elderly Ah Bengs/Ah Lians clean the toilets for a living or are told to go and die in JB. A society where Ah Beng is publicly childed for needing spurs up his thick hide.

A society where Ah Beng is constantly whining about losing jobs to talented foreigners. Where local Chinese women choosing to be with foreigners and even a Korean beauty preferring a Mat to our whiner Ah Beng. Isn't there a lot of Ah Bengs to choose from? Hell, I keep forgetting its quality and not quantity that matters. That's why we have the FTs. Anyway there is always that mail order bride for the eternally hopeless Ah Beng.

This thread is a stark reminder to the Malay and other minority races. Do not trust the Ah Beng. Do not support Ah Beng and vote for the Chinese opposition. Deny these duds your vote.

cooleo

>>Why do you think Malay families spent hundreds of dollars voting for two Malay boys in the Singapore Idol singing contest? And do you know that Malays who voted for other competitors were frowned upon by the community? <<

They are so pathetic that they need to resort to paying alot of money to buy 2 singing idols to worship. And you thought paying by installments at Courts was their classic stunt. lol

Originally written by Alfian Saat March 2002

I had recently written to the artscommunity e-group saying that I was willing to hold creative writing workshops, but only for "indigenous Singaporeans". Somebody asked the obvious, and this is my reply.

The Racist's Apology

----------------

I walked out of the house this morning and feared I had become a racist.

I passed by a newsstand and a magazine tells me about 50% of the world's most beautiful people are from the West, 10% from Singapore, 35% from Hong Kong and Taiwan and 5% from India and Malaysia. A JC Decaux billboard says that a lot of people read their ads and they have faces to prove it: Chinese people of various ages and occupations and genders. There are some which show non-Chinese people but they don't have the dignity of individual names, and they are put under the heading 'The Changing Face of Singapore'. This can mean that perhaps the media is using more non-Chinese people in their ads (which I don't see) or that Singapore's demographic makeup is being altered by the arrival of other races (which I am not aware of, historically). I take a bus and TV Mobile is screening a Taiwanese variety programme. A Singaporean beauty contestant wears a cheongsam as her national costume and asks for an interpreter to translate her replies from Mandarin. The Speak Mandarin campaign informs me of what assets are missing from my life.

Tanya Chua's music video comes on and I unconsciously tally the number of Malay people that appear; I have been doing this for some time now, when I was in JC there was a 'My Singapore' music video which showed images of corporate-looking Chinese women walking through the CBD and Malay women in factory uniforms walking through a bus interchange. Tanya Chua's 'Where I Belong' shows three instances of Malay people populating the landcsape: a husband and wife riding a scooter; a father and son on a bicycle, the son carrying a box one presumes is filled with curry puffs or goreng pisang, and a group of Malay youths playing soccer in a housing estate ghetto so run down, it looks like an opposition ward being denied of upgrading, or one of those satellite towns built when Jurong swamps were still being filled.

But perhaps this is an improvement over other images: the satay man, the songbird owner, the mee rebus Makcik, the Malay bride and groom getting married in gold-embroidered finery (and situated on a dais, we Malays like to call them 'royalty for a day', playing the illusion of being king and queen in a country where the royal bloodline has been evicted from their home and told that the ruins of their palace will be converted into a museum). I think about what Sang Nila Utama really did when he threw his crown into the sea to calm the raging storm; whether the gales spoke to his inner ear: 'if you want to live on the island you must surrender all memory of having once been a prince'. At the Sentosa Merlion there are signs that say that Sang Nila himself saw the Merlion rising from the waters, a fact that the Sejarah Melayu, the Malay Annals, failed to mention. Evidently there is someone called 'Sang Nila' somewhere in the executive committee of the Singapore Tourist Promotion Board.

At the foot of the Raffles statue in Boat Quay there is an inscription that says the man's genius transformed a 'sleepy fishing village' into the modern metropolis it is today, this at the foot of a man who recorded in his journals how he saw the tombs of the Malay kings, and inscriptions on a fortress wall, when he first landed: evidence of an empire, of civilisation. In an interview a doyenne of Singapore theatre laments that all Singaporeans are 'cultural orphans', including the Malays, because they migrated from Malaysia and Indonesia, and that makes them immigrants too, no matter that one can take a sampan from Johor to Singapore.

I walk through a park in Tampines and see Chinese boys playing basketball at the court and Malay boys playing soccer on the field; I am comforted that my complete uselessness at ball games has prevented me from taking either side, has by default made me a conscientious objector to such disturbing polarities. In the army a sergeant major never called be by my name; I was called 'Melayu', which I suppose was better than 'Ah-Neh', used to address the Indians in the platoon. I remember a fellow Malay platoon mate who told me to give it my all when I was fasting, this was to prevent anyone from saying that we could use religion as an excuse for our weakness. He was eventually posted to the infantry (not logistics or engineers, much less the Navy or Airforce) and I used to imagine him burning up his pre-fasting morning meal to be the first to charge up the hill, yelling the pain of hunger and the pain of being different. The Malay staff sergeant in Officer Cadet School gave me a lot of shit just to overcompensate, to show everyone that he was not into any form of racial favouritism. I became a victim of the sidelong glances he made as he watched me doing my pushups, those eyes constantly seeking approval from the eyes of the majority.

I see a schoolgirl from a madrasah wearing a tudung on the MRT and she is filling in the pictures in her colouring book. There are many choices among her colour pencils which she can use for skin, but she will use orange, and colour lightly, not brown or black. I have seen her schoolmates before, eyeing branded scoolbags at pasar malams, wearing branded sports shoes, like every other kid. I want to go up to her and hug her, and tell her how her tudung is not just a symbol of modesty, but a symbol of inscrutability. That layer of cloth makes her suspicious to others, it can be used to smuggle in a grenade or an agenda, so she will never get a frontline desk job, she will be expected to hang around with other tudung-wearing women in the university. I think about the fathers who sent their daughters to schools in tudung and reflect on how the media has framed them as shit-stirrers rather than citizens who practised their right to civil disobedience, the same way Gandhi fasted, or Rosa Parks refused to sit at her negroes-only seat on the segregated bus. If I can tell the girl one thing, it is 'integration is not assimilation', or 'tolerance is a failure in understanding' even though it is something she will take time to understand.

I think also of the men who filmed different locations in Singapore with the heinous intent of planting bombs. Did they not consider the various innocent Singaporean lives that could have been claimed by what they were about to do? And I wonder if they had already chosen another country to live in; a country in which they do not have to face a creeping sense of alienation, of redundancy. And I am not talking about an Islamic country, not Afghanistan or Saudi Arabia or anywhere else, but an afterlife paradise, where everyone is equal in the eyes of God, where wearing a sarong or having a beard does not immediately make you a proto-terrorist. Or perhaps a country that exists in their minds, nurtured by a growing sense of insularity and isolation, where they walk the streets and everyone else is just a ghost, in whose dead eyes they cannot find any light of empathy or understanding.

Once someone told me: 'But the government is bending over backwards to accommodate you Malays.' I smiled and wanted to ask him if it wasn't the other way round, that the Malays are made to bend forward to be fucked senseless. Another time a journalist asked if the statistical evidence of 'progress' shows that Malays are being given the same opportunities as everyone else. I told her that statistics don't do shit for me, as someone who has to live day by day as a Malay person in this country. I told her one Malay Air Force pilot poster boy, and a few bar charts and graphs, don't make me feel more at home. The only thing they do is to convince non-Malays that the country they live in is truly multiracial, that there are no tensions beneath the veneer of newsprint and newscasts and the rosy speeches of Malay MP's.

I have always believed in multi-racialism. I can say with utmost confidence that I have more friends who are non-Malay than those who are. And I mean real friends, who I confide in, who I've shared many things with, who I do love dearly. And yet, of late, I have the feeling that a lot of the things I'm saying, a lot of this talk about alienation and marginalisation, only feeds subconsciously into their sense of how fortunate they are to be born into the status quo. I have written a poem before where I say, 'But more than that we prayed for ourselves,/treading the rosary of our blessings,/for what is pity without thanks for/the opportunity for such pity?' And sometimes I feel as if the more my voice is raised on the fast-eclipsing fate of the minority, the more it feeds into the majority's smugness and arrogance about their assured place in the sun. And this only makes me feel more powerless than if I had kept silent.

So I say now, forgive me if you think my desire to work with my own people marks me out as a racist. Forgive me if you think that my preferences are actually prejudices. Forgive me for retreating into something one can so easily call 'cultural chauvinism'. And I will forgive you for thinking that this person writing this isn't the Alfian that you know, that he has always been moderate and liberal, and I will forgive you if you look at me differently the next time I meet you. For some time already I have felt that as a Malay writer writing in English I have had to carry the burden of articulating so many unvoiced concerns. And the responsibilities associated with this are frightening. I just think it is time I pass on whatever skills I have to other Malay people, so we may tell our stories to those who want to hear them, even though they are stories of loss and loneliness and accidents of birth.

Finally i have located the passage of this cry baby racist. His post is all whiny and crap.

To show you how much more whiny it is just change the race to a chinese, suddenly you'll feel even less sympathy. I'm sure you guys understand what i mean.

Take note of the part i highlighted in red about the malay sergent made sure he didn't show favouritism. That's actually a good thing. Why should this person expect to be treated more specially by the sergent all cos both of them are malays? If it was a chinese sergent and he treated all the chinese recruits favourable this asshole would be complaining to the skies yet somehow he expects the malay sergent to show favourtism? It's these type of stupid double standards that m&ds like him expect to have. Chinese higher up in power cannot show favourtism but malay higher ups can show favouritism.

What a whiny bitch complaing about army life. FYI many ppl had it tough in the army some got called names and all types of shit.

Typical of a bitch whiny m&d that blames everyone else when he has it tough. Also somehow when it's a m&d complaining we're supposed to feel more sympathy. I wonder why.