• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The politics thread :)

whoami

Re: Singapore plans rare protest as population debate rages

I was at Compass point for reunion dinner and saw this lion dance performance. So many Indian foreign worker and Indian PMET in the rows of audience there that I feel like I am celebrating CNY in India!

Unlike Msia, where else can those foreign workers go on their off days in SinkieLand?

Wait till 2020 or 2030. Dont be surprised if u find Ah Neh audiences at Chinatown.

siacw

same thing in msia. if you go to KLCC park during offday, it is fill with indon foreign worker.

summervale

Farewell my beloved hero – Mr Lee Kuan Yew
February 11th, 2013 | Author: Contributions

Dear Mr Lee,

I am a native Singaporean in my fifties. I would like to thank you for your decades of dedication to Singapore, particularly in your younger days. Under your leadership, we developed Singapore and improved our standard of living to an enviable level. We trusted you and your party all these years believing that you have our interest at heart.

Before we part way, I would like you to know that despite many serious policy errors in the past I have continue to love and respect you. For examples,

Your stop at two policy permanently destroyed our Asian traditional family value that children are a blessing. Driving down the fertility rate to this low level. I forgive you.
Cruel and inhuman handling of your political opponents. We feel sad for them and particularly their families. I forgive you.
You allow your son to go into politics although he is not the best person. Since then Singapore rapidly declined and we are now the most unhappy people in the world. I forgive you.
You devise an education system that allows only 20% of Singaporean to be well educated but at the same time flooding our precious local universities with thousands of foreign students. I forgive you.
You transformed our economy from a vibrant economy to a state enterprise system (GLCs) thereby removing the entrepreneur spirit that our forefathers were well known for. I forgive you.
You support your son to build casinos despite your earlier pledge that you will never allow it. This degraded the character of Singapore forever. I forgive you.
You change our constitutional to allow GRC. Putting in question as to whether we are still a democratic country. I forgive you.
You unreasonably resisted public outcry demanding the audit of our national reserve, particularly GIC and Temasek Holding accounts. This could potentially destroy all that we have built. I forgive you.
You allow your son to quietly bring in hundreds of thousands of new citizens and PRs over the last few years. Causing under-employment among us and depressing our salaries. I forgive you.
However, your Parliamentary vote on the 8th February 2013 to drastically increase Singapore population further by bringing in another million or so of new citizens, PRs and foreigners is unforgivable. It will systematically and legally take away my native Singaporean birth right to enjoy Singapore and to pass it on to our children’s children. All our dreams have been shattered. This I cannot accept.
For the sake of my children’s future I will resist this invasion.

Farewell my beloved national hero this is where we part.

Ordinary Native Singaporean

Summer, link or my browser doesnt work leh.

Msg prompt...."checking ur browser before accessing www.tremeritus.com". :(

whoami

However, your Parliamentary vote on the 8th February 2013 to drastically increase Singapore population further by bringing in another million or so of new citizens, PRs and foreigners is unforgivable. It will systematically and legally take away my native Singaporean birth right to enjoy Singapore and to pass it on to our children’s children. All our dreams have been shattered. This I cannot accept.
For the sake of my children’s future I will resist this invasion.

Farewell my beloved national hero this is where we part.

Ordinary Native Singaporean

Tks for the above info bro.

Tink its too late leow. They are going ahead with the white paper, anyway. Come 55yr old, i am going to withdraw any excess fm my CPF. Even 50% pledge to my flat, i oso going to withdraw!:mad:

Let's look at the positive side - these foreigners are eager to expose themselves to Singapore traditions and culture and assimilate into the local way of life... which i think is good. So let's be happy they're showing that interest.

Watch performance in mall is eager to expose and assimilate themselves to SG culture and let's be happy?! So we should thank them for being there and appreciating Chinese culture?

Hey you are a Malaysian, it is okay if you don't feel the pain of Singaporeans but it is not okay for you to tell Singaporean let's be happy. How do you feel if I tell you to look at the positive side that BN govt allows Chinese Malaysians being the minority in the Malay country to keep their Chinese names and practise Chinese traditions and culture? It is not a given, let's be happy and thank BN govt for that!!

Unlike Msia, where else can those foreign workers go on their off days in SinkieLand?

Wait till 2020 or 2030. Dont be surprised if u find Ah Neh audiences at Chinatown.

Not just India foreign workers, so many India PMET - ah neh families with stroller type - are there too. Come to think of it, now that there are so many ah neh and Pinoys working in retail shops, actually there is no need to close the shops for CNY anymore, just business as usual will do lah!

same thing in msia. if you go to KLCC park during offday, it is fill with indon foreign worker.

KLCC is city centre, we have many such enclaves in SG city centre too for Thai, Indians, Myanmar, Pinoys etc. The vital difference is that is a mall in the heartlands, you can retreat from KLCC but where else can Singaporeans retreat to?

Jetstream

Watch performance in mall is eager to expose and assimilate themselves to SG culture and let's be happy?! So we should thank them for being there and appreciating Chinese culture?

Hey you are a Malaysian, it is okay if you don't feel the pain of Singaporeans but it is not okay for you to tell Singaporean let's be happy. How do you feel if I tell you to look at the positive side that BN govt allows Chinese Malaysians being the minority in the Malay country to keep their Chinese names and practise Chinese traditions and culture? It is not a given, let's be happy and thank BN govt for that!!

Today I visited an elderly Singaporean at st Luke's community hospital. She had previously been warded at TTSH. I visited her there too. Who were the majority of nurses and caregivers at both these places? In case u don't know, it's the foreigners. So stop complaining about everything and just learn to be a little more appreciative about ur blessings.

Same to you, who are the majority in Malaysia? Stop complaining and be appreciative of your blessings of a secular BN govt in majority Muslim country!

avelc

We can continue till the cows come home. Truth is -- both side have complains about our Govt. Most Malaysian Chinese think SG govt is better, while Singaporean Chinese think otherwise. I use the comparison between Chinese for simplicity sake.

I think what we can agree is that 6.9mil isn't what we the native S'poreans want...

cheerguan

Hi sis ginfreely,
He probably do not realise and forsee that foreigners will not only be swamping into healthcare but also at all levels in every sector of our economy to the stage where locals either accept the same pathetic pay which could not even cover their basic increasing cost of living or have to move to some cheaper country just to survive. The full scale damage will only be obvious in maybe 10yrs' time or more if we don't do anything about it now. Many people esp the better off locals and the foreigners here underestimate the seriousness of this issue as they are the only ones benefitting from these policies while the rest of us have to bear the brunt and make sacrifices just for those people.

At least in Malaysia, the BN although do have many unfair racial policies and face many corruption accusations, they do not try to wipe out their own people from their country and in fact most of their minorities are also enjoying the same or even higher much standard of living than the bumis the govt try to protect
Anyway, GONG XI FA CHAI to everyone here !!!
Snake year Huaaat Arrrrr !!!

We can continue till the cows come home. Truth is -- both side have complains about our Govt. Most Malaysian Chinese think SG govt is better, while Singaporean Chinese think otherwise ...
msian chinese haf mindset dat sinkielan is betta ... sinkie chinese oso tink likewise ...

arsenal

PAP goes all out for GDP growth at all cost. To tell you frankly how I think, I would rather not have this kind of growth.. The job creation seemed to benefit foreigners more than locals.. The GDP growth seemed to benefit 5% of elite populations rather than the majority.

Foreigners love Singapore govt.. However how many of them would really want Singapore citizenship?

Same to you, who are the majority in Malaysia? Stop complaining and be appreciative of your blessings of a secular BN govt in majority Muslim country!

whoami

Ladies n gentlemen, now ch 8 is showing "borders" featuring our msians daily lives coming to red dot n earn their living. :smile:

Some declare they r half "singkie". When reached their jb home, they wld watch ch8 n 5. Praise n tks MIW sky high....

cheerguan

Govt has listened, now give it time to execute: Inderjit
http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20130212-401660.html

dun fall into their trap again, leopard never changes its spots.

No, I believe many of us don't want more infrastructures. It doesn't put more food on our tables, in fact lesser. No matter how they say sorry, weep or even kneel and kow-tow to us, no one will ever believe them unless they deport at least 1 mil FTs back from present level and continue to stay that way forever unless the true sinkies reproduce themselves more.

cheerguan

Govt has listened, now give it time to execute: Inderjit
http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20130212-401660.html

dun fall into their trap again, leopard never changes its spots.

No, I believe many of us don't want more infrastructures. It doesn't put more food on our tables, in fact lesser. No matter how they say sorry, weep or even kneel and kow-tow to us, no one will ever believe them unless they deport at least 1 mil FTs back from present level and continue to stay that way forever unless the true sinkies reproduce themselves more.
The people now know this ruling party no longer has its own shittizens' welfare in their hearts.