• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tak Boleh Tahan 18 mentioned in The Washington Times

fanta

http://washingtontimes.com/news/2008/nov/07/the-singapore-18/

The Singapore 18
Prosecution or persecution?

Timothy Cooper
Friday, November 7, 2008

The names Gandhi Ambalam, Chia Ti Lik, Chong Kai Xiong, Jeffrey George, Jaslyn Go, Chee Siok Chin, Govindan Rajan, Chee Soon Juan, Jufrie Mahmood, Jufri Salim, Surayah Akbar, Ng E-Jay, Seelan Palay, Shafi'ie, Carl Lang, John Tan, Francis Yong and Sylvester Lim aren't exactly household names -- but they should be. This week 18 Singaporeans -- the Singapore 18 -- are standing trial for purported crimes against America's 11th largest trading partner -- Singapore.

Indicted for violating the Miscellaneous Offences Act for assembling peacefully without a permit to register their concerns over escalating housing costs, they claim that they're innocent by virtue of their right under the Singapore constitution to enjoy the guarantees of freedom of assembly and expression. Historically, however, Singapore has viewed political dissent through a lens darkly, treating protest as a threat to social tranquility and economic prosperity, rather than what it is -- a fundamental right and necessity in any democracy.

While Singapore claims to be a constitutional democracy, it nevertheless routinely arrests Singaporeans for attempting to assert those rights articulated under the constitution in the open light of day. A democracy, it's not quite.

Ironically, while their trial is about their right to public assembly in numbers more than four without a permit, and to free speech, they view it as a test about whether Singapore's judiciary is independent enough to interpret the country's constitution objectively. In effect, Judge Chia Wee Kiat, who's presiding magistrate over the case, is on trial, too. Many Singaporeans will be watching how he rules. Americans should be watching, too.

That's because Singapore's Minister for Home Affairs, Wong Kan Seng, appears to refuse to be bound by the affirmative rights guaranteed under the country's basic law. Last February, he stated that "[w]e have stopped short of allowing outdoor and street demonstration … Our experiences in the past have taught us to be very circumspect about outdoor and street protests." His reference is to the race riots in Singapore during the 1960s -- almost 50 years ago. Which is like saying that because Washington, D.C. experienced race riots in the 1960s, the residents of Washington must be denied the right to protest government policies. That argument simply doesn't wash.

But the judge in the case will likely rule accordingly, regardless of the plain language of the constitution.

The late Singaporean politician, Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam, stated in an interview shortly before his death that his main concern was that the public had the "perception that its judiciary was not independent." He himself had been made a bankrupt by defamation lawsuits filed against him by his political opponents and the high damages awarded them by Singapore courts. After paying off his debts, he'd recently committed to heading a new political party, whose primary agenda was calling for the independence of the judiciary.

He was not alone. In July, the International Bar Association (ABA) issued a 72-page report on the state of Singapore's judiciary noting that "there are concerns about the objective and subjective independence and impartiality of Singapore judges." The report's final recommendations advocate tenure be granted Singapore judges and that the transfer of judges between "executive and judicial roles" be banned. They also call on the government to prohibit defamation as a criminal offense, and forbid public officials from initiating criminal defamation suits, which detractors claim are used by government to silence its critics.

One of those critics is Chee Soon Juan. He's been jailed seven times on a potpourri of politically-related charges, including speaking without a permit, contempt of court, and even for attempting to depart Singapore in order to attend an international rights conference. He's been fined nearly $1 million to date and made bankrupt by defamation suits brought against him by former Prime Ministers Lee Kuan Yew, Goh Chok Tong, and Singapore's current Minister Mentor, Lee Hsein Loong. In the next few months, he faces six more trials and an indeterminate amount of jail time. Yet all he wants is for the courts to properly enforce the spirit and letter of the Singapore constitution. Barred from leaving the country, he's been put under country arrest and is a prisoner of conscience.

Were the Singapore 18 living in China or Russia, they'd be enjoying considerable support from the U.S. Instead, they're victims of a sad neglect. They've been cut loose by a nation otherwise preoccupied. But the next Congress and administration should take up the cause of freedom in Singapore. They should exert their influences on Singapore to open up its political space to peaceful dissent and to embrace the benefits of political pluralism. Economic prosperity and political freedoms are not mutually exclusive in Singapore or anywhere else.

Above all, this country should call for judicial reform in Singapore because as J.B. Jeyaretnam would no doubt agree without independence there can be no rule of law.

Timothy Cooper is executive director of the human-rights group Worldrights.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Typical western human rights NGO melodrama, although Cooper does raise the standard same old issues where the PAP government should be held to account.

But what I find more curious, amusing and ironic is that on the same day after reading this thread, ST reported that on Friday's TBT trial hearing, Jaslyn Go's lawyer, Thiru, said that he too "Tak Boleh Tahan" with some of other joint defendants cross examining the police officer on the witness stand with respect to relevancy.:biggrin:

one2unite

Typical western human rights NGO melodrama, although Cooper does raise the standard same old issues where the PAP government should be held to account.

But what I find more curious, amusing and ironic is that on the same day after reading this thread, ST reported that on Friday's TBT trial hearing, Jaslyn Go's lawyer, Thiru, said that he too "Tak Boleh Tahan" with some of other joint defendants cross examining the police officer on the witness stand with respect to relevancy.:biggrin:

Don't just dismiss human rights as western. Basic human rights are universal and there is no such thing as western or eastern about it. If not for the struggle to uphold human rights, Singapore would still be under British imperialist domination.

Your reference to the 154th mouthpiece ST is most telling. First, it's the propaganda mouthpiece, owned and controlled by the fascist dictatorial PAP regime, notorious for omissions and distortions. Notwithstanding, the counsel is entitled to give his view on the clownish act of the agent provocateur Yap.

one reason why many prudent lawyers shun them could be that those peoples' mentality are the true "Tak Boleh Tahan" type. they are staunchly obstinate and proudly arrogant to their misguided thoughts.

when jaslyn was issued parking summons, did she admit it was her fault?

NO!! it was the HDB's fault instead. just look at the same type of mentality in this line and we could understand "they were really thinking they are above the law and always doing right".

the self-induced self-righteous is eating into their rational, logical and mature thinking. if 20 agreed that their action was right, then it should be LAWFULLY right - to them.

howver, they overlooked the opinions from the bystanders, the peasants, their parents or loved ones. it they had told them it was wrong, would u think they would pause to think over it?

they won't cos they were just too proud to accept it was indeed a grave mistake. of course, citing fighting for the peasants would be such glorious self-consolation than the humility to admit it was really a big silly mistake.

chinkangkor

the self-induced self-righteous is eating into their rational, logical and mature thinking. if 20 agreed that their action was right, then it should be LAWFULLY right - to them.

howver, they overlooked the opinions from the bystanders, the peasants, their parents or loved ones. it they had told them it was wrong, would u think they would pause to think over it?

they won't cos they were just too proud to accept it was indeed a grave mistake. of course, citing fighting for the peasants would be such glorious self-consolation than the humility to admit it was really a big silly mistake.

Applying the law selectively is right. One interpretation for pro-PAP organisations and another interpretation for opposition. This is logical, rational and mature thinking to you?

chinkangkor

one reason why many prudent lawyers shun them could be that those peoples' mentality are the true "Tak Boleh Tahan" type. they are staunchly obstinate and proudly arrogant to their misguided thoughts.

Prudent as in fear of reprisals from the PAP govt?

NissanViP

I want to see the LEE KUAN YEW and dying wife (even if his wife already died) including all his family and relatives to be prosecuted and freeze all their assets until it is justified.

guavatree

of course, citing fighting for the peasants would be such glorious self-consolation than the humility to admit it was really a big silly mistake.

bapok your cheebai mouth talk big big only!

other than sucking PAP cocks you got do anything or not?

besides bashing you own father for throwing away your gay porn

then you steal temple donation money

ALL THESE YOUR CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME ... LOL

Notice that Tim Cooper left out the 19th person who is still fighting in the courts while 2 others have dropped out. Looks to me like the article was ghost written with him tidying up the rest.

ahbengsong

A peaceful assembly is the rights of any civilised nation.. of course in the pap singapore context.. you are right because it is a 3rd world nation managed by a despot..

I wonder if you have a mind of your own.. you mean when you vote.. you ask bystanders and family whom should you vote for ??.. you are the type of citizens pap loved in a 3rd world nation..

Lastly.. "fighting for the peasants.. is a big silly mistake" is only what a sheep says... so are you implying only the pap can fight for the peasants ??.. or i put it to you in another way.. "is the pap fighting to better the peasants' lives or are they exploiting the peasants' lives" ?

cleareyes

Applying the law selectively is right. One interpretation for pro-PAP organisations and another interpretation for opposition. This is logical, rational and mature thinking to you?

the question is: on what or who's interpretation would u want the law to be?

if u refuse to acknowlegde the law, it doesnt matter whta or who's interpretation it would come from.

the law is the law, if u want to chnage the law, u have to have the power to do so and not just refuse to acknowldgeoing it.

end of teh day, u can do this to others, others can do this to u as well.

interprete this. they said paps ruled with FEAR. that contradicts cos when they protested in the first place, did we see fear in them?

now that they face the LAW, we witness abdication and mutiny especially from the one who speaketh the "bravest & the loudest". why the manifestation of FEAR now than before?

if there isn't any consequences they have to answer, then it means they were right. "THEY WERE INDEED THE LAW!!" why chee fails so many times, it's simply because he always thinks his public wayang is always right. does he bother about what the peasants' opinion about it?

their over zealousness and intense self-righteousness could be their own fatal blow to themselves. they will never come to term to that neither would they be humble enough to accept that fact.

they shall fail again in their next public wayang show.:mad:

if u refuse to acknowlegde the law, it doesnt matter whta or who's interpretation it would come from.

the law is the law, if u want to chnage the law, u have to have the power to do so and not just refuse to acknowldgeoing it.

i think that was a misquote.

THEY CAN DO TO OTHERS BUT OTHERS CANNOT DO UNTO THEM

they do not practise what they preached - FREEDOM & DEMOCRACY. do their cyber supporters - or clones - present themselves as opened to criticisms. they expect people to heed their words. do they allow themselves to consider others' thoughts?:confused::rolleyes:

chinkangkor

Rule of law means one set of law for everyone, unless you acknowledge that our legal system is run on the basis of rule by law.

chinkangkor

interprete this. they said paps ruled with FEAR. that contradicts cos when they protested in the first place, did we see fear in them?

They exercise their constitutional rights to protest despite their fear of the state machinery coming down on them.

there were no support for them unlike places like hk, taiwan, malaysia and thailand.

does that mean that the majority peasants were wrong?

if the gov is bad, the peasants will naturally rise up against them. however, if the gov is good, we definitely do not need one to instigate the peasants to create troubles.

chee had tried. there were no reaction from the ground. he should ve understood. why didn't he understand? could he be beholden to foreign entity who would love to see a messed up singapore?