• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

STB jiak liao bee no wonder this restaurant chop more and more.

JinGanKor

Famous comedian charged $525 for pepper crab

ennio.jpg

Quick-change artist Ennio Marchetto lodged complaint with tourism board after being charged $525 for two pepper crabs.
Singapore, November 7, 2009 - Famous comedian Ennio Marchetto certainly didn't find it funny when he and his music director was charged $525 for two pepper crabs at Boat Quay on Monday.

Lianhe Wanbao reported today that they had ordered two pepper crabs and three bowls of rice at Fuqing Marina Bay Seafood Restaurant. Flabbergasted with the astronomical bill, they had lodged a report with the Singapore Tourism Board.

But the restaurant said the duo had asked for the best crabs and it served them Australian snow crabs, which were the most expensive. They cost $130 per kg, more than three times the price of Sri Lanka crabs.

As each crab weighed about 1.65kg, the restaurant charged them $210 per crab.
Ennio's total bill covered two crabs, three bowls of rice, a plate of mixed fruit, napkins, nuts and 17 per cent service charge and other taxes.

Restaurant manager Joel Lim said it was possible the duo had thought the snow crabs were cheap as their price was listed as $13 for 100g.

Ennio, who specialises in quick changes of costumes for his portrayal of celebrities, is in Singapore for his first performance here.

http://www.soshiok.com/articles/14727

but this was not the 1st time that this restaurant is being complain. Somewhere in late June, a group of tourist have made a complained to STB regarding how they were 'chopped' by this particular restaurant. STB's solution is to ask the restaurant owner to contact the tourist and their responsibility is over.

CASE: JOHN VERSUS SINGAPORE GOVERNMENT VERSUS BOAT QUAY
July 3, 2009, 12:23 am
Filed under: Uncategorized
I had filled out a complaint to the STB to investigate whether I was wrong or the restaurant was wrong for a meal that was totalled at about 350 SGD. We were all astounded by such a phenomenal price, especially for the area. If I had know it would have been so much, I would have turned away. I should have realized from the get go and went with something standard but I have eaten in the area before and it was not so bad. Lesson learned but my question is did the other parties learn something? Their response from my last mail was NOTHING. No Apology, no thank you, NADA-NOTHING. Sorry to say, Singapore service is pretty astounding. Sorry fellow Singaporeans to be harsh but try going to America and you will find better service quality. Don’t even think about comparing to Japan because no where in the world is service quality the same. Thoughts?

Enjoy!

—-My complaint to the STB—–

Hi there,

I would like to make a complaint about “FUQING MARINA BAY SEAFOOD” in Boat quay on Saturday 6-27-2009. We (4ppl, 2 residing in SG and 2 visiting SG| 3 are American, 1 Japanese) had ordered a meal along with Chill Crab for three people and received a rather large one but thought this was of about the recommended size for the region.

No price was ever indicated until we received the bill, which totaled 210SGD alone for the crab. We had to haggle with the manger, which we were able to reduce to about 165SGD but even still this has been the most expensive crab I have seen. Even then the price was too steep.

If we had known this was going to be the cost then we would have gladly refused. We understood from the restaraunt personel loring us into buying from their restraunt that haggling would be required but we did not expect such grotesque princing ranges to start with. The bill was split 130/130 between two parties for a total of 260SGD. The mngr should remember us.

—-First Message from STB———
Replied on : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 6:31:58 PM

Dear Sir

Greetings from Singapore Tourism Board (STB).
We received your email of 29 June 2009 regarding your unpleasant dining experience at Fu Qing Seafood Restaurant at Boat Quay on 27 June 2009.
We contacted Mr. Joel of Fu Qing Seafood Restaurant today regarding your feedback.
By copy of this email, we request Mr. Joel to look into your case and get back to you.

We hope an amicable settlement can be worked out between parties.

Yours sincerely

James Lim
Service Culture, Assessment & Feedback Officer
Service Quality Division
Singapore Tourism Board

—-Second Message from STB———
Date: Wed, 1 Jul 2009 17:40:06 +0800

Dear Sir

Greetings from Singapore Tourism Board (STB).
Thank you for calling us this afternoon and letting us know that we got your email incorrectly.
We are re-sending our earlier email to you again as appended below.
As spoken this afternoon, we would appreciate it if you can reply to Mr. John, copy to STB for our record.

Yours sincerely
James Lim
Service Culture, Assessment & Feedback Officer
Service Quality Division
Singapore Tourism Board
—-Message from Boat Quay Restaraunt———

Sent: Wednesday, July 01, 2009 6:03 PM

Dear Mr. John,

i sorry to heard this complaint from you. But on the time of the complaint is make, i have told you that the Crab is selling at $70 per Kg. And the Crab that you have is 3 Kg. I also make bring down the price from $210 to $165. After that i have check with my staff that you asked for a Crab to share between 3 person.After that she did told you that you that your Crab is big and ask you to have 1 Crab to share. Base on the Crab that we are selling, the small Crab is from 2.5kg to 3.2 kg. So what can i help you in this. i wish that we can solve the matter here. Or if you have any good way, or how you want to solve this matter please call me @ 25 or E-mail @ @live.com.

Best Regard,
Joel Lim
Manager
Fuqing Marina Bay Seafood Restaurant LLP
46 Boat Quay Singapore 049835
Tel : 65572350
Fax : 65329006
Hp : 94681225

—-Message to Joel (Boat Quay) and STB———
Sent: Wednesday, July 01, 2009 10:41 PM

Thanks Joel.

No further action will be necessary. I have learned my lesson from this as I hope you too learned something from this experience.

Regards,
John

—-Message to STB———
Hi STB, James,

This is not what I expected from the feedback form on your site.

1) My impression, clearly I was wrong here, was that you would investigate on my behalf to find out whether the actions taken between both parties was fair or not fair. Depending on what occurred and your evaluation, you would than take necessary action at that point to sort this out.
2) I had never expected you to place me in DIRECT contact with this individual, exposing my personal information to him. What will be the repercussion from this?

Overall, my intention was to create awareness to the tourist board into looking at this situation. If anything to add or start for that matter a compilation of issues with how Boat Quay is operated. This is your city and here was a chance for you to look into it to possibly improve the situation but instead you placed the ball back in my hands to solve, which by the way, I could have done myself.

In conclusion, you have provided me with more trouble than providing me assistance. I am rather disappointed with the service quality here in Singapore
and do note I take this to heart as I will communicate this experience to my friends wherever they may be.

I’d like to leave you with a quote to ponder over if you care to take the time…

“To my customer: I may not have the answer, but I’ll find it. I may not have the time, but I’ll make it. I may not be the biggest, but I’ll be the most committed to your success.” -Unknown Author

Best wishes to your efforts to improve your country’s services.

No further action will be required of this case. Please close. Thank you.

Regards,
John

http://puraverita.wordpress.com/2009/07/03/case-john-versus-singapore-government-versus-boat-quay/

If that's the way they handle complains, i would not be surprise that this restaurant is 'encourage' to 'chop' more in future.

ahleebabasingaporethief

CB foreigners with kay kiang local friends.

Cannot afford to eat dont eat lah.

Which idiot will go order seafood without first asking for the price?

Make that mistake of not asking now want to KPKB.

And our GARMENT very free ah. Help S'poreans cannot BUT FT complain, must use all resources to check and whack S'pore restaurant owners.

UNIQUELY S'pore.

mscitw

Anglo Ennio is either a fool or a donkey, probably both.

He did not realise the STB is staffed by minions and lackeys who won favor from the regime. They merely sit pretty, write grandiose email and collect their fat pay cheques. The Hokkien called them 'Jiat Liao Bee', idiots who do nothing except flatter the regime and trash complaint emails.

Logisex

STB ignored them because these people are idiots. Who in the world would order food without knowing the price. If the market price for a raw crab is $13per kg but the restaurant listed the price at $130 per kg, is it illegal and what can STB do if idiots like them choose to patronise them?

I have seen Ang Mos asking to weigh the crabs in front of them and those seafood resataurants owners gladly did it. Thats the way to do it but these idiots just wanna act big shot but are cheapskate deep inside.

borom

I said the same thing for the tourists who got fleeced at Newton-how do you think the Ministers here are paid the highest salaries in the world?

Bring any tourist to some of those crummy 25 to 30 years old HDB flats that are asking for more than $250,000 in resale price and they will understand the situation better.The urine smell in the lifts and the old items that clogged up the common corridor (due to lack of storage space) will leave them a lasting impression.

SamuelStalin

Restaurant manager Joel Lim said it was possible the duo had thought the snow crabs were cheap as their price was listed as $13 for 100g.

So it's misleading advertising that's tantamount to blatant lying?

A snow crab from his restaurant should be let loose to pinch his ass with both its pincers and a video be made of him screaming and crying like a dog.

That's what I call comedy.